Print

Switzerland's financial centre in the European context

French Banking Federation, Paris, 22 May 2003, 22.05.2003

  • Complete text in French: "La place financière suisse dans le contexte européen"
    PDF (62 KB)

The success of Switzerland's financial centre is due to a number of factors. Some of these – like the expertise of the employees, the quality of the infrastructure and the confidence which clients have in Swiss institutions – are specific to the banking industry. Others, however, are more general. These include the pronounced openness of the Swiss economy to international markets, the country's liberal tax regulations, and a stable political and monetary environment conducive to banking operations. Although these factors still give the Swiss financial centre a number of comparative advantages, the situation in the banking sector is evolving rapidly. The Swiss banks are having continually to adapt themselves to this changing environment by exhibiting flexibility and an innovative spirit.

Four trends would appear to be particularly important to the future of the financial centres, both in Switzerland and around the world: fiercer global competition, lower revenues from financial operations, a loss of public confidence in companies' financial reporting and governance, and the mounting risks of financial crime. The Swiss financial centre has launched various initiatives to address these challenges. Its efforts are focused mainly on cost management, transparency of procedures, and measures to combat funds of dubious origin.

The launch of the euro has also been an event of major importance for the Swiss financial centre and for the economy as a whole. Since 1999, the co-existence of the Swiss franc and the euro has by and large been harmonious, and the single European currency has assumed a stabilising role on the international scene. Although the franc has appreciated, this tendency largely reflects the development of the Swiss economy's fundamentals. In these circumstances, the SNB will continue to pursue an independent monetary policy that also takes due account of exchange rate shifts.

Imprimer

La place financière suisse dans le contexte européen

Fédération bancaire française, Paris, le 22 mai 2003, 22.05.2003

  • Texte intégral
    (62 KB)

Le succès de la place financière suisse repose sur plusieurs facteurs. Certains sont spécifiques à l'industrie bancaire comme le savoir-faire des collaborateurs, la qualité des infrastructures et la confiance qu'ont les clients dans les établissements helvétiques; d'autres sont plus généraux comme l'ouverture importante de l'économie suisse sur le monde, la fiscalité modérée et l'environnement politique et monétaire stable dans lequel évoluent les banques. Ces facteurs procurent aujourd'hui encore un certain avantage comparatif à la place helvétique, mais la situation du secteur bancaire évolue rapidement et les banques suisses doivent constamment faire preuve de flexibilité et d'esprit innovateur pour s'adapter aux changements.

Quatre tendances semblent particulièrement importantes pour le futur des places financières suisse et internationales: la concurrence globale accrue, la baisse des revenus liés aux opérations financières, la perte de confiance du public dans les états financiers et la gouvernance des entreprises et la montée des risques de délits financiers. La place financière helvétique a pris de nombreuses initiatives pour répondre à ces défis. Ses efforts se portent avant tout sur la maîtrise des coûts, sur la transparence des procédures et sur la lutte contre les fonds d'origine douteuse.

L'introduction de l'euro a également été un événement important pour la place financière suisse et pour l'économie du pays en général. Depuis 1999, la cohabitation entre le franc et l'euro a été plutôt harmonieuse et la monnaie européenne a joué un rôle stabilisateur sur la scène internationale. Le franc s'est certes apprécié mais cette tendance est en grande partie le reflet l'évolution des fondamentaux de l'économie helvétique. Dans ces conditions, la BNS continuera de mener une politique monétaire indépendante, tout en tenant compte de l'évolution du taux de change dans ses choix.