Print

The Financial System and the Regulatory Challenges in Securities Clearing and Settlement Systems

Seventh Conference of Central Securities Depositories, Lucerne, 12 June 2003, 12.06.2003

  • Complete text
    (49 KB)

The financial system is meant to provide for the allocation of economic resources to productive investment opportunities, the trading of risks, the collecting and processing of information, and also the provision of clearing and settlement services. Also, the financial system can be under­stood as the dynamic response of institutions and processes to changing imperfections such as information and transaction costs. By facilitating market exchange of complex financial market services, Central Securities Depositories (CSDs), International Central Securities Depositories (ICSDs) and Central Counterparties (CCPs) can be taken as a means to achieve efficiency gains. This, in turn, facilitates capital accumulation and technological innovation that underlie the im­plementation of investment projects. Thereby a long-term economic growth process is supported and, correspondingly, welfare is improved.

However, despite these efficiency gains, there is scope for further improvements. Financial systems continue to be affected by market imperfections such as asymmetric informa­tion, negative externalities and limited competition. These imperfections not only challenge private market infrastructures but they also shape the responsi­bilities and interventions of the regulatory and oversight authorities. In the field of clearing and settlement systems, these authorities face some well-known challenges. There is a need to define and apply a common approach and understanding of the underlying issues, to tackle the risk di­mension of cross-border securities transactions adequately and to allow for an acceptable level playing field among large custodians and providers of clearing and settlement services. In view of these challenges, there is good reason to critically reassess rules and regulations related to secu­rities clearing and settlement systems as well as to the way regulatory and oversight responsibili­ties are implemented in practice. A predominantly national approach and an essentially sectoral solution, where payment system overseers and securities regulators do not co-operate in an inte­grated way, do not serve market needs any longer.

Finally, there is no alternative to close co-operation between private market players and regulatory and oversight authorities. I strongly believe that trust-based co-operation between the providers of market utilities and regulatory oversight authorities remains the key to the continued successful development of an efficient and secure financial system that can handle fast-changing needs in the future.

Imprimer

Le système financier et les défis de la régulation dans les systèmes de compensation et de règlement des opérations sur titres

«Seventh Conference of Central Securities Depositories», Lucerne, le 12 juin 2003, 12.06.2003

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "The Financial System and the Regulatory Challenges in Securities Clearing and Settlement Systems"
    PDF (49 KB)

Le système financier est censé assurer l'allocation des ressources économiques vers des opportunités d'investissements productifs, l'échange de risques, le recueil et le traitement d'informations ainsi que des prestations de services dans les domaines de la compensation et des règlements. Mais il peut aussi être compris comme la réponse dynamique des institutions et des procédures face aux changements de variables imparfaites, telles les coûts de l'information et des transactions. En facilitant l'échange sur les marchés de services financiers complexes, la Central Securities Depositories (CSDs), l'International Central Securities Depositories (ICSDs) et la Central Counterparties (CCPs) permettent d'accroître l'efficacité globale. L'accumulation de capital et l'innovation technologique, qui sous-tendent la réalisation de projets d'investissement, en sont facilitées. Un soutien est ainsi apporté à un processus de croissance économique à long terme, ce qui accroît la prospérité.

Ces gains d'efficacité n'empêchent pas des améliorations. Les systèmes financiers continuent à pâtir des imperfections du marché, à savoir des informations asymétrique, des effets extérieurs négatifs et des entraves à la concurrence. Ces imperfections constituent non seulement des défis au niveau des infrastructures des marchés, qui relèvent du secteur privé, mais influent aussi sur les responsabilités et les interventions des autorités de surveillance et de régulation. En ce qui concerne les systèmes de compensation et de règlement, ces autorités sont confrontées à quelques défis connus. Il existe en effet un besoin de définir et d'appliquer une approche et une compréhension communes des problèmes sous-jacents, d'aborder de manière appropriée la question des risques liés aux opérations transfrontières sur titres et de créer des conditions équitables entre les grandes banques de dépôt et les fournisseurs de prestations en matière de compensation et de règlement. Eu égard à ces défis, il semble opportun de réexaminer d'un œil critique les règles et prescriptions relatives aux systèmes de compensation et de règlement des opérations sur titres et la manière selon laquelle les responsabilités en matière de régulation et de surveillance sont appliquées. Une approche principalement nationale et des solutions essentiellement sectorielles, où les autorités de surveillance des systèmes de règlement et des opérations sur titres ne coopèrent pas de manière à viser l'intégration, ne satisfont plus aux besoins des marchés.

Finalement, il n'y a pas de solutions de rechange à une collaboration étroite entre les acteurs du secteur privé sur les marchés et les autorités de surveillance et de régulation. Je crois fermement qu'une collaboration, fondée sur la confiance, entre les prestataires de services sur les marchés et les autorités de surveillance reste un élément central pour permettre au système financier de continuer à évoluer de manière efficace et fiable, mais aussi de gérer, à l'avenir, les besoins en rapide mutation.