Print

Monetary policy in difficult times

Business Club Geneva, Geneva, 11 February 2003, 11.02.2003

  • Complete text in French: "La politique de la Banque nationale suisse en période difficile"
    PDF (44 KB)

2002 proved to be a disappointing year for the economy. The correction of previous imbalances (stock market bubble, accounting irregularities, overinvestment) has apparently had a stronger and longer lasting effect than anticipated. Global economic growth is weak, especially in the area of investments.

Owing to its specialisation in the production of capital goods and the importance of its financial sector, Switzerland is more affected by the unfavourable development than other countries. The strong franc also hampers growth. The economic recovery will be slow and remains burdened with two significant risks: firstly, the difficulties encountered by our trading partners, particularly Germany, could weigh on our export industry for a longer period than anticipated. Secondly, the geopolitical uncertainties present a danger for the franc. Should the markets behave unreasonably, the Swiss National Bank will do all in its power to make sure that Switzerland will not be excluded from an economic recovery and that inflation will not slide into the dangerous territory of negative growth rates.

A monetary policy that strives to influence real exchange rates with cyclical needs in mind or to link the franc to the euro would have more disadvantages than advantages in the current environment. Hoping to control the development of real exchange rates is wishful thinking, which will lead to a loss of control over domestic liquidity and ultimately prices. Pegging the Swiss franc to the euro would inevitably lead to higher interest rates in Switzerland. This would have negative consequences for both the economic situation and the real estate market without doing anything to secure the competitiveness of our export industry. The Swiss franc has not been destabilised vis-à-vis the euro by the global political uncertainties and the recent correction of the US dollar. This ought to inspire confidence. The role of the Swiss franc as a traditional safe haven currency is apparently not quite as pronounced as is often implied.

Imprimer

La politique de la Banque nationale suisse en période difficile

Business Club de Genève, Genève, le 11 février 2003, 11.02.2003

  • Texte intégral
    (44 KB)

L'année 2002 a été décevante sur le plan conjoncturel. Vraisemblablement la correction des déséquilibres antérieurs (bulle boursière, malversations comptables, surinvestissement) exerce des effets plus puissants et durables que prévus. La croissance de l'économie mondiale est faible, particulièrement dans le domaine de l'investissement.

La Suisse, du fait de sa spécialisation dans la production de biens d'équipement, du fait aussi de l'importance de son secteur financier est plus touchée que d'autres pays. La force du franc contribue également à freiner sa croissance. La reprise économique y sera lente et reste grevée de deux risques importants: les difficultés rencontrées par nos partenaires commerciaux, particulièrement l'Allemagne, pourraient peser plus longtemps que prévu sur nos exportations et les incertitudes géopolitiques actuelles sont une menace pour le franc. En cas de réaction déraisonnée des marchés, la Banque nationale engagera tous ses moyens pour éviter que l'économie suisse soit exclue du mouvement de reprise et que la hausse des prix glisse vers la zone dangereuse des chiffres négatifs.

Dans la situation actuelle une politique monétaire qui voudrait influencer le taux de change réel en fonction des besoins de la conjoncture ou lier le franc à l'euro comporterait plus d'inconvénients que d'avantages. Espérer contrôler le taux de change mesuré en terme réel est une illusion qui conduit à une perte du contrôle de la liquidité intérieure, puis des prix. Un pegging provoquerait immanquablement une hausse des taux d'intérêt en Suisse, avec des conséquences négatives pour la conjoncture comme pour l'immobilier, sans toutefois pouvoir garantir la compétitivité de notre industrie d'exportation. Le fait que le marché du franc face à l'euro n'ait pas été déstabilisé par les incertitudes politiques internationales et par la récente correction du dollar américain doit nous inciter à la confiance. Manifestement, le rôle de monnaie refuge que l'on attribue traditionnellement à notre monnaie est moins accusé que ce que l'on prétend souvent.