Print

Swiss capital market: current topics

Annual General Meeting of the Pfandbriefbank Schweizerischer Hypothekarinstitute, St Gallen, 15 May 2002, 15.05.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Kapitalmarkt Schweiz: Aktuelle Themen"
    PDF (91 KB)

If one takes a snapshot of Switzerland as an international financial centre, including the capital market, there is hardly anything to criticise. The banking system is robust. While the market for Swiss franc bonds has lost significance internationally, it continues to be attractive. The money market, by contrast, has gained in stature. The foreign exchange market remains important. The Swiss stock exchange is exemplary on a technical level and superbly networked internationally. The other parts of the financial market infrastructure, especially the payment system, have model character as well.

If one analyses the development of the capital market over the longer term, however, it becomes apparent that there are also some weaknesses. The Swiss franc has lost weight as a borrowing currency in the international bond market, even though the interest rate bonus has been maintained. Notwithstanding its technical competence, the Swiss stock exchange is increasingly facing stiffer competition. Investors are beginning to express reservations about corporate governance in Switzerland as well. However, these and other critical observations are always complemented by positive reports. The stock exchange has issued guidelines regarding the transparency of listed companies. These guidelines spell out in greater detail an important point of the comprehensive Swiss Code of Best Practice on corporate governance, which was recently adopted by economiesuisse, the Swiss Business Federation.

While the Swiss Value Chain, a concept which refers to Switzerland's outstanding financial market infrastructure in its entirety, does show centrifugal tendencies here and there, we can assume that the parties responsible will meet the challenges that lie ahead – there is evidence to this effect – albeit not necessarily solely within the framework of the current jointly operated organisations. The fact that the significance of the Swiss franc as an international borrowing currency is on the decline does not so much reflect the specific weaknesses of the Swiss capital market as a normalisation of the situation on the foreign capital markets – which is positive as such. The role of Swiss franc denominated international bonds will not converge toward zero for the sole reason that the Swiss franc will remain an exceptionally solid currency and the interest rate bonus is thus very likely to be maintained as well.

Refinancing poses a tremendous challenge for many banks. In addition to the current instruments, different alternatives are available, be it in the form of a more efficient asset and liabilities management, increased securitisation and – last but not least – in the form of vehicles that also give smaller banks access to the capital market. Finally, it must be pointed out that Switzerland cannot afford a failure of its international financial centre, including the capital market. However, it is not a question of maintaining the structure, but of boosting its competitiveness.

The contribution of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) primarily consists in maintaining monetary stability. This is a key component of the conditions that must be met in order for prosperity in Switzerland to adequately progress further. Moreover, the SNB bears part of the responsibility for the stability of the financial system and contributes to its appropriate further development.

Imprimer

Marché suisse des capitaux: thèmes d'actualité

Assembléé générale de la Banque des Lettres de Gage d'Etablissements suisses de Crédit hypothecaire, Saint-Gall, le 15 mai 2002, 15.05.2002

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Kapitalmarkt Schweiz: Aktuelle Themen"
    PDF (91 KB)

Sur la place financière suisse, y compris le marché des capitaux, il n'y a de prime abord guère d'éléments qui prêtent le flanc à la critique. Le système bancaire est robuste. Le marché des obligations en francs suisses, qui a certes marqué un déclin sur le plan international, reste néanmoins attrayant. Le marché monétaire quant à lui a gagné en importance. Le marché des changes joue toujours un rôle non négligeable. La Bourse suisse est exemplaire du point de vue technique et bénéficie d'une excellente connexion au réseau international. Les autres composantes de l'infrastructure du marché financier, en particulier le trafic des paiements, peuvent également servir de modèles.

Une observation sur une plus longue période de l'évolution du marché des capitaux montre toutefois quelques insuffisances. Le franc suisse en tant que monnaie d'endettement est moins prisé qu'autrefois dans les émissions internationales, bien que l'écart entre les taux d'intérêt étrangers et suisses subsiste. Même si elle dispose de compétences techniques élevées, la Bourse suisse est exposée à une concurrence toujours plus âpre. De surcroît, les investisseurs manifestent, en Suisse comme ailleurs, une circonspection croissante à l'égard du gouvernement d'entreprise. On peut cependant toujours compléter ces constatations et d'autres observations critiques par des aspects positifs. En édictant des directives relatives à la transparence des sociétés cotées, la Bourse a concrétisé un point essentiel du "Swiss Code of Best Practice", un ensemble de lignes de conduite qui portent sur le gouvernement d'entreprise et qui ont été adoptées récemment par economiesuisse.

La "Swiss Value Chain" - ce terme recouvre l'ensemble de l'infrastructure exemplaire du marché financier en Suisse - reflète certes quelques tendances centrifuges isolées, mais il faut s'attendre à ce que les responsables relèvent les défis, même s'ils ne le feront pas toujours dans le cadre des actuelles organisations gérées en commun. Plusieurs faits étayent cette affirmation. Le déclin du franc suisse en tant que monnaie d'endettement sur le plan international traduit non pas en premier lieu une faiblesse spécifique du marché suisse des capitaux, mais plutôt une normalisation, en principe réjouissante, des conditions observées sur les marchés étrangers des capitaux. Les emprunts internationaux libellés en francs suisses n'auront pas tendance à disparaître pour la simple raison que le franc suisse continuera à bénéficier d'une fermeté supérieure à la moyenne, ce qui permettra de maintenir un écart entre les taux d'intérêt étrangers et suisses.

Le refinancement représente un défi majeur pour un grand nombre de banques. Il existe, en plus des instruments traditionnels, des solutions de rechange allant d'une gestion plus efficace des avoirs et des engagements à une titrisation renforcée, sans oublier les moyens qui offrent la possibilité également aux banques plus petites d'accéder au marché des capitaux. Enfin, la Suisse ne peut se permettre aucun échec de sa place financière, marché des capitaux compris. Il s'agit toutefois non pas de préserver les structures, mais de promouvoir la compétitivité.

A cet égard, la contribution de la Banque nationale consiste d'abord à assurer la stabilité du pouvoir d'achat de la monnaie. Cette stabilité est l'une des principales conditions-cadres devant être remplies pour rendre possible un développement approprié de la prospérité en Suisse. Par ailleurs, la Banque nationale assume une part de responsabilité dans la stabilité du système financier et contribue à la croissance raisonnable de celui-ci.