Print

Wind of change in retail banking

175th Anniversary of the Savings Bank of the District of Thoune, Thoune, 21 November 2001, 21.11.2001

  • Complete text in German: "Retailbanken im Wandel"
    PDF (30 KB)

The 1990s brought far-reaching structural changes to the Swiss retail banks. Apart from one failed venture, these changes were implemented without any direct disadvantages for the customers. In 1994 the regional banks successfully took matters into their own hands and founded RBA Holding, a holding of regional banks.

A look into the future shows that the necessity for action persists. The consolidation process has severely reduced the number of competitors in several regions. Further concentration movements might have a widespread adverse impact on competition.

Small retail banks in particular must thus focus on further optimising their vertical range of products and on strictly confining their activities to those areas in which they themselves can create added value. On the other hand, sustained difficulties in the financing of credit business by traditional means have led to increased efforts being undertaken with regard to collective borrowing on the capital market.

Imprimer

Les banques de détail en mutation

175e anniversaire de l'Amtsersparniskasse Thun, Thoune, le 21 novembre 2001, 21.11.2001

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Retailbanken im Wandel"
    PDF (30 KB)

Dans les années nonante, les banques suisses de détail ont connu une période d'intenses mutations structurelles. Abstraction faite d'un cas, ces mutations ont été surmontées sans que la clientèle ait eu à en pâtir directement. En constituant un holding en 1994, les banques régionales ont franchi avec succès une étape dans leurs efforts pour s'entraider.

Une attitude prospective montre que le besoin d'agir subsiste. Le processus de consolidation a réduit sensiblement, dans plusieurs régions, le nombre des concurrents. D'autres mouvements de concentration pourraient avoir, en mains endroits, des effets indésirables sur la concurrence.

Pour les établissements bancaires, en particulier pour les petites et moyennes banques de détail, il s'agira de continuer à optimiser leur maîtrise des opérations et de se concentrer radicalement sur les activités dans lesquelles une création de valeur est possible. En outre, les difficultés persistantes auxquelles les banques se heurtent dans le financement des crédits par les voies traditionnelles les contraignent à se tourner vers des recueils collectifs de fonds sur le marché des capitaux.