Print

Current challenges for the Swiss National Bank in the area of monetary policy

Money Market Event of the Swiss National Bank, Zurich, 27.03.2008

  • Complete text in German: "Aktuelle geldpolitische Herausforderungen für die Schweizerische Nationalbank"
    PDF (486 KB)

With its forecast that GDP will grow by 1.5%–2.0% and the average inflation rate will amount to 2%, the National Bank is cautiously optimistic for the Swiss economy in 2008. However, since the summer of 2007, the international environment has taken a clear turn for the worse: Financial markets are in a serious crisis, the major economies are weakening and inflation rates are rising worldwide. This means that the SNB’s monetary policy is facing challenges on several fronts simultaneously.

With regard to economic growth, the SNB is called upon to assess the consequences of the international financial crisis for the Swiss economy as precisely as possible and to analyse their implications for monetary policy correctly and at an early stage. On the inflation front, it must ensure that the measures taken in connection with the financial market crisis do not jeopardise the credibility of a monetary policy geared to long-term price stability or shake established inflation expectations. Finally, the challenge in the money market is two-fold. First, the SNB must try – despite volatile risk premiums and interest rate expectations – to keep the targeted three-month Libor as close as possible to the desired goal. Second, with its operations and its choice of instruments, it must contribute to a well-functioning money market.

Even though there have been several innovations in the area of monetary policy instruments, the SNB’s options in this complex environment are limited, however. In particular, there is no magic bullet with which central banks could restore the lost confidence among market participants. In dealing with the financial market crisis, therefore, banks and other financial market participants must also try to help restore the proper functioning of markets by implementing measures to shore up confidence.

Imprimer

Politique monétaire: les défis actuels de la Banque nationale suisse

Apéritif "Marché monétaire" de la Banque nationale suisse, Zurich, 27.03.2008

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Aktuelle geldpolitische Herausforderungen für die Schweizerische Nationalbank"
    PDF (486 KB)

Tablant sur une croissance du produit intérieur brut de 1,5% à 2% et sur un taux d'inflation moyen de 2%, la Banque nationale affiche un optimisme prudent en ce qui concerne la conjoncture suisse en 2008. L'environnement international s'est toutefois nettement détérioré depuis l'été dernier. En effet, les marchés financiers traversent une crise profonde, la croissance économique se tasse dans d'importants pays et les taux d'inflation sont en hausse partout dans le monde. La Banque nationale doit donc relever plusieurs défis de politique monétaire.

En ce qui concerne la croissance économique, le défi consiste, pour la Banque nationale, à évaluer le plus précisément possible les conséquences de la crise financière internationale sur la conjoncture en Suisse et à déterminer, suffisamment tôt et correctement, l'incidence de cette crise sur la politique monétaire. Sur le front de l'inflation, le défi est de veiller, en dépit des mesures prises en rapport avec la crise sur les marchés financiers, à ce que l'ancrage des anticipations inflationnistes et la crédibilité de la politique monétaire axée sur la stabilité des prix à long terme ne soient pas compromis. En outre, sur le marché monétaire, la Banque nationale doit s'efforcer de maintenir le Libor à trois mois aussi près que possible de l'objectif visé, malgré la volatilité des primes de risque et des anticipations de taux d'intérêt, et de contribuer au bon fonctionnement du marché monétaire par ses opérations et par le choix de ses instruments.

Bien que des innovations aient été apportées à la panoplie des instruments de politique monétaire, la Banque nationale ne dispose que de possibilités limitées dans l'environnement complexe actuel. Il n'est notamment pas possible pour les banques centrales de rétablir aisément la confiance parmi les intervenants sur les marchés financiers. Pour surmonter la crise sur ces marchés, il est donc indispensable que les banques et les autres opérateurs s'efforcent eux aussi, par des mesures susceptibles de donner confiance, d'assurer de nouveau le bon fonctionnement des marchés.