Print

Switzerland in the midst of the euro area: situation and outlook

S├╝dtiroler Industriellenverband (South Tyrolean Industrialists' Association), Bozen, 14 October 2003, 14.10.2003

  • Complete text in German: "Die Schweiz inmitten der Eurozone - Lage und Aussichten"
    PDF (104 KB)

In the past decade, the European currency landscape has undergone fundamental changes. The European Central Bank today enjoys an excellent reputation as an independent central bank. Within a very short time, the euro has become most significant as an investment currency, and it continues to gain ground. Since 2002, from the time it took physical form, it has also been legal tender in twelve EU countries.

The introduction of the single currency has also had manifold implications for Switzerland. First of all, the euro has made business for Swiss companies easier. Foreign currency management has been facilitated, and the danger of currency turbulences, as witnessed under the European Monetary System EMS, has diminished. The euro is used as a payment instrument in Switzerland approximately to the same extent as formerly the national currencies of our immediate neighbours. It is possible that it will yet gain some significance in this respect. There is no risk, however, of it superseding the Swiss franc as payment instrument. As an investment and issuing currency, the euro represents increased competition, but the Swiss franc will remain an attractive diversification currency. The greater price transparency in the European market brought about by the euro's launch also has an influence on Switzerland's domestic economy, heightening awareness of the need for structural changes.

Finally, initial fears that the exchange rate relation between the Swiss franc and the euro might be destabilised by the introduction of the euro have not come true. Notwithstanding a few fluctuations, the relation between the two currencies has remained remarkably stable. Overall, therefore, the cohabitation between the Swiss franc and the euro is definitely a "success story".

Imprimer

La Suisse au centre de la zone euro: situation et perspectives

«Südtiroler Industriellenverband», Bozen, le 14 octobre 2003, 14.10.2003

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Die Schweiz inmitten der Eurozone - Lage und Aussichten"
    PDF (104 KB)

Le paysage monétaire européen s'est fondamentalement modifié au cours de la dernière décennie. En tant qu'institut d'émission indépendant, la Banque centrale européenne (BCE) jouit d'une excellente réputation. L'euro a rapidement acquis une grande importance comme monnaie de placement et continue à progresser. Depuis 2002, il est également moyen de paiement physique dans douze pays de l'UE.

La Suisse a été touchée elle aussi de diverses manières par l'introduction de la monnaie unique européenne. L'euro a d'abord facilité la vie des entreprises suisses. La gestion des devises est devenue plus simple, et le danger de turbulences monétaires, telles qu'on les a connues dans le Système monétaire européen (SME), a diminué. En Suisse, le volume des paiements en euros est presque équivalent à celui des paiements effectués autrefois dans les monnaies nationales des pays voisins. A cet égard, l'euro peut encore gagner en importance. Il ne risque toutefois pas de supplanter le franc comme moyen de paiement. En tant que monnaie de placement et d'émission, l'euro concurrence plus fortement le franc, mais ce dernier reste une monnaie de diversification attrayante. La transparence plus grande des prix sur le marché européen, à la suite de l'introduction de l'euro, s'étend au marché suisse également et incite à prendre davantage conscience de la nécessité d'y procéder à des modifications structurelles.

Enfin, les craintes, exprimées lors du lancement de la monnaie européenne, d'une déstabilisation des relations de change entre le franc et l'euro ne se sont pas confirmées. En dépit de quelques fluctuations, les relations entre les deux monnaies sont restées remarquablement stables. Dans l'ensemble, la cohabitation du franc et de l'euro est un succès.