Print

Summary of a speech delivered by the President of the Bank Council

Annual General Meeting of Shareholders, 26 April 2002, 26.04.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Präsidialansprache an der Generalversammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank"
    PDF (37 KB)
  • Complete text in French: "Allocution d'ouverture à l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires"
    PDF (38 KB)
At the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders, the retiring president of the Bank Council of the Swiss National Bank, Eduard Belser, elaborates on the central bank's annual accounts for 2001 and the new profit distribution agreement with the Confederation. Furthermore, he presents the Study Centre Gerzensee and discusses issues of international cooperation.
The business activity of the Swiss National Bank took its normal course in the past year. Aggregate income for 2001 amounted to Sfr 4.1 billion. At Sfr 425 million, ordinary expenditure fell considerably short of the previous year's level (Sfr 565 million).
In conformity with the new profit distribution agreement between the Federal Department of Finance and the SNB, annual profit distribution is to be increased in future from currently Sfr 1.5 billion to Sfr 2.5 billion. The new agreement is valid for a period of ten years, with the Confederation and the cantons already receiving a higher distribution as from spring 2003. At the end of this period, the distribution will be limited to the amount of earnings actually achieved.
The Study Centre Gerzensee, a foundation of the National Bank, was inaugurated in 1986. The main task of the Study Centre is to provide training courses for central bank staff from all over the world, notably from developing and emerging countries.
Aside from maintaining multilateral international relations with the central banks of major industrial countries, the National Bank concentrates on establishing close relations with the central banks of the group of countries with which Switzerland cooperates in the International Monetary Fund. The SNB currently grants technical aid primarily to the central banks of the countries of Central Asia.

Imprimer

Allocution d'ouverture à l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires

Assemblée générale des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse du 26 avril 2002, 26.04.2002

  • Texte intégral
    (38 KB)

Lors de l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires, le président sortant du Conseil de banque de la Banque nationale suisse, M. Eduard Belser, a commenté les comptes pour 2001 de l'institut d'émission et la nouvelle convention sur la distribution des bénéfices, présenté le Centre d'études de Gerzensee et exposé quelques aspects de la collaboration internationale.

L'activité de la Banque nationale suisse s'est déroulée normalement en 2001. L'exercice a permis de dégager un résultat global de 4,1 milliards de francs. Les charges ordinaires ont nettement reculé, passant de 565 millions en 2000 à 425 millions de francs l'année suivante.

Selon la nouvelle convention passée entre le Département fédéral des finances et la Banque nationale au sujet de la distribution des bénéfices, le montant distribué sera de 2,5 milliards de francs par année, contre 1,5 milliard aujourd'hui. Ladite convention est prévue pour une période de dix ans. La Confédération et les cantons recevront, au printemps 2003 déjà, la somme accrue. A l'issue de cette période de dix ans, les montants versés ne dépasseront pas la capacité bénéficiaire qu'aura alors la Banque nationale.

Le Centre d'études de Gerzensee, une fondation de la Banque nationale, a ouvert ses portes en 1986. Le Centre d'études a pour tâche essentielle de former des collaboratrices et collaborateurs de banques centrales du monde entier, en particulier des pays en développement et des économies émergentes.

En plus de ses relations multiples avec les banques centrales d'importants pays industrialisés, la Banque nationale s'emploie à entretenir des liens étroits avec les instituts d'émission des pays avec lesquels la Suisse collabore au sein du Fonds monétaire international. Actuellement, la Banque nationale fournit une assistance technique avant tout aux banques centrales de pays d'Asie centrale.