Print

Current challenges for the Swiss National Bank in the area of monetary policy

Money Market Event, Zurich, 22.03.2007

  • Complete text in German: "Aktuelle geldpolitische Herausforderungen für die Schweizerische Nationalbank"
    PDF (583 KB)
The Swiss economy is in excellent shape and in 2007 is again expected to grow at a rate higher than its potential. On the assumption that the interest rate remains unchanged, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) forecasts that the interest rate will continue to trend upwards. This suggests that – seen from the current perspective – the normalisation of monetary policy is not yet concluded.
However, at present there is considerable uncertainty with regard to assessment of the necessary course of action. Structural changes in the Swiss economy may have an impact on key equilibria and knowledge of these equilibria is extremely important in gauging the neutral rate of interest. Alongside the usual uncertainties relating to future cyclical developments, the SNB is therefore currently faced with significant challenges in determining the values of key equilibria. In this paper, particular attention is given to three topical aspects. The first is the difficulty in determining the capacity level at which wage pressure starts to become apparent, due to the fact that the labour market in Switzerland has been opened up. The second is that reforms and the opening up of the Swiss economy make it more difficult to estimate the level of potential growth, and it is therefore tricky to determine the level at which the output gap becomes positive, with the onset of overheating. The third aspect is the fact that structural change can also lead to a new real exchange rate trend path for the Swiss franc. This makes it more difficult to assess the threat of inflation arising out of the weakening of the Swiss franc against the euro.
The high degree of uncertainty with regard to structural changes in the Swiss economy demands a higher level of vigilance and flexibility on the part of the SNB. The favourable economic situation and low level of inflation in Switzerland are making it possible for the SNB to move towards a neutral monetary policy.

Imprimer

Politique monétaire: les défis actuels de la Banque nationale suisse

apéritif «Marché monétaire» de la Banque nationale suisse, Zurich, 22.03.2007

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Aktuelle geldpolitische Herausforderungen für die Schweizerische Nationalbank"
    PDF (583 KB)
L'économie suisse se caractérise par une belle vigueur et devrait, en 2007 également, progresser à un rythme supérieur à son potentiel. Dans l'hypothèse d'une politique monétaire inchangée, l'inflation prévue par la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) tend toujours à augmenter. Une telle évolution montre que, dans la perspective actuelle, le processus de normalisation de la politique monétaire n'est pas achevé.
La détermination des étapes encore à franchir est toutefois entachée d'incertitudes accrues. Des adaptations structurelles au sein de l'économie suisse peuvent influer sur de grands équilibres. Il importe de bien connaître de tels équilibres pour estimer le niveau neutre du taux d'intérêt. Outre les incertitudes «habituelles» quant à l'évolution de la conjoncture, l'estimation de certains niveaux d'équilibre constitue actuellement un défi de taille pour la BNS. Trois aspects retiennent tout particulièrement l'attention. Premièrement, l'ouverture du marché du travail rend difficile l'évaluation du taux d'utilisation des capacités à partir duquel des pressions sur les salaires commencent à s'exercer en Suisse. Deuxièmement, les réformes et l'ouverture de l'économie suisse compliquent l'estimation de la croissance potentielle. Il n'est donc pas facile de déterminer le moment à partir duquel l'écart de production deviendra positif et une surchauffe menacera. Troisièmement, les adaptations structurelles peuvent aussi avoir pour conséquence un changement de la tendance du cours réel du franc. Cela rend difficile l'évaluation du risque d'inflation découlant de la faiblesse du franc face à l'euro.
Les fortes incertitudes liées aux adaptations structurelles au sein de l'économie suisse requièrent une vigilance et une flexibilité encore plus grandes de la part de la Banque nationale. La conjoncture favorable et le renchérissement modéré en Suisse permettent à cette dernière de donner graduellement à sa politique monétaire un caractère neutre.