Print

System stability and monetary policy

University of Bern, Berne, 31.01.2006

  • Complete text in German: "Systemstabilität und Geldpolitik"
    PDF (135 KB)

For a number of years the Swiss National Bank (SNB) has been devoting considerable attention to the interaction between system stability and monetary policy. The aim is to arrive at an assessment of the current situation. The results obtained so far have been very useful, but there is still work to be done in implementing them and developing them further.

Our point of departure is an analysis comparable to that presented in the 2005 Annual Report of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS). From basic research papers published by the BIS we can conclude that, where financial systems are liberalised, a monetary policy that responds exclusively to short-term risks to price stability will promote the elasticity of economic systems. Only if monetary policy also responds to cumulative disequilibria in financial markets can this elasticity be limited. A monetary policy response of this kind can be achieved through coordination with macroprudential and microprudential instruments.

With this in mind, we turn to the activities of the SNB. The primary objective of the National Bank’s monetary policy and its contribution to the stability of the financial system is to supply the economy with liquidity. These two elements are interlocked, thereby taking account of the insights reached in international discussion in this area. The SNB supplies the economy with liquidity first and foremost through money market operations, but also, under certain circumstances, through its function as lender of last resort. Emergency liquidity assistance is only provided if the stability of the system is severely jeopardised. The SNB guards against this situation by helping to ensure a well-functioning liquidity supply. It facilitates and secures the operation of cashless payment systems, regulates and monitors both the payment and the securities settlement systems and works to ensure that these systems are crisis-proof. In addition, it continually oversees and analyses developments in the financial system and collaborates closely with the Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC), the banking supervisory body.

Currently, there are three questions that direct the SNB’s use of information on the stability of the financial system when it makes monetary policy decisions. The first question is whether monetary policy – as an instrument for ensuring price stability – can be improved by including information on banking system stability? The second question works the other way round: Can monetary policy influence the stability of the banking industry? And – if the answer to this second question is yes – the third (normative) question is whether monetary policy should be used to increase stability in the banking industry.

While the answers to the first two questions are in the affirmative, the response to the third is negative. Apart from monetary policy, the SNB has other ways of contributing to system stability. The law clearly specifies that the instrument of monetary policy is directed at ensuring price stability. In other words, using monetary policy to promote the stability of the banking system while accepting the possibility that the objective of price stability might not be fulfilled, would be inadmissible. What is more, any gain in the stability of the banking system at the cost of price stability would be temporary, at best.

Imprimer

Stabilité systémique et politique monétaire

Université de Berne, Berne, 31.01.2006

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Systemstabilität und Geldpolitik"
    PDF (135 KB)

La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) se penche depuis quelques années sur les interactions entre la stabilité systémique et la politique monétaire. Le travail a pour objectif de faire un point de la situation. On constate combien le débat est fructueux, mais aussi combien la mise en œuvre des connaissances acquises et le développement de ces connaissances sont encore loin d'être achevés.

Le point de départ est une analyse, telle qu'elle ressort notamment du 75e rapport annuel de la Banque des Règlements Internationaux (BRI). On peut déduire des travaux de la BRI qu'une politique monétaire qui réagit exclusivement aux dangers pesant à court terme sur la stabilité des prix renforce, en présence de systèmes financiers libéralisés, l'élasticité des systèmes économiques. Seule une politique monétaire réagissant également aux déséquilibres qui se creusent sur les marchés financiers peut réduire l'élasticité. Elle peut y parvenir si elle est coordonnée avec le recours à des instruments macroprudentiels et microprudentiels.

Dans ce contexte, qu'en est-il des activités de la BNS? La politique monétaire de la BNS et les contributions de celle-ci à la stabilité systémique sont axées en premier lieu sur l'approvisionnement de l'économie en liquidités. Comme elles sont étroitement associées dans leur mise en œuvre, elles tiennent compte des enseignements tirés des discussions sur le plan international. La BNS assure l'approvisionnement de l'économie en liquidités essentiellement par des opérations traditionnelles sur le marché monétaire et, à certaines conditions, en jouant son rôle de prêteur ultime («lender of last resort»). Pour qu'elle apporte une aide extraordinaire sous forme de liquidités, il faut que la stabilité du système financier soit gravement menacée. Pour parer à une telle situation, la BNS contribue à un approvisionnement en liquidités qui soit adapté aux circonstances. Elle facilite et assure le bon fonctionnement des systèmes de paiement sans numéraire, impose des exigences aussi bien aux systèmes de paiement qu'aux systèmes de règlement des opérations sur titres, surveille ces systèmes et veille à ce que ceux-ci aient une bonne capacité de résistance aux crises. En outre, la BNS suit et analyse les évolutions au sein du système financier et collabore étroitement avec la Commission fédérale des banques (CFB), l'autorité de surveillance des établissements bancaires.

Intégrer dans les décisions de politique monétaire que prend la BNS des informations afférentes à la stabilité du système financier découle de trois questions. Premièrement, une telle prise en compte rend-elle la politique monétaire plus efficace en tant qu'instrument pour assurer la stabilité des prix? La deuxième question va dans un tout autre sens: la politique monétaire peut-elle influer sur la stabilité du secteur bancaire? Et, si l'on répond par l'affirmative à cette deuxième question, la troisième question, normative, est la suivante: la politique monétaire doit-elle être utilisée pour renforcer la stabilité du secteur bancaire?

Force est de répondre par oui aux deux premières questions et par non à la troisième. La BNS dispose, en plus de la politique monétaire, d'autres possibilités pour contribuer à la stabilité systémique. La politique monétaire est un instrument qui, de par la loi, doit être clairement mis au service de la stabilité des prix. Recourir à la politique monétaire pour assurer la stabilité du système bancaire et, ce faisant, ne plus respecter l'objectif de la stabilité des prix serait donc contraire aux dispositions légales. De surcroît, un renforcement de la stabilité du secteur bancaire qui serait obtenu au détriment de la stabilité des prix aurait tout au plus un caractère temporaire.