Print

IT in the financial sector – aspects of regulation and supervision

8th Conference on Information Security, Berne, 29.11.2005

  • Complete text in German: "IT im Finanzsektor – Aspekte der Regulierung und Überwachung"
    PDF (40 KB)

The completeness, integrity, traceability and constant availability of data that has been securely processed are essential in order for the financial system to function smoothly. The Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC) supervises banks and securities dealers domiciled in Switzerland. Its microprudential supervision focuses on the individual financial institution, in particular with regard to the protection of creditors and investors. By contrast, it is the task of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) to contribute to the stability of the financial system, i.e. it is engaged in macroprudential oversight.

Banking legislation provisions governing the IT organisation requirements of a financial intermediary do not explicitly address the topic of information security, but rather focus on the notion of “proper and rightful conduct of business”. For the SFBC, information security is merely one concern among others. In one of its circulars it has, however, addressed several critical areas in greater detail, e.g. on the topic of external data management and outsourcing. The SNB’s mandate is limited to the payment and securities settlement systems. In its oversight function, the SNB focuses on systems which might constitute a potential threat to the stability of the Swiss financial system.

The SNB’s objectives with regard to information security include the following: security policy and organisation, physical and staff security, system operation, system development and maintenance, communication and information exchange and – last but not least – business continuity management. Similar to the SFBC, the SNB basically pursues a dualistic approach, i.e. it relies primarily on the results of internal and external audits.

Any supplemental, cross-system measures must be jointly coordinated and synchronised by all the major players. The steering group “Business Continuity Planning” (BCP), headed by the SNB, assumes this function and examined the business continuity plans developed in the individual companies. The report reveals that a great deal of progress has been made with regard to the BCP efforts of the systemically relevant infrastructures and their major participants. Moreover, the report contains concrete requirements for the different players and identifies room for improvement in various respects. One measure, which has meanwhile already been implemented, concerns the creation of an alarm and crisis organisation that spans the entire financial sector.

The final conclusion that can be drawn is that it is the responsibility of the individual company to ensure information security. Regulation, oversight and supervision play only a secondary role. Information security deserves to be accorded appropriate priority by every board and every management, regardless of whether the company is a global player or a small savings bank.

Imprimer

Technologies de l'information dans le secteur financier – Aspects de la réglementation et de la surveillance

8. Berner Tagung für Informationssicherheit, Berne, 29.11.2005

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "IT im Finanzsektor – Aspekte der Regulierung und Überwachung"
    PDF (40 KB)

Des données en tout temps disponibles, complètes, robustes, reproductibles et traitées de manière fiable sont une condition indispensable pour le bon fonctionnement du système financier. La Commission fédérale des banques (CFB) est chargée de la surveillance des banques et négociants en valeurs mobilières établis en Suisse. La surveillance qu'elle exerce est microprudentielle. Elle porte sur les établissements financiers, pris individuellement, et met l'accent sur la protection des créanciers et des investisseurs. La Banque nationale suisse (BNS), en revanche, est chargée de contribuer à la stabilité du système financier; sa tâche est donc d'ordre macroprudentiel.

Dans la législation bancaire, les exigences en matière d'organisation de l'exploitation TI d'un intermédiaire financier se réfèrent non pas explicitement à la sécurité de l'information, mais à la notion de «gestion irréprochable et régulière». Pour la CFB, la sécurité de l'information n'est qu'un objectif parmi d'autres. Dans des circulaires, la CFB a cependant traité divers domaines sensibles, comme le traitement externe des données et l'externalisation d'activités. Le mandat de la BNS porte exclusivement sur le déroulement des opérations dans le trafic des paiements et dans le domaine des titres. La surveillance exercée par la BNS se concentre sur les systèmes qui recèlent une menace potentielle pour la stabilité du système financier suisse.

Les objectifs de la BNS dans le domaine de la sécurité de l'information englobent notamment la politique et l'organisation en matière de sécurité, la sécurité du personnel, l'exploitation de systèmes, le développement et la maintenance de systèmes, la communication et l'échange d'informations, mais aussi – last but not least – le «Business Continuity Management». Comme la CFB, la BNS a une approche double: elle s'appuie principalement sur les résultats des contrôles effectués par la révision interne et par les sociétés d'audit externes.

Des mesures multisystèmes complémentaires doivent être prises en commun par les principaux acteurs; elles doivent donc être harmonisées et coordonnées à un échelon supérieur. Un groupe de pilotage «Business Continuity Planning» (BCP) a ainsi examiné, sous la direction de la BNS, les mesures prévues par certaines entreprises dans le domaine du «Business Continuity Planning». Le rapport montre que les infrastructures importantes sous l'angle systémique et leurs principaux acteurs ont beaucoup progressé dans l'élaboration de leur BCP. Le rapport formule également des exigences concrètes pour les divers acteurs. Enfin, il identifie sur plusieurs points des potentiels d'amélioration. Une mesure, entre-temps déjà appliquée, porte sur la création d'une organisation chargée d'intervenir en cas d'alarme ou de crise à l'échelle du secteur financier.

En conclusion, je voudrais souligner qu'il incombe en premier lieu aux entreprises d'assurer la sécurité de l'information. Réglementation, surveillance et contrôle ne jouent qu'un rôle complémentaire. La sécurité de l'information est un thème qui doit être traité avec la priorité requise par tout conseil d'administration et toute direction, que l'entreprise soit à dimension internationale ou qu'il s'agisse d'une petite caisse d'épargne.