Print

Summary of a speech delivered by the President of the Bank Council to the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank

Annual General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, 25 April 2003, 25.04.2003

  • Complete text in German: "Eröffnungsansprache an der Generalversammlung"
    PDF (43 KB)
  • Complete text in French: "Assemblée générale des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse du 25 avril 2003"
    PDF (45 KB)
The President of the Bank Council of the Swiss National Bank, Hansueli Raggenbass, commented the central bank's financial statements for 2002 at the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders. In his statement, he dealt in detail with the free assets (the gold no longer needed for monetary policy purposes including the proceeds from the sale of gold); he also elaborated on corporate governance and the revision of the National Bank Law.
The financial statements for 2002 reflect once again the considerable gold price, exchange rate and interest rate risks that the Bank faces. The National Bank depends on adequate currency reserves, which can only fulfil their function satisfactorily if they are not hedged on the market. Due to these risks, the central bank does not distribute its entire earnings surplus; it sets aside provisions and augments these in line with the average growth of nominal gross domestic product.
The free assets including the income from the invested proceeds from gold sales amounted to Sfr 21 billion at the end of last year. If no gold had been sold in the past three years, total free assets as at the end of 2002 would have been Sfr 1.1 billion lower.
In the course of the revision of the National Bank Law now under way corporate governance is to be strengthened at the National Bank since confidence in the monetary institution is of considerable social significance. The proposed new structure of the National Bank is aimed at establishing more efficient and more professional supervision with stringent checks and balances. The Bank Committee will be dissolved and the Bank Council streamlined and strengthened.

Imprimer

Assemblée générale des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse du 25 avril 2003

Allocution d'ouverture à l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse du 25 avril 2003, 25.04.2003

  • Texte intégral
    (45 KB)

Dans son allocution d'ouverture à l'Assemblée générale, le président du Conseil de banque commente les comptes annuels pour 2002 de l'institut d'émission et l'évolution des actifs libres (l'or qui n'est plus nécessaire à des fins monétaires, dont une partie a déjà été vendue); il aborde également des questions afférentes au gouvernement d'entreprise et à la révision de la loi sur la Banque nationale.

Les comptes de l'exercice 2002 montrent bien, eux aussi, les risques considérables auxquels l'institut d'émission est exposé du fait de l'évolution du prix de l'or, des cours de change et des taux d'intérêt. La Banque nationale doit détenir des réserves monétaires suffisantes, et ces réserves ne peuvent vraiment remplir leur rôle que si elles ne sont pas couvertes, par des opérations à terme, contre les risques. Du fait de ces risques, la Banque nationale ne distribue pas la totalité de son excédent de recettes, mais constitue des provisions et les relève au même rythme que la croissance du produit intérieur brut nominal.

Les actifs libres – y compris les revenus tirés du placement du produit des ventes d'or – atteignaient 21 milliards de francs à fin 2002. Si la Banque n'avait procédé à aucune vente d'or ces dernières années, la valeur totale des actifs libres aurait été inférieure de 1,1 milliard de francs à ce qu'elle était à fin 2002.

La confiance dans la monnaie revêt une grande importance pour la société dans son ensemble. C'est une des raisons pour lesquelles le gouvernement d'entreprise sera renforcé à l'institut d'émission à la faveur de la révision de la loi sur la Banque nationale. La nouvelle organisation, telle qu'elle ressort du projet de loi, vise une surveillance plus efficace et plus professionnelle, avec un bon équilibre entre les divers organes. Le Comité de banque sera supprimé, et le Conseil de banque comptera moins de membres, mais aura davantage d'attributions.