Print

Switzerland: a financial centre in the heart of the euro area

Belgian Financial Forum, Brussels, 16 February 2004, 16.02.2004

  • Complete text in French: "La Suisse: place financière au coeur de la zone euro"
    PDF (126 KB)

Switzerland is not a fortress. In relation to the rest of Europe in particular, it is an economy that is very much open to mutual exchanges – notably with regard to trade and finance. It is not by chance that Switzerland has become a major financial centre. This can be ascribed to a number of positive factors, including specialist knowledge, a long-established banking tradition, the quality of the financial infrastructure, and customers' confidence in the soundness of the country’s financial institutions. Switzerland’s political stability, its high level of savings and the international standing of the Swiss franc have also enhanced the appeal of its financial system.

Increasingly, however, Switzerland is not alone in offering such advantages. Moreover, the Swiss financial centre – like all the others – has to face the challenges of globalisation and the fight against financial crime. As banking secrecy does not afford any protection to funds of dubious origin, the Swiss authorities are able to combat money-laundering with a reasonable degree of efficacy. In this area, Switzerland has implemented measures that have received international recognition.

The introduction of the euro has profoundly changed the environment in which the Swiss economy operates. Since 1999, the Swiss franc has coexisted quite harmoniously with the euro. In fact, the franc has been more stable against the euro than it was against the D mark. This is good news for Swiss companies exporting to the European market. On the other hand, such companies have to contend with a greater concentration of foreign-exchange risks. They are responding to this challenge with hedging policies that are more active than those pursued in the past. Pegging the franc to the euro in order to eliminate exchange-rate risks would entail more problems than advantages, as it would inevitably push up the level of interest rates in Switzerland. Against this backdrop, the National Bank is continuing to pursue an independent monetary policy that takes account not only of economic trends and inflation forecasts but also of the situation on the foreign exchange markets.

Imprimer

La Suisse: place financière au coeur de la zone euro

Forum financier belge, Bruxelles, le 16 février 2004, 16.02.2004

  • Texte intégral
    (126 KB)

La Suisse n’est pas une forteresse mais une économie largement ouverte aux échanges, en particulier sur le front européen, qu’il s’agisse des flux commerciaux ou des flux financiers. L’essor de la place financière helvétique n’est pas le fait du hasard, il est dû à un certain nombre de facteurs positifs comme le savoir-faire, la tradition bancaire, la qualité de l’infrastructure financière et la confiance des clients dans la solidité des établissements financiers. De plus, la stabilité politique du pays, l’abondance de son épargne et la posi-tion internationale du franc contribuent à augmenter l’attrait de son système financier.

Mais ces avantages traditionnels sont de plus en plus partagés. Aussi, la place financière suisse doit-elle faire face – comme les autres – aux défis de la globalisation et de la lutte contre la criminalité financière. Le secret bancaire n’offre aucune protection aux fonds d’origine douteuse, ce qui permet aux Autorités suisses de lutter avec une certaine effica-cité contre le blanchiment d’argent. Dans ce domaine, la Suisse a mis en place un disposi-tif défensif reconnu sur le plan international.

L’introduction de l’euro a profondément modifié l’environnement dans lequel opère l’économie suisse. Depuis 1999, la cohabitation entre le franc et l’euro a été plutôt har-monieuse ; le franc a été plus stable face à l’euro qu’il ne l’était face au mark, ce qui est une bonne nouvelle pour les entreprises suisses exportant sur le marché européen. Ces dernières doivent en revanche faire face à une concentration de leurs risques de change. Elles y répondent par une politique de « hedging » plus active que par le passé. Un accro-chage du franc à l’euro – aux fins d’éliminer les risques de change - comporterait plus d’inconvénients que d’avantages car il entraînerait inévitablement un relèvement des taux d’intérêt en Suisse. Dans ces conditions, la Banque nationale continue de mener une poli-tique monétaire indépendante tenant compte non seulement de la conjoncture et des perspectives d’inflation mais aussi de la situation sur le marché des changes.