Print

Swiss monetary policy in the European environment

Swiss-Austrian Chamber of Commerce, Vienna, 4 March 2002, 04.03.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Die schweizerische Geldpolitik im europäischen Umfeld"
    PDF (36 KB)

In the last thirty years, Switzerland and Austria have pursued differing monetary policy strategies. Whereas Austria fixed the schilling exchange rate, Switzerland has maintained a floating exchange rate for the franc. This enabled the Swiss National Bank to conduct an autonomous monetary policy. Why did two countries which have much in common and which both consider economic stability to be of prime importance choose to steer a different monetary policy course?

In the case of Switzerland, there were three main reasons in favour of a floating exchange rate: the role of the Swiss franc as an international investment currency, the markedly lower interest rate level compared with that in other countries and the possibility to pursue an autonomous monetary policy oriented to the specific needs of the country. From the National Bank's point of view, the chosen path best suited the needs of Switzerland. Times change, however. With increasing globalisation and also due to political decisions, the economic integration between Switzerland and Europe will continue to intensify. In addition, the more the euro establishes itself internationally as a stable currency, the more the interest differential between Switzerland and Europe might diminish. As a consequence, factors that have so far supported an autonomous policy would gradually lose importance.

At present, nothing points to such a development, however. Conducting an autonomous monetary policy with flexible exchange rates still seems to be the strategy best suited for Switzerland. If one day a change in strategy was considered, its advantages and disadvantages would have to be compared in an unbiased manner. It is certain, though, that simply pegging the franc to the euro – the way the Austrian schilling was linked to the German mark – would not be a credible solution either now or in the future. Only Switzerland's accession to the European Monetary Union, and thus to the EU, could convince the financial markets of the permanence of the Swiss franc's peg to the euro. Until today, Switzerland has not been willing to take this step.

Imprimer

La politique monétaire suisse dans l’environnement européen

Chambre de commerce suisse en Autriche, Vienne, le 4 mars 2002, 04.03.2002

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Die schweizerische Geldpolitik im europäischen Umfeld"
    PDF (36 KB)

Au cours des trente dernières années, la Suisse et l’Autriche ont adopté des stratégies différentes dans le domaine de la politique monétaire. Alors que l’Autriche fixait le cours du schilling, la Suisse a laissé flotter le franc. La Banque nationale a pu ainsi mener une politique monétaire autonome. Pour quelles raisons deux pays ayant de nombreux points communs et accordant tous deux une grande importance à la stabilité économique ont-ils suivi des voies différentes dans le domaine de la politique monétaire?

Dans le cas de la Suisse, trois motifs principalement étaient en faveur des changes flottants: L’utilisation du franc comme monnaie de placement sur le plan international, le niveau des taux d’intérêt nettement inférieur en Suisse par rapport à l’étranger ainsi que la possibilité de mener une politique monétaire autonome, axée sur les besoins spécifiques du pays. Du point de vue de la Banque nationale, la voie choisie était celle qui répondait le mieux aux besoins de la Suisse. Cependant, les temps changent. Dans le sillage de la globalisation, mais aussi de décisions de nature politique, l’interdépendance économique entre la Suisse et l’Europe continuera à croître. Eu égard au niveau de stabilité que l’euro acquerra sur le plan international, l’écart d’intérêt entre les taux suisses et les taux européens pourrait se réduire. Ainsi, des facteurs qui incitaient jusqu’à présent à opter pour une voie solitaire perdraient petit à petit de l’importance.

Toutefois, rien ne laisse entrevoir une telle évolution. Une politique monétaire autonome et des changes flottants semblent rester la meilleure stratégie pour la Suisse. Si un changement de stratégie devait un jour être envisagé, les avantages et les inconvénients d’un tel changement devraient alors être comparés en toute objectivité. Il est clair qu’un simple amarrage du franc à l’euro - tel celui, en son temps, du schilling autrichien au mark allemand - resterait une solution non crédible. Seule une adhésion à l’Union monétaire européenne et, en fin de compte, à l’UE, pourrait convaincre les marchés financiers de la durabilité du lien qui unirait le franc à l’euro. Jusqu’à ce jour, la Suisse n’a pas été disposée à faire ce pas.