Print

The Swiss Franc within an Euro Environment

12th European Finance Convention and the Euro Week, Vienna, November 23, 1998, 23.11.1998

  • Complete text
    (24 KB)

In a few weeks, the historic step of introducing the European Monetary Union will create a new environment for monetary policy in Europe. The participating countries will be affected, but also the countries remaining outside.

In Switzerland, we see the appearance of the euro as a unique chance for Europe to promote monetary stability. A more stable monetary regime will be beneficial to everybody and will promote transparency and efficiency. We expect the Swiss franc to play a less important role as a transaction currency and the euro to be accepted as a means of payment within our country.

Being a revolution, the introduction of the euro will be a source of uncertainty. But, as soon as the European Central Bank will be well established, we will have a good chance of seeing lower exchange rate volatility and lower interest rate differential between the franc and the euro. In the long run, given the strong correlation of economic fundamentals between Euroland and Switzerland, the foreign exchange market will consider the euro and the Swiss franc as two sister currencies.

Imprimer

The Swiss Franc within an Euro Environment

12e Convention européenne de finance et la semaine de l'euro, Vienne, le 23 novembre 1998, 23.11.1998

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "The Swiss Franc within an Euro Environment"
    PDF (24 KB)

Dans quelques semaines, une étape historique sera franchie avec la réalisation de l'Union monétaire européenne, qui donnera un cadre nouveau à la politique monétaire en Europe. Les pays participant à l'Union monétaire ne seront pas les seuls à être concernés; ceux qui resteront en dehors de la zone euro le seront également.

Vu de la Suisse, le passage à l'euro est considéré comme une occasion unique de promouvoir en Europe la stabilité monétaire. Un régime monétaire plus stable présentera des avantages pour tous et contribuera à accroître la transparence et l'efficacité. Nous sommes d'avis que le franc suisse jouera un rôle moins important en tant que monnaie de transaction et que l'euro sera accepté comme moyen de paiement dans notre pays.

Véritable révolution, l'introduction de l'euro sera aussi une source d'incertitudes. Dès que la Banque centrale européenne sera pleinement opérationnelle, les cours de change devraient devenir moins volatils et l'écart d'intérêt entre le franc et l'euro se réduire. A long terme, étant donné la corrélation étroite des principaux indicateurs économiques entre la zone euro et la Suisse, les marchés des changes étrangers considéreront l'euro et le franc suisse comme deux monnaies soeurs.