Print

What can the National Bank do for the economy?

Zürcher Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft, Zurich, 10 April 2002, 10.04.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Was kann die Schweizerische Nationalbank für die Wirtschaft tun?"
    PDF (32 KB)

From the realisation that monetary policy can have a long-term impact only on the development of the price level, and not on the real growth of the economy, follows that price stability must be the primary goal. The National Bank defines price stability as annual inflation of less than 2%, measured by the national consumer price index. If the National Bank succeeds in keeping price stability within this range, it makes it easier for companies and households to anchor their inflation expectations, and it protects the national economy from the costs of inflation.

In its inflation forecast, the National Bank takes the exchange rate into account. Since the exchange rate influences the course of inflation, and the National Bank sets the short-term interest rate in such a manner as to keep forecast inflation within the target range in the medium term, the exchange rate also has a bearing on the monetary policy of the National Bank. Moreover, the National Bank reserves the right to shift the interest rate within the target range in times of exchange rate fluctuations. It made use of this flexibility in the week before Easter when it lowered the repo rate, thus initiating a downward shift of the three-month Libor rate to the lower end of the interest rate target range, which was confirmed at the Bank's assessment of the situation on 21 March 2002 (1.25%-2.25%).

However, the possibilities of the National Bank to influence the exchange rate are limited. It can bring about a sustained change in the nominal exchange rate only if it changes the markets' expectations about its monetary policy stance. These expectations are ultimately determined by the National Bank's goal to keep medium-term inflation below 2%. Should the National Bank want to lower the nominal exchange rate sustainedly, it would thus have to abandon this goal and introduce an expansionary monetary policy, which would boost inflation expectations.

Imprimer

Que peut faire la Banque nationale pour l'économie?

Zürcher Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft, Zurich, le 10 avril 2002, 10.04.2002

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Was kann die Schweizerische Nationalbank für die Wirtschaft tun?"
    PDF (32 KB)

A long terme, constate-t-on, la politique monétaire influe sur l'évolution du niveau des prix, mais non sur la croissance réelle de l'économie. Cette constatation amène à donner la priorité à la stabilité des prix. Pour la Banque nationale, la stabilité des prix est assurée tant que le renchérissement annuel, mesuré à l'indice suisse des prix à la consommation, reste inférieur à 2%. Si la Banque nationale parvient à maintenir l'évolution des prix dans cette marge, elle permet aux entreprises et aux ménages de solidifier leurs anticipations inflationnistes et à l'économie d'éviter les coûts de l'inflation.

Dans ses prévisions d'inflation, la Banque nationale tient compte des cours de change. Comme les cours de change influent sur l'évolution du renchérissement et que la Banque nationale fixe son taux d'intérêt de référence de façon à ce que l'inflation prévue à moyen terme soit en ligne avec l'objectif de la stabilité des prix, les cours de change ont eux aussi une influence sur la politique monétaire de l'institut d'émission. En outre, la Banque nationale se réserve la possibilité, dans les périodes de turbulences sur les marchés des changes, d'adapter le taux d'intérêt à l'intérieur de la marge de fluctuation prévue. Elle a utilisé cette possibilité durant la semaine précédant Pâques; en effet, elle a réduit le taux des pensions de titres et, partant, amené le Libor à trois mois dans la partie inférieure de la marge de fluctuation, marge qu'elle avait maintenue inchangée à 1,25%-2,25% lors de l'examen de la situation du 21 mars 2002.

Les possibilités dont dispose la Banque nationale pour influer sur le cours du franc sont toutefois limitées. L'institut d'émission ne peut agir durablement sur le cours du franc en termes nominaux que si, par sa politique monétaire, il modifie les anticipations des marchés. Tant que la Banque nationale poursuit son objectif, donc s'emploie à maintenir l'inflation au-dessous de 2% à moyen terme, ces anticipations ne varient guère. Si la Banque nationale voulait faire baisser durablement le cours du franc en termes nominaux, elle devrait par conséquent abandonner son objectif de stabilité des prix et adopter une politique monétaire expansionniste qui laisserait s'accroître les anticipations inflationnistes.