Print

A View from Switzerland

Swiss-American Chamber of Commerce (New York Chapter), New York, 1 October 1999, 01.10.1999

  • Complete text
    (30 KB)

The Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank, Hans Meyer, summarises Switzerland's economic situation and monetary policy. He then addresses the reform of the Swiss monetary constitution. Finally, he deals with Switzerland's role as a financial centre.

At the turn of the century, Switzerland is economically and socially in good condition. Following years of frequently painful adjustments to a changing environment, preconditions for a balanced development are favourable. The quality and scope of these adjustments bear witness to the flexibility of our economy and society. The years ahead will continue to be characterised by constant change. It is therefore important to remain vigilant. On the basis of overall economic as well as social stability, innovative power and flexibility must be preserved. In a mature society, this represents a particular challenge.

By keeping our own house in order, we also make the best possible contribution to international solidarity. In the narrower European context, our bilateral agreements with the European Union will form a good basis for cooperation in the coming years. In Europe and beyond, Switzerland traditionally has an extensive network of international relations which we shall continue to cultivate in the future. As far as these relations are of a political nature, an appropriate social consensus is necessary for doing so.

The further development of our financial centre will depend on whether we succeed in continuing to guarantee its integrity, stability and quality. This requires efforts both on an individual and on an overall economic level. A sustained commitment in both spheres will permit existing opportunities to be used.

Imprimer

Un point de vue suisse

Swiss-American Chamber of Commerce (New York Chapter), New York, le 1er octobre 1999, 01.10.1999

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "A View from Switzerland"
    PDF (30 KB)

Le président de la Direction générale de la Banque nationale, Hans Meyer, brosse un tableau succinct de la situation économique et de la politique monétaire suisses. Il commente ensuite la réforme des dispositions constitutionnelles et légales sur la monnaie en Suisse, puis se penche sur le rôle de la place financière helvétique.

Au tournant du siècle, la Suisse se trouve dans une bonne situation sur les plans économique et social. Après des années d'adaptations souvent douloureuses dans un environnement en mutation, les conditions paraissent favorables à une évolution équilibrée. La qualité et l'ampleur des adaptations entreprises montrent la souplesse dont la société et l'économie suisses savent faire preuve. Comme les prochaines années seront elles aussi caractérisées par des mutations permanentes, il est important de rester vigilant. Sur un arrière-plan de stabilité économique et sociale, la capacité d'innovation et la souplesse doivent être préservées. Il s'agit là d'un défi particulier à relever dans une société avancée.

Si nous maintenons notre propre maison en ordre, nous apportons la meilleure des contributions possibles au titre de la solidarité internationale. Dans le cadre plus étroit de l'Europe, les accords bilatéraux entre la Suisse et l'Union européenne constitueront ces prochaines années une bonne base de collaboration. En Europe mais aussi au-delà, la Suisse dispose traditionnellement d'un vaste réseau de relations que nous devons continuer à entretenir. A cette fin, un large consensus est nécessaire au sein de la société, ces relations étant de nature politique.

L'évolution de la place financière suisse dépendra de notre aptitude à maintenir l'intégrité, la stabilité et la qualité de cette place. Cela exige des efforts aux niveaux aussi bien individuel que macroéconomique. Un engagement durable sur ces deux plans permettra de tirer parti des opportunités existantes.