Print

The SNB facilitates and secures payment transactions

Swiss Banking Operations Forum, Zurich, 25.04.2007

  • Complete text in German: "Die Nationalbank erleichtert und sichert den Zahlungsverkehr"
    PDF (86 KB)
  • Complete text in French: "La Banque nationale facilite et assure le trafic des paiements"
    PDF (86 KB)
The cashless retail payment systems currently in operation across Europe are still very much geared towards the individual countries. In an effort to create a more integrated system, a Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA) is to be established in the European Economic Area with the introduction of a common set of guidelines and standards. This should improve the efficiency of processing infrastructures and do away with any differences between national and cross-border euro payments. Since the beginning of 2006, banks in Switzerland have also been able to participate in SEPA. The National Bank supports these endeavours.
Switzerland is no stranger to the challenges posed by the introduction of a single payments area. In the speech, a brief historical outline shows how the SNB has fulfilled its statutory mandate to facilitate and secure the operation of cashless payment systems. This highlights the fact that the National Bank preferred market-oriented solutions over direct interventions, and was open to the changing needs of the market.
Today, the SIC system is one of the cornerstones of Switzerland’s payment system. The speech takes a closer look at two important aspects in the relationship between the SIC system and the SNB, namely the outsourcing of operations to SIC AG and the National Bank’s scope for monitoring and influencing the system.

Imprimer

La Banque nationale facilite et assure le trafic des paiements

Swiss Banking Operations Forum, Zurich, 25.04.2007

  • Texte intégral
    (86 KB)
En Europe, les systèmes pour les paiements sans numéraire de la clientèle sont aujourd'hui encore axés très fortement sur les divers Etats nationaux. L'adoption de directives et de normes permettra de mettre en œuvre le SEPA (Single Euro Payments Area) au sein de l'Espace économique européen. L'objectif du SEPA est d'accélérer le déroulement des paiements et d'abolir les différences entre paiements nationaux et paiements transfrontières en euros. Depuis le début de 2006, les banques en Suisse peuvent elles aussi participer au SEPA. La Banque nationale soutient ces efforts.
Il a fallu relever de nombreux défis avant de parvenir à un espace unique de paiements en Suisse. L'exposé, dans un bref aperçu historique, montre comment la Banque nationale a rempli sa tâche légale qui consiste à faciliter et à assurer le bon fonctionnement du trafic des paiements sans numéraire. Dans ce domaine, la Banque nationale a toujours préféré recourir à des solutions axées sur le marché plutôt qu'à des interventions directes et est restée ouverte aux nouveaux besoins qui se sont fait sentir sur le marché.
Aujourd'hui, le SIC est un des piliers du trafic des paiements en Suisse. L'exposé aborde deux aspects importants des relations entre le SIC et la Banque nationale, à savoir l'externalisation de l'exploitation du système et les possibilités, pour la Banque nationale, d'exercer un contrôle et une influence sur le SIC.