Print

Franc suisse: monnaie européenne

20th anniversary of the Fondation Jean Monnet pour l'Europe, Dorigny, 20 November 1998, 20.11.1998

  • Complete text in French: "Franc suisse: monnaie européenne"
    PDF (45 KB)

The building of Europe is a significant development in post-war European history. The European Monetary Union will be one of the most momentous steps in this process since it marks an irreversible aspect of the concept in more ways than one. Equipped with a single currency and responsible for maintaining overall financial stability as a common task, Europe is about to enter a new phase in its history.

The single currency will mean a veritable revolution for Europe. The economy will be affected on all levels: ordinary citizens, since the national currencies will disappear; enterprises, since they will operate in a new environment of stability and transparency; and, finally, the authorities, since they will manage common affairs in a field in which the different national characteristics will nevertheless remain important.

In Switzerland, the launch of the euro will bring a profound change of environment. For the first time in our history, we will be surrounded by a unified monetary zone. This is an advantage from the point of view of transparency and payment transactions, but it also entails certain risks. The question that primarily occupies Swiss exporters concerns the future stability of the link between the Swiss franc and the euro.

Confidence in this respect is justified because experience shows that countries pursuing similar macro-economic objectives and exhibiting comparable economic development benefit from relatively stable exchange rates. With Switzerland's growing integration in the European economy and the convergence of objectives of the European Central Bank and the Swiss National Bank, the chances for stable conditions are good. Any attempt to eliminate all exchange rate risks by linking the Swiss franc to a European standard would nevertheless be a precipitate decision. A pegging of our currency could fuel speculation or trigger a rapid increase in interest rates in Switzerland, which in turn would hamper the economic recovery currently under way.

Exchange rate flexibility is thus a response to the uncertainty of the moment. Once the euro is perceived to be a stable currency by the markets, Swiss and European interest rates will converge progressively, and this, in the long term, will create favourable conditions for Switzerland's monetary integration in the European Union.

Imprimer

Franc suisse: monnaie européenne

20e anniversaire de la Fondation Jean Monnet pour l'Europe, Dorigny, le 20 novembre 1998, 20.11.1998

  • Texte intégral
    (45 KB)

La construction européenne est un facteur essentiel de l’histoire européenne d’après-guerre. L’Union monétaire en sera l’une des étapes les plus importantes car, à bien des égards, elle marquera l’aspect irréversible du mouvement. Dotée d’une monnaie unique, appelée à gérer en commun le grand dossier de sa stabilité financière, l’Europe entamera ainsi sous peu une nouvelle phase de son histoire.

La monnaie unique constituera une véritable révolution pour l'Europe. Elle affectera le fonctionnement de son économie à tous les niveaux: au niveau des citoyens, par la disparition des signes monétaires nationaux; au niveau des entreprises, qui opéreront dans un environnement nouveau de stabilité et de transparence; au niveau des Autorités, enfin, puisque la gestion des affaires deviendra commune dans un domaine où les diversités nationales demeurent encore importantes.

En Suisse, l’apparition de l’euro entraînera un profond changement d’environnement. Pour la première fois de notre histoire, nous serons entourés d'une zone monétaire unifiée, ce qui comporte des avantages au plan de la transparence et des paiements, mais ce qui entraîne aussi des risques. La question qui préoccupe les exportateurs en Suisse est celle de la stabilité future du lien entre le franc et l’euro.

On peut rester confiant à cet égard car l’expérience montre que des pays suivant des objectifs macro-économiques semblables et connaissant des évolutions conjoncturelles proches bénéficient de cours de change relativement stables. Etant donné l’intégration croissante de la Suisse dans l’économie européenne et la convergence des objectifs de la Banque Centrale Européenne et de la BNS, de bonnes conditions de stabilité existeront. Vouloir aujourd’hui, afin d’éliminer tout risque de change, lier le franc à un étalon européen serait toutefois une décision précipitée. Un accrochage de notre monnaie pourrait stimuler la spéculation contre elle ou provoquer une montée rapide des taux d’intérêt en Suisse, ce qui entraverait la reprise économique actuelle.

La flexibilité du change est donc la réponse aux incertitudes du moment. Une fois que l’euro sera perçu par les marchés comme une monnaie stable, les taux d’intérêt suisse et européen convergeront progressivement, ce qui créera, à terme, des conditions favorables à une intégration monétaire de la Suisse dans l’Union Européenne.