The Swiss National Bank’s monetary policy strategy in the financial crisis

Philipp Hildebrand, Chairman of the Governing Board

University of St. Gallen, 23.03.2010

To contain the financial crisis, central banks all over the world have chosen to take advantage of the room for manoeuvre afforded by their monetary policy strategy. The major central banks were only able to act in a flexible way – at least in part – due to their high degree of credibility with regard to their goal of pursuing price stability. The monetary policy strategy of the Swiss National Bank (SNB), too, has made it possible for the Governing Board to take conventional and unconventional measures to counter the crisis.

 

The SNB’s approach has proven viable in the crisis. But this does not mean that we can sit back now. We must first find ways to withdraw smoothly from the measures taken to contain the crisis. In addition, we need to be sure that the Swiss economy is back on a sustainable growth path. After all, the crisis has shown that imbalances in the global financial system can occur even in an environment of price stability and macroeconomic stability.

 

The main way to counter imbalances in the financial system is through better regulation. Furthermore, central banks should seriously consider the question of whether they need to intervene when risks in the financial system increase as a result of strong credit growth and an easing of lending conditions. Credit aggregates are part of the SNB’s monetary policy strategy, and the National Bank monitors their development closely. However, the SNB’s main aim is and will continue to be the maintenance of price stability.

Imprimer

La stratégie de politique monétaire de la Banque nationale durant la crise financière

Université de St-Gall, 23.03.2010

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Das geldpolitische Konzept der Schweizerischen Nationalbank während der Finanzkrise"
    PDF (105 KB)

A l’échelle mondiale, les banques centrales ont exploité la marge de manœuvre que leur laisse leur stratégie de politique monétaire pour endiguer la crise financière. Les plus importantes d’entre elles ont souvent pu se montrer aussi flexibles en raison de la crédibilité élevée dont elles jouissent dans leur mission consistant à garantir la stabilité des prix. La stratégie de politique monétaire de la Banque nationale a elle aussi permis à la Direction générale de prendre des mesures conventionnelles et non conventionnelles pour lutter contre la crise.

 

Cette stratégie a fait ses preuves. Mais il ne s’agit pas de nous reposer sur nos lauriers. Il faudra d’abord suspendre toutes les mesures prises pour endiguer la crise, et cela sans engendrer de perturbations. De plus, nous voulons être sûrs que l’économie suisse restera à long terme sur le chemin de la croissance. Car la crise a bien montré que des déséquilibres peuvent apparaître dans le système financier mondial malgré la stabilité des prix et de la situation macroéconomique.

 

L’apparition de déséquilibres dans le système financier doit être contrecarrée en premier lieu par une amélioration de la réglementation. De plus, il conviendrait que les banques centrales examinent attentivement si elles ne devraient pas intervenir lorsqu’une forte croissance des crédits et un assouplissement des conditions de crédit accentuent les risques au sein du système financier. La stratégie de politique monétaire se base entre autres sur l’analyse de différentes variables macroéconomiques, parmi lesquelles figurent les agrégats de crédit. La Banque nationale suit attentivement leur évolution. La stabilité des prix reste cependant l’objectif suprême.