Print

Prospects for the Swiss franc in the heart of the euro area

Associazione Carlo Cattaneo, Lugano, 09.03.2005

  • Complete text in French: "Quelles perspectives pour le franc suisse au coeur de la zone euro ?"
    PDF (110 KB)

The launch of the euro in January 1999 fundamentally transformed the international monetary order. Switzerland, a small country that strongly depends on exports and capital transactions, suddenly found itself surrounded by a market with almost 300 million people sharing a single currency. What were the monetary consequences of this development, and what are the prospects for the Swiss franc, which is traditionally considered a "success product"?

The role of the Swiss franc in commercial and financial transactions has certainly diminished. Although the euro is only rarely used as a means of payment in the Swiss market, billing within the euro area is increasingly taking place in the single currency only – a fact to which Swiss companies have to adjust. In the financial markets, the euro now acts as a counterweight to the dollar. The Swiss franc has thus lost some of its significance as a safe-haven currency and has performed more in line with its fundamentals.

The introduction of the euro has, however, not affected our monetary autonomy or the Swiss interest rate advantage. The Swiss National Bank has been able to respond with flexibility and determination to the recent economic slowdown. As a result, the Swiss economy has benefited from far more favourable monetary conditions than Germany, for example, which is subject to the same interest rate regime as those euro area countries in the process of convergence. Furthermore, the interest rate bonus has remained, partly because of the heterogeneous economic development of the euro area.

Even if the international significance of the Swiss franc diminished, its unique character should strengthen in view of the increasing complexity and diversity of the euro area. The markets have correctly assessed this process. The development of the euro area also presents a challenge to the Swiss economy. In this context, Switzerland's monetary autonomy will remain a significant asset.

Imprimer

Quelles perspectives pour le franc suisse au coeur de la zone euro ?

Associazione Carlo Cattaneo, Lugano, 09.03.2005

  • Texte intégral
    (110 KB)

L’introduction de l’euro, en janvier 1999, a profondément modifié l’ordre monétaire international. La Suisse, petit pays dépendant fortement des exportations et des mouvements de capitaux, s’est soudain retrouvée encerclée par un marché de près de 300 millions d’habitants qui partagent une monnaie unique. Quelles ont été les conséquences monétaires de cette évolution, et quelles sont les perspectives pour le franc suisse, traditionnellement considéré comme « produit à succès » ?

Le rôle du franc suisse dans les transactions commerciales et financières a certes diminué. Bien que l’euro ne soit que peu utilisé comme moyen de paiements sur le marché suisse, les facturations à l’intérieur de la zone euro se font de plus en plus exclusivement à l’aide de la monnaie unique, ce à quoi les entreprises suisses doivent s’adapter. Sur les marchés financiers, l’euro offre maintenant un contrepoids au dollar. Le franc suisse a de ce fait quelque peu perdu son rôle de valeur refuge et évolue plus proche de ses fondamentaux.

Par contre, l’introduction de l’euro n’a pas eu d’influence sur notre autonomie monétaire et sur le bonus d’intérêt helvétique. La Banque nationale suisse a pu réagir avec flexibilité et détermination face au ralentissement économique récent, ce qui a permis à l’économie suisse de bénéficier de conditions monétaires bien plus avantageuses que celles de l’Allemagne par exemple, soumise au même taux d’intérêt que les pays en phase de convergence dans la zone euro. De plus, le bonus d’intérêt a subsisté, dû en partie à l’évolution économique hétérogène de la zone euro.

Si le rôle international du franc suisse pourrait aller en diminuant, son caractère unique devrait se renforcer face à une zone euro grandissant en complexité et hétérogénéité. Les marchés ont correctement évalué cette évolution. Le développement de la zone euro représente aussi un défi pour l’économie suisse. Dans ce contexte, l’autonomie monétaire de la Suisse restera donc un atout considérable.