Print

The Virtues of Flexible Financial Markets: A Central Banking Perspective

CFA Institute Annual Conference, Zurich, 22.05.2006

  • Complete text
    (185 KB)

Rapid technological change and market liberalization have been the driving forces behind the remarkable evolution of global financial markets over the past three decades. The consequences of this development include a geographic rearrangement of global capital markets, a fast pace of product innovation and changes in the nature and composition of financial market participants.

The benefits associated with today’s flexible financial markets are manifold. Financial markets have become much more efficient in allocating capital. New products enable a better distribution of risks and the liquefaction of previously illiquid assets. They have also increased market transparency. As a result, modern financial markets facilitated innovation and likely enhanced economic growth. Moreover, they have contributed to make economies more resilient to shocks.

These extensive benefits notwithstanding, modern financial market also entails new risks. These risks tend to elicit calls for increasingly far-reaching regulation. While some regulation may indeed be required to guarantee the integrity of financial markets, the threshold for such regulation should be set high. Regulation should only be considered if the objective is abundantly clear and if there is overwhelming evidence that market participants lack the incentives or the capability to adequately manage these risks themselves. Rather than seeking regulation, market participants, central banks and regulators should focus on strengthening an already active dialogue with the aim of furthering our understanding of new types of risk associated with modern financial markets.

Imprimer

Les avantages des marchés financiers flexibles: l'optique d'une banque centrale

CFA Institut, Zurich, 22.05.2006

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "The Virtues of Flexible Financial Markets: A Central Banking Perspective"
    PDF (185 KB)

Les mutations technologiques rapides et la libéralisation des marchés ont joué un rôle moteur dans la remarquable évolution qui a caractérisé les marchés financiers mondiaux ces trente dernières années. Cette évolution a entraîné une redistribution géographique des cartes sur les marchés mondiaux des capitaux, un foisonnement de nouveaux produits et des modifications dans la composition des acteurs sur les marchés financiers.

Les marchés financiers flexibles que nous connaissons actuellement offrent de nombreux avantages. Les marchés financiers ont sensiblement gagné en efficacité dans l'allocation du facteur capital. Les nouveaux produits permettent une meilleure répartition des risques et rendent plus liquides des placements auxquels cette qualité faisait défaut jusque-là. Ils ont également accru la transparence des marchés. Les marchés financiers flexibles ont ainsi favorisé l'innovation et, probablement, renforcé la croissance économique. Ils ont aussi contribué à rendre les économies plus résistantes aux chocs.

A côté de leurs nombreux avantages, les marchés financiers modernes comportent également de nouveaux risques. Ces risques poussent à l'adoption de réglementations toujours plus poussées. Un certain niveau de réglementations est certes nécessaire pour garantir l'intégrité des marchés financiers, mais la barre devrait être placée très haut en la matière. Des réglementations ne devraient être envisagées que lorsque leur but est parfaitement clair et que des signes évidents montrent que les opérateurs sur les marchés ne sont pas incités à gérer eux-mêmes les risques, et de manière appropriée, ou sont dans l'incapacité de le faire. Au lieu de chercher à étendre les réglementations, les opérateurs sur les marchés, les banques centrales et les autorités de surveillance devraient mettre l'accent sur le renforcement d'un dialogue constructif en vue de favoriser une bonne compréhension des nouveaux risques inhérents aux marchés financiers modernes.