Print

International Monetary Developments

Edinburgh Finance & Investment Seminar, Glasgow Discussion Group on Finance & Investment, Edinburgh, 22 June 1999, 22.06.1999

  • Complete text
    (21 KB)

Reasonably stable currency relations are a decisive precondition for successful economic cooperation beyond one's own borders. Such relations are ultimately the result of a sustained convergence of solid economic policies implemented by individual countries. Unfortunately, the push toward globalisation often clouds the perception that at least for the foreseeable future, each country must take responsibility for its own actions and failures to act.

With a view to implementing the intentions contained in the Bretton Woods agreements, the International Monetary Fund is assigned the task of promoting international monetary cooperation. Since its inception, the IMF has had to strike a balance between stressing the self-reliance of individual countries and a readiness to facilitate adjustment processes. Experience has shown that institutional regulations are a necessary, but insufficient requirement for success. Outside help is indispensable in many cases. Such assistance can, however, only be effective if it is provided in the form of help towards self-help.

If the difficult circumstances in which the International Monetary Fund has to perform its task are taken into account, its activity can be rated as mainly positive. The institution's mandate and self-image have changed in line with the changing environment in the course of time. That will also be the case in the future.

It is essential to recognise that a sustained economic development is only possible on the basis of social and economic stability. First and foremost, however, individual countries themselves bear the responsibility for creating this stability. In so doing, they ultimately make the best contribution toward international cooperation.

Imprimer

Les relations monétaires internationales

Edinburgh Finance & Investment Seminar, Glasgow Discussion Group on Finance & Investment, Edinburgh, le 22 juin 1999, 22.06.1999

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "International Monetary Developments"
    PDF (21 KB)

Des relations de change suffisamment stables sont une condition essentielle à remplir pour assurer le succès de la coopération économique internationale. Pour établir de telles relations de change, il faut que les Etats mènent des politiques économiques solides et durablement convergentes. L'irrésistible attrait de la mondialisation fait malheureusement systématiquement oublier que, dans un avenir prévisible, chaque Etat porte la responsabilité de ses actes.

Le Fonds monétaire international a pour tâche de promouvoir la coopération monétaire entre les Etats afin de réaliser les objectifs définis dans les accords de Bretton Woods. Depuis sa fondation, il est tiraillé entre, d'une part, mettre l'accent sur la responsabilité incombant à chaque Etat et, d'autre part, faciliter par son aide les processus d'ajustement. L'expérience a montré que pour conduire au succès, il faut des règles institutionnelles, mais celles-ci ne suffisent pas. Dans de nombreux cas, une aide venant de l'extérieur est indispensable. Cette aide ne peut être efficace que si elle est conçue pour permettre aux bénéficiaires de s'en sortir par eux-mêmes.

Compte tenu du contexte difficile dans lequel le Fonds monétaire international doit agir, son activité peut être qualifiée de globalement positive. Le mandat de l'institution et l'interprétation qu'on en donne ont évolué au fil du temps pour s'adapter à un monde en mutation. Il en ira de même à l'avenir.

Force est de constater qu'il ne peut y avoir d'essor économique durable sans un cadre économique et social stable. Il appartient en premier lieu aux différents Etats de créer ce cadre-là. C'est la meilleure contribution qu'ils puissent fournir à la coopération internationale.