Print

Profit and build-up of reserves as aims of the Swiss National Bank

Discussion group «Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft» (Business and Society), Basel, 4 December 2002, 04.12.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Gewinn und Reservenbildung als Ziele der Schweizerischen Nationalbank"
    PDF (43 KB)

The profits and reserves of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) have been increasingly at the centre of public attention in recent weeks and months. This must be seen against the background of the National Bank's favourable financial situation, on the one hand, and the financial constraints at the level of the Confederation and the cantons, on the other hand. Aside from the expediency from a fiscal point of view, the questions raised touch on the core of the National Bank's mandate. This is the conduct of a monetary policy that serves the interests of the country as a whole.

Currency reserves may be used by a central bank for interventions in the foreign exchange market. They serve to ward off speculative attacks with inflationary effects. Currency reserves, however, also form part of the national assets. They help to establish a country's reputation as economically sound. They are of great value in emergencies. Moreover, the central bank must have a sufficiently large portfolio of securities eligible for repo transactions or other securities eligible for open-market transactions permitting it to siphon off liquidity in order to ensure price stability.

It is impossible to establish a scientifically accurate optimum level of currency reserves due to the associated uncertainties. The draft of the new National Bank Law contains two main provisions that ensure an optimum development of the currency reserves. First, the level of currency reserves must be approved by the Bank Council, and, second, the National Bank is obliged to orient itself "to the development of the Swiss economy" in building up currency reserves. Under the revised law, the Bank Council must therefore ensure that the National Bank does not set aside more provisions than required for building up adequate currency reserves.

Achieving profits is one of the indisputably welcome side effects of the central bank's activity, however only in so far as this does not threaten its core mandate.

Imprimer

Bénéfices et réserves monétaires en tant qu'objectifs de la Banque nationale suisse

«Gesprächskreis Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft», Bâle, le 4 décembre 2002, 04.12.2002

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Gewinn und Reservenbildung als Ziele der Schweizerischen Nationalbank"
    PDF (43 KB)

Les bénéfices et les réserves monétaires de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) retiennent davantage l'attention de l'opinion publique depuis un certain temps. Cela s'explique par la bonne situation économique de la Banque nationale, mais aussi par des problèmes financiers passagers sur le plan fédéral et sur les plans cantonaux. Les questions soulevées touchent, outre le problème de l'opportunité du point de vue budgétaire, l'élément central du mandat de la Banque nationale, à savoir la conduite d'une politique monétaire servant les intérêts généraux du pays.

Une banque centrale peut recourir aux réserves monétaires pour procéder à des interventions sur les marchés des changes. Ces réserves servent à contrecarrer des attaques spéculatives à effets inflationnistes. Mais elles font également partie intégrante du patrimoine national et contribuent à la solidité de l'économie d'un pays. En outre, elles rendent de précieux services dans des situations de crise. D'autre part, pour être en mesure d'absorber des liquidités en vue d'assurer la stabilité des prix, l'institut d'émission doit détenir un portefeuille suffisamment important de titres pouvant être mis en pension ou d'autres titres pouvant être utilisés dans des opérations d'open market.

Le niveau optimal des réserves monétaires ne peut être défini scientifiquement, étant donné les incertitudes qui leur sont liées. Dans le projet de nouvelle loi sur la Banque nationale, deux règles surtout assurent une évolution optimale des réserves monétaires. Premièrement, le niveau des réserves monétaires doit être approuvé par le Conseil de banque et, secondement, la Banque nationale doit, en constituant des réserves monétaires, se fonder sur "l’évolution de l’économie suisse". Ainsi, dans le projet de nouvelle loi, le Conseil de banque doit veiller à ce que la Banque nationale ne constitue pas des provisions dans une mesure supérieure à ce qui est nécessaire pour constituer des réserves monétaires suffisantes.

Réaliser des bénéfices figure parmi les effets secondaires bienvenus qui découlent de l'activité de l'institut d'émission, mais cela ne doit menacer en aucune façon le mandat de celui-ci.