Print

As the financial crisis recedes, what are the lessons for central bank efforts in the future?

Centre International d’Etudes Monétaires et Bancaires, Geneva, 24.11.2009

  • Complete text in French: "La crise financière s’éloigne: Leçons pour l’action future des banques centrales"
    PDF (112 KB)

The financial crisis of the last two years has caused people to re-examine a number of generally accepted ideas. Corrective measures are being undertaken, particularly in the area of banking regulation. For central banks, the most delicate issue will be how to contribute to macrofinancial stability without jeopardising their objective of price stability and, in turn, compromising their own credibility.

As regards banking supervision, close cooperation between central banks and banking supervisory authorities is essential. The temptation to concentrate forces is strong. In Switzerland, placing centralised oversight responsibility with the Swiss National Bank would risk weakening the SNB’s independence from the political sphere.

With respect to systemically important financial institutions, everything possible must be done to limit the likelihood and the risks of further problems. Major efforts are underway in this regard at the Financial Stability Board.

To ensure that central banks have the necessary means to act in a crisis, a liberal legal framework and a safety cushion in the form of equity are needed. The SNB is in a favourable position in this respect.

Imprimer

La crise financière s’éloigne: Leçons pour l’action future des banques centrales

Centre International d’Etudes Monétaires et Bancaires, Genève, 24.11.2009

  • Texte intégral
    (112 KB)

La crise financière des deux dernières années a remis en question un certain nombre d’idées généralement admises. Des mesures correctrices sont en cours, notamment dans le domaine de la régulation du secteur bancaire. Pour les banques centrales le thème le plus délicat est certainement leur contribution à la stabilité macro-financière. Celle-ci ne pourra se faire au détriment de leur objectif de stabilité des prix sinon leur crédibilité sera compromise.

En matière de surveillance bancaire, une collaboration étroite entre banques centrales et autorités de surveillance bancaire est primordiale. La tentation est grande de vouloir concentrer les forces. En Suisse, une centralisation de la surveillance à la Banque nationale risquerait d’affaiblir l’indépendance de cette dernière vis-à-vis de la politique.

Quant aux établissements financiers d’importance systémique, tout doit être entrepris pour limiter la probabilité et les risques d’un nouvel accident de parcours. Des travaux importants sont menés à ce sujet dans le Financial Stability Board.

Afin que les banques centrales disposent des moyens indispensables à leur action en cas de crise, un cadre juridique libéral ainsi qu’un coussin de sécurité sous forme de fonds propres sont nécessaires. La Banque nationale jouit d’une situation favorable à cet égard.