Print

The SNB's policy in the current environment

General Meeting of the Association of regional banks of the Canton of Berne, Sumiswald, 12 May 2000, 12.05.2000

  • Complete text in German: "Die SNB-Politik im heutigen Umfeld"
    PDF (24 KB)

The globalisation of the financial markets and the emergence of a single currency in Europe represent significant challenges for the policy of the Swiss National Bank. Free, cross-border financial flows are a reality, the flow of information is global, and the electronic media permit permanent arbitrage. In Europe, the unified monetary landscape has led to a new and unique situation in that Switzerland now finds itself in the heart of a currency area in which it does not participate. Even more than in the past, the markets are now in a position to penalise inappropriate or seemingly inappropriate policies by corresponding reactions.

The National Bank meets these challenges by reinforcing its efforts at transparency. This is also the thrust of innovations in the implementation of monetary policy introduced at the beginning of this year.

In striving for increased transparency we have been led to quantify the goal of price stability and to elucidate our monetary policy course by announcing a target range for the three-month interest rate. Furthermore, we regularly publish our assessment of the economic and monetary situation as well as our conclusions for monetary policy. In this way, we enable the public to understand and judge the measures introduced by us. We hope this will boost efficiency in the conduct of our policy and bring about a more rational reaction by the markets, i.e. a strengthening of our ability to take the necessary measures for maintaining price stability in Switzerland.

Up to now, our monetary experience in a global environment has been encouraging. Despite fully integrated markets and completely free financial flows, the Swiss franc's fluctuations are acceptable. The exchange rate reflects the relative development of the fundamentals of the Swiss economy. This applies in particular to the exchange rate between the Swiss franc and the euro. Fears of the effects of financial globalisation and European integration crippling Swiss monetary policy have thus not been substantiated.

Imprimer

La politique de la BNS dans l'environnement actuel

Generalversammlung des Verbandes Berner Regionalbanken, Sumiswald, le 12 mai 2000, 12.05.2000

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Die SNB-Politik im heutigen Umfeld"
    PDF (24 KB)

La globalisation des marchés financiers ainsi que l'introduction de la monnaie unique en Europe représentent un défi important pour la politique de la Banque nationale suisse. La libre circulation des capitaux est devenue réalité, le flux d'informations est global et les médias électroniques permettent un arbitrage permanent. En Europe, l'unification monétaire a conduit à une situation nouvelle et unique qui voit la Suisse se situer au coeur d'une zone monétaire dont elle ne fait pas partie. Plus que par le passé, les marchés sont aujourd'hui en mesure de sanctionner des politiques inappropriées ou perçues comme telles.

La Banque nationale relève ces défis par un effort accru de transparence. C'est dans ce sens que va la réforme du mode de conduite de la politique monétaire à laquelle elle a procédé en début d'année.

La recherche de transparence nous a conduits à chiffrer l'objectif de stabilité des prix et à concrétiser le cours de notre action par la fixation d'une bande de fluctuation pour le taux d'intérêt à trois mois. En outre, nous publions régulièrement nos éléments d'appréciation de la situation économique et monétaire et les conclusions que nous en tirons pour la politique monétaire. Nous donnons ainsi au public les moyens de juger le cours de notre action. Nous en attendons un gain d'efficacité dans la conduite de notre politique, une réaction plus rationnelle des marchés et donc un renforcement de notre capacité à prendre les mesures nécessaires à la préservation de la stabilité monétaire en Suisse.

Jusqu'à présent, nos expériences de conduite de la politique monétaire dans un environnement globalisé sont encourageantes. En dépit de marchés pleinement intégrés et d'une liberté totale des mouvements des capitaux, le franc évolue de manière ordonnée. Son cours tend à refléter l'évolution relative des éléments fondamentaux de l'économie suisse. C'est notamment le cas sur le front européen. Les craintes de voir la politique monétaire suisse être paralysée par les effets de la globalisation financière et de l'intégration monétaire européenne ne se sont donc pas concrétisées.