Print

Importance of the Swiss Financial Centre

81st Congress of the Organisation for Swiss Abroad, Crans-Montana, 30 August 2003, 30.08.2003

  • Complete text in French: "Importance de la place financière suisse"
    PDF (42 KB)

The activities of the Swiss financial centre are closely linked with the development of the Swiss economy as a whole. There are a number of reasons why Switzerland has always been predestined – by virtue of its comparative advantages – to be a supplier of financial services: it has a tradition of political and monetary stability, a tradition of respecting people’s privacy and maintaining discretion, and a reputation for quality.

The banking and insurance sector has become one of our country’s largest sources of income. Within the banking field, asset management is the principal activity.

In rendering financial services – as in the production of any other goods or services – Switzerland is subject to stiff international competition. It fully accepts this situation: there is no guarantee that the relatively strong position it has built for itself will be maintained. It will only retain this position by paying due attention to its operating environment, by steadily expanding its expertise and by reinforcing confidence in the soundness and probity of its financial centre.

This task requires efforts by all parties: the financial institutions must be committed to continually adapting their services to the realities of the marketplace ; and the authorities must pursue a determined policy of closely monitoring the soundness and integrity of the financial centre in a world dominated by the free circulation of capital.

Imprimer

Importance de la place financière suisse

81ème Congrès des Suisses de l’étranger, Crans-Montana, le 30 août 2003, 30.08.2003

  • Texte intégral
    (42 KB)

Le développement des activités de la place financière suisse s'inscrit dans le droit fil du développement de l'économie suisse. Plusieurs éléments prédisposaient la Suisse à produire des services financiers en lui conférant des avantages comparatifs: une tradition de stabilité politique et monétaire, une tradition de respect de la sphère privée et de discrétion, ainsi qu'une tradition de qualité.

En se développant, le secteur des banques et des assurances est devenu l'une des principales sources de revenu de notre pays. Dans les activités bancaires, c'est la gestion de fortune qui occupe le premier rang.

Dans la production de services financiers comme dans la production d'autres biens, la Suisse est exposée à une forte concurrence internationale. Elle l'accepte pleinement et rien ne peut lui assurer de préserver la position relativement avantageuse qu'elle a su se créer. Elle ne pourra le faire qu'en soignant ses conditions-cadres, en augmentant continuellement son savoir-faire et en renforçant la confiance dans la solidité et la probité de sa place financière.

C'est une tâche qui appelle l'effort de chacun : une volonté résolue des établissements financiers d'adapter continuellement leurs services aux réalités du marché, et une politique déterminée des autorités de veiller étroitement à la solidité et à la probité de la place financière dans un monde dominé par la libre circulation des capitaux.