Print

The financial crisis is receding – what will the future bring?

Centro di Studi Bancari, Vezia, 15.12.2009

  • Complete text in French: "La crise financière s’éloigne: que nous réserve l’avenir?"
    PDF (218 KB)

After the financial crisis, the global economy will enter a phase of weak economic growth. Unemployment levels in the industrialised countries will be comparatively high. Public finances in these countries have been heavily depleted, both by the crisis and by the needs arising from the ageing of their populations, and will need to be consolidated. In monetary terms, inflation will remain under control, at least in those countries whose central banks enjoy a strong level of independence.

Switzerland is comparatively well equipped to meet these challenges. Its public finances are in a healthy state and it is sufficiently open to the world to participate in its most dynamic markets. With its tradition of high quality and cutting-edge technology, Switzerland is well positioned to react to specific market requirements. Moreover, it can draw on considerable financial resources and, thanks to the openness of its labour market, also has easy access to labour resources, without which growth would not be possible. Switzerland’s only major drawback is the fact that it is a lightweight in the geopolitical arena, which makes it almost impossible for it to defend itself against protectionist tendencies and discriminatory measures taken by big countries.

The Swiss government must therefore take a strong stand on behalf of free trade, while also ensuring that the private sector operates within the best possible framework for its further development. Ultimately, our future welfare depends on the vitality of the private sector, not on any state intervention.

Imprimer

La crise financière s’éloigne: que nous réserve l’avenir?

Centro di Studi Bancari, Vezia, 15.12.2009

  • Texte intégral
    (218 KB)

A l’issue de la crise financière, l’économie mondiale entrera dans une phase de faible croissance économique. Les pays industrialisés connaîtront un chômage relativement élevé  et devront consolider leurs finances publiques fort mises à mal par la crise et les besoins découlant du vieillissement de leur population. Du côté monétaire, l’inflation restera sous contrôle, du moins dans les pays où la banque centrale jouit d’une bonne indépendance.

La Suisse est relativement bien préparée pour affronter ces défis. Elle possède des finances publiques saines et une ouverture sur le monde qui lui permet d’exploiter les marchés les plus dynamiques. Sa tradition de qualité et de haute technologie lui permettra de répondre aux besoins de la demande. De plus, elle dispose de ressources financières importantes et, du fait de l’ouverture de son marché du travail, d’un accès privilégié aux ressources humaines indispensables à sa croissance. Sa seule mauvaise carte est son faible poids géopolitique qui ne lui permet guère de se défendre face aux tendances protectionnistes et aux mesures discriminatoires des «grands».

L’Etat devra donc lutter avec opiniâtreté pour que les échanges demeurent libres d’entraves mais il devra aussi veiller à ce que le secteur privé dispose des meilleures conditions-cadre possibles pour assurer son développement. En fin de compte c’est du dynamisme du secteur privé, non pas des interventions étatiques, que dépendra notre bien-être futur.