Print

Central banks in action: financial market turbulences and policy measures

36th General Assembly Association of Foreign Banks in Switzerland, Geneva, 06.06.2008

  • Complete text
    (100 KB)

The financial market crisis has given rise to enormous tensions on the money market and has posed a formidable challenge to central banks. They have responded to this challenge by using their instruments flexibly and expanding the way in which they have been deployed. This has made it possible to contain the crisis. However, despite all the measures taken, the money markets remain tense. The underlying lack of confidence cannot be removed by central bank action alone. Ultimately, it is the market participants themselves who must restore confidence.

With respect to actions taken by the central banks, several lessons can be learnt from the crisis. Central banks do not depend solely on the monetary policy rate in order to safeguard financial market stability, since they have a broad arsenal of liquidity management instruments at their disposal. Central banks must be in a position to inject large amounts of liquidity into the market at short notice, and also to withdraw such amounts. They must also be able to conduct operations with the largest possible number of counterparties, against a broad range of collateral, and in different maturity ranges. A standing loan facility is useful only if there is no excessive stigma attached to its use. Collateral swap facilities are an effective measure for increasing liquidity in the banking system without expanding central bank money. However, they should be used only in exceptional cases. The crisis has also highlighted the importance of holding an adequate level of foreign reserves in order to ensure financial stability.

There may have been some costs associated with recent central bank action: First, interventions aimed at safeguarding short-term financial stability could lead to greater ‘moral hazard’ in the long run and thus, in turn, present a risk to financial markets. Second, interventions could fuel inflation. Monetary policy is therefore challenged not only on the financial stability front, but also needs to be extremely alert to developments on the price stability front.

Imprimer

Les banques centrales en action: turbulences sur les marchés financiers et mesures de politique monétaire

36th General Assembly Association of Foreign Banks in Switzerland, Genève, 06.06.2008

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Central banks in action: financial market turbulences and policy measures"
    PDF (100 KB)

La crise des marchés financiers a engendré d'énormes tensions sur les marchés monétaires et confronté les banques centrales à des défis complexes. Ces dernières ont réagi à la nouvelle donne en utilisant avec souplesse et en élargissant la panoplie de leurs instruments, ce qui leur a permis d'enrayer une propagation de la crise. Malgré toutes les mesures prises en ce sens, les tensions subsistent sur les marchés monétaires. Les mesures des banques centrales ne suffisent pas à dissiper le manque de confiance sous-jacent. Seuls les intervenants sur les marchés financiers sont à même, en définitive, d'en venir à bout.

S'agissant de ces mesures, plusieurs enseignements peuvent être tirés de la crise: dans le cadre de leurs efforts visant à assurer la stabilité des marchés financiers, les banques centrales ne s'en tiennent pas à la seule adaptation du taux directeur, mais disposent de tout un arsenal d'instruments de gestion des liquidités. Elles doivent être en mesure d'injecter temporairement de grosses quantités de liquidités sur le marché et également de les résorber. En outre, elles doivent pouvoir mener des opérations avec le plus grand nombre possible de contreparties, et ce, contre un large cercle de garanties et pour différentes durées. Une facilité permanente n'est utile que si le recours à cette dernière ne donne pas cours à une stigmatisation excessive. Les accords de swaps (collateral swaps) constituent un moyen efficace d'augmenter les liquidités au sein du système bancaire sans entraîner un accroissement de la monnaie centrale. Cependant, il ne faudrait y recourir qu'à titre exceptionnel. Par ailleurs, la crise a également souligné l'importance de détenir un socle suffisant de réserves de devises pour garantir la stabilité des marchés financiers.

Les mesures prises par les banques centrales pourraient toutefois aussi avoir un coût: des interventions dictées par le souci de garantir à court terme la stabilité du système financier peuvent encourager à long terme le risque moral (moral hazard) et, par conséquent, représenter un nouveau risque pour les marchés financiers. Deuxièmement, ces interventions peuvent attiser l'inflation. Ainsi, la politique monétaire est non seulement mise à l'épreuve sur le front de la stabilité des marchés financiers, mais également sur celui de l'inflation dont elle se doit d'observer l'évolution avec la plus grande attention.