Print

The Swiss National Bank in the Service of the Economy

Regionale Wirtschaftsförderung des Kantons Luzern (Regional Economic Development Organisation of the Canton of Lucerne), 10 September 2002, 10.09.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Die Nationalbank im Dienste der Wirtschaft"
    PDF (54 KB)

The National Bank serves the economy and society by pursuing price stability as its primary goal. However, it does not lose sight of the economic situation in general and exchange rates in particular. Given the time lag with which monetary policy takes hold and the considerable influence of the global economy, the National Bank's scope of action has its limits.

The economy's peaks and valleys in recent years illustrate quite well how central banks serve the economy. The National Bank first reacted to an accelerated slowdown in growth and subsequently to the rapid and marked increase in the weighted external value of the Swiss franc. Finally, it took steps to counter the delayed economic recovery.

We expect the economic outlook to brighten slowly but steadily in the time to come. In spite of the existing risks, especially with regard to the global economic picture, we have every reason to recognise the opportunities. In today's climate, excessive pessimism and scepticism are just as ill advised as were the unrestrained euphoria and optimism of the recent past.

Imprimer

La Banque nationale suisse au service de l'économie

Regionale Wirtschaftsförderung des Kantons Luzern, Lucerne, le 10 septembre 2002, 10.09.2002

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Die Nationalbank im Dienste der Wirtschaft"
    PDF (54 KB)

La Banque nationale se met au service de l'économie et de la société en poursuivant en premier lieu un objectif de stabilité des prix. Ce faisant, elle ne perd pas de vue la conjoncture, en général, et les cours de change, en particulier. Les possibilités dont elle dispose pour agir sont toutefois limitées par l'effet différé de sa politique monétaire et l'influence non négligeable qu'exerce l'économie mondiale.

L'évolution mouvementée de la conjoncture ces dernières années a bien montré quels services les instituts d'émission rendent à l'économie. La Banque nationale a réagi d'abord à un affaiblissement de plus en plus prononcé de la croissance, puis à une hausse rapide et forte de la valeur extérieure pondérée du franc et, finalement, à une reprise différée de la conjoncture.

En ce qui concerne l'évolution future, nous nous attendons à une amélioration lente mais constante de la conjoncture. Malgré les risques, notamment ceux qui sont liés à l'économie mondiale, il y a de bonnes raisons de ne pas galvauder les chances qui se présentent. Aujourd'hui, être exagérément pessimiste et sceptique est tout autant déplacé que, hier, avoir fait preuve d'exubérance et d'optimisme outrancier.