Print

The euro: a first assessment

Annual General Meeting of the Chamber of Industry and Trade of the Canton of Jura, Saignelégier, 18 May 1999, 18.05.1999

  • Complete text in French: "L'euro: premières évaluations"
    PDF (28 KB)

The launch of the euro proceeded without a hitch. The markets remained calm, and the exchange rate of the Swiss franc against the euro showed a remarkably steady development.

The initial euphoria was dampened somewhat when the euro weakened against the dollar and by the public debate on the interest rate policy of the European Central Bank (ECB).

Lately, the situation has stabilised. The euro/dollar exchange rate has adjusted to the diverging economic prospects on both sides of the Atlantic, and the recent lowering of European interest rates has silenced speculation concerning the policy of the ECB.

From the Swiss point of view, the experience with the euro has so far been positive. The single currency is increasingly being used as an accounting unit. So long as the euro is, however, not used as a payment instrument by the public at large, there will be no conspicuous developments in this field. The euro seems to be gaining ground in Switzerland at the same leisurely pace as in the countries of the European Union.

The positive experience of the past few months strengthens our confidence that the relation between the Swiss franc and the euro will also remain stable in future. Underlying economic factors in the respective countries for the time being play a significant role. The extremely convergent economic policy pursued by Switzerland and its neighbours is the best guarantee for maintaining relative stability.

Nevertheless, after only a few months' experience with the new currency it is still too soon to draw final conclusions. Conducting monetary policy in the European Union is a delicate undertaking given the regional economic disparities. Markets and politicians are continuing to follow the activities of the ECB with a critical eye.

Under these circumstances, however, allround vigilence is of the essence; Swiss enterprises should not harbour the illusion that an exchange rate risk between the Swiss franc and the euro no longer exists. And as far as the National Bank is concerned, the imponderables characterising the European environment remain an important element in assessing the situation.

Imprimer

L'euro: premières évaluations

Assemblée générale de la Chambre de Commerce et d'Industrie du Jura, Saignelégier, le 18 mai 1999, 18.05.1999

  • Texte intégral
    (28 KB)

L'introduction de l'euro s'est déroulée en douceur. Les marchés sont demeurés calmes, la relation entre le franc et l'euro a fait preuve d'une remarquable stabilité.

L'euphorie initiale a quelque peu été atténuée par la baisse de l'euro face au dollar et par le débat public sur la politique des taux d'intérêt de la BCE.

Les choses se sont maintenant stabilisées. La relation entre l'euro et le dollar s'est adaptée aux perspectives économiques différentes de part et d'autre de l'Atlantique et la récente baisse des taux européens a mis un terme aux spéculations sur la politique de la BCE.

D'un point de vue suisse, les premières expériences avec l'euro sont positives. La monnaie unique commence à être utilisée comme unité de compte. Les développements dans ce domaine seront peu marqués tant que l'euro ne sera pas un moyen de paiement utilisé par le grand public. L'utilisation de l'euro en Suisse semble se développer au même rythme lent que dans les pays de l'Euroland eux-mêmes.

L'expérience positive de ces derniers mois contribue à renforcer notre confiance dans la stabilité future de la relation entre le franc et l'euro. A cet égard, ce sont d'abord les éléments fondamentaux des économies concernées qui joueront un rôle essentiel. La large convergence des situations et des perspectives économiques entre la Suisse et ses voisins est la meilleure garantie du maintien d'une situation de relative stabilité.

L'expérience de quelques mois est toutefois trop courte pour tirer des conclusions définitives. La conduite de la politique monétaire dans la zone euro est une entreprise délicate en raison des différences économiques régionales et l'action de la BCE reste sous l'attention critique des marchés et de la politique.

Dans ces conditions, la vigilance s'impose à tous niveaux. Au niveau des entreprises, qui doivent se garder de l'illusion que le risque de change entre le franc et l'euro a maintenant disparu. Au niveau de la Banque nationale, évidemment, pour qui l'incertitude de l'environnement européen reste une composante importante de son appréciation de situation.