Print

Financial Stability

Institut des Hautes Etudes Commerciales de Lausanne, 16.09.2008

  • Complete text in French: "Stabilité financière"
    PDF (86 KB)

During the period of financial market turbulence, central banks have gone far with their interventions to stabilize the financial system, taking into account the high costs that can be imposed by a banking crisis onto the real economy.

Central banks by themselves, however, cannot guarantee financial stability in the long term. In particular, we cannot exclude that their interventions create incentives for banks to be less cautious in the future. The first line of defence therefore consists of banks having sound risk management practices and holding appropriate levels of capital and liquidity. The Financial Stability Forum has made a series of recommendations in this respect.

Given the size of the big Swiss banks in relation to our national economy, we should be especially prudent. For this reason, the Swiss National Bank supports the project undertaken by the Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC) to strengthen capital adequacy requirements and to revise the liquidity requirements for the big banks. As the SFBC has pointed out on several occasions, these measures have to be implemented gradually – to ensure that banks have sufficient time to adapt. These measures will contribute to the solidity and credibility of the Swiss financial centre. This will strengthen its position as a global leader in wealth management.

Imprimer

Stabilité financière

Institut des Hautes Etudes Commerciales de Lausanne, 16.09.2008

  • Texte intégral
    (86 KB)

Durant la période de turbulence, les banques centrales sont allées loin dans leurs interventions destinées à préserver la stabilité du système financier. Ce faisant, elles ont tenu compte du coût élevé qu'une crise bancaire peut infliger à l'économie.

Mais les banques centrales ne peuvent pas à elle seules assurer la stabilité à long terme du système financier. En particulier, on ne peut pas exclure que leurs interventions incitent les banques à devenir moins prudentes à l’avenir. La première ligne de défense consiste donc dans une saine gestion des risques et dans une dotation adéquate des banques en fonds propres et en liquidité. Le Forum de stabilité financière a émis une série de recommandations allant dans ce sens.

La taille des grandes banques suisses par rapport à celle de notre économie doit nous inciter à être particulièrement prudents. C'est pourquoi la Banque nationale soutient le projet de la Commission fédérale des banques (CFB) de renforcer les exigences de fonds propres et de réformer la réglementation de la liquidité pour les grandes banques. Comme l’a indiqué la CFB a plusieurs reprises, l’entrée en vigueur de ces mesures devra être suffisamment étalée dans le temps. Cela afin de laisser largement aux grandes banques le temps de s’y adapter. Ces mesures contribueront à assurer la solidité et la crédibilité de la place financière suisse. Cela consolidera sa position en tant que centre de premier rang dans le domaine de la gestion de fortune.