Print

Globalization and the Euro: The Future Role of the Swiss National Bank

2nd International Banking Forum 2000, Zurich, 12 July 2000, 12.07.2000

  • Complete text in German: "Globalisierung und Euro: Die k├╝nftige Rolle der Schweizerischen Nationalbank"
    PDF (393 KB)

The introduction of the euro has resulted in a centralization of European monetary policy. The European Central Bank (ECB) cannot but conduct a single monetary policy for the euro area as a whole. In contrast to other forms of globalization, the transition to the euro rests on a political decision. Frequently, however, globalization is promoted by market forces. This causes unease among many people, who are afraid that globalization will hurt them. In their view, globalization limits national authorities' scope for establishing a reasonable institutional framework for the private sector. These fears are exaggerated. Globalization encourages regulatory arbitrage and therefore puts national authorities under some pressure to harmonize their economic policies with other countries. But despite globalization and the euro, national authorities still possess substantial scope for shaping the institutions governing their own economies.

This conclusion is also applicable to Swiss monetary policy. As long as Switzerland maintains a floating exchange rate, the Swiss National Bank (SNB), in principle, is able to conduct an autonomous monetary policy. However, the SNB frequently follows a similar course as the ECB or formerly the German Bundesbank, due to the similarities in the economic environment. Even so, monetary autonomy benefits Switzerland in two respects: (1) Depending on circumstances, the SNB may take into account the specific needs of the Swiss economy. (2) The SNB contributes to preserving the relatively low level of Swiss interest rates. But if the SNB follows an autonomous approach, it runs the risk of eliciting strong fluctuations in the exchange rate. Unfortunately, in the presence of globalized financial markets, there are no ready recipes for quelling such fluctuations.

The speech also deals with the effects of the euro on Swiss financial markets. To date, there have been no signs of a decrease in the role of the Swiss franc as an international investment currency. New data of the SNB suggest that at the end of 1999 the Swiss-franc share of securities portfolios held by foreign residents and managed by Swiss banks amounted to 35 percent. This share has hardly changed since the introduction of the euro. International investors therefore continue to use the Swiss franc for diversification purposes. The effects of the euro on Swiss markets for fixed-income securities and equity, by contrast, are less clear.

Imprimer

Mondialisation et euro: Le rôle futur de la Banque nationale suisse

2e Internationales Banking Forum 2000, Zurich, le 12 juillet 2000, 12.07.2000

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Globalisierung und Euro: Die künftige Rolle der Schweizerischen Nationalbank"
    PDF (393 KB)

L'introduction de l'euro a conduit à une centralisation de la politique monétaire en Europe. La Banque centrale européenne (BCE) n'a pas d'autre possibilité que de mener une politique monétaire uniforme pour l'ensemble de la zone euro. L'introduction de l'euro a reposé sur une décision politique, contrairement à d'autres formes de la mondialisation. Dans maints cas, celle-ci est stimulée par les forces du marché. Nombreux sont par conséquent ceux qui craignent que la mondialisation ne leur soit néfaste. Ils estiment qu'elle limite les possibilités dont disposent les autorités nationales pour mettre en place de bonnes conditions-cadres pour l'économie privée. Ces craintes sont excessives. La mondialisation, il est vrai, incite à faire de l'arbitrage entre les diverses règlementations et, partant, exerce une certaine contrainte sur les autorités nationales pour qu'elles harmonisent leur politique économique avec celle des autres pays. Mais, en dépit de la mondialisation et de l'euro, les autorités nationales disposent toujours d'une marge de manœuvre considérable pour l'aménagement de leurs propres conditions-cadres macroéconomiques.

Cette constatation s'applique également à la politique monétaire suisse. Tant que la Suisse laissera flotter le franc sur les marchés des changes, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) pourra en principe mener une politique monétaire autonome. Du fait cependant de la similitude de l'environnement économique, la BNS donne à sa politique monétaire un cap souvent semblable à celui de la BCE ou, précédemment, de la Banque fédérale d'Allemagne. L'autonomie de la Suisse en matière de politique monétaire est néanmoins utile à deux égards: (1) La BNS est en mesure, si les circonstances le requièrent, de tenir compte des besoins spécifiques de l'économie suisse. (2) Cette autonomie contribue à maintenir les taux d'intérêt en Suisse à un niveau relativement bas. Mener une politique monétaire autonome risque toutefois d'engendrer de fortes fluctuations des cours de change. Etant donné la mondialisation des marchés financiers, il n'y a aucune solution miracle pour empêcher de telles fluctuations.

L'exposé aborde également les répercussions de l'euro sur la place financière suisse. Rien n'indique, jusqu'à ce jour, que le franc suisse a perdu de son importance en tant que monnaie de placement. Selon des données récentes de la BNS, la part du franc suisse était de 35%, à fin 1999, dans les dépôts de titres que les banques gèrent pour le compte de la clientèle étrangère. Cette part n'a guère varié depuis l'introduction de l'euro. Le franc suisse est donc toujours utilisé par les investisseurs internationaux à des fins de diversification. En revanche, l'influence de l'euro sur le marché intérieur des titres de créance et de participation est plus difficile à déceler.