Print

Gedanken zu aktuellen geld- und währungspolitischen Fragen

Bavarian Banking Evening, Munich, October 27, 1998, 27.10.1998

  • Complete text in German: "Gedanken zu aktuellen geld- und währungspolitischen Fragen"
    PDF (59 KB)

This paper deals with current aspects of Swiss monetary policy. The emphasis is on the basic orientation and operational implementation of Swiss monetary policy and the implications which the introduction of the European Monetary Union will have for the policy of the National Bank.

By fundamentally orienting its monetary policy to maintaining price stability, the Swiss National Bank makes the most significant contribution possible to long-term economic development in Switzerland. Central bank independence embodied in the Constitution and a clear mandate offer a maximum guarantee that the National Bank will be able to maintain price stability in the long term.

The National Bank's flexible money supply strategy has much in common with a strategy oriented to an inflation target. A flexible money supply strategy has the advantage of at the same time laying down the operational framework of monetary policy, which enhances the credibility of monetary policy. The National Bank's strategy is also sufficiently flexible to react adequately to disruptions in the short term.

Changeover to the European Monetary Union is expected to be accompanied by a stable euro. The Swiss National Bank will therefore continue pursuing its autonomous monetary policy with price stability as its primary goal.

Imprimer

Gedanken zu aktuellen geld- und währungspolitischen Fragen

Soirée bavaroise des banquiers, Munich, le 27 octobre 1998, 27.10.1998

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Gedanken zu aktuellen geld- und währungspolitischen Fragen"
    PDF (59 KB)

L'exposé est consacré à des questions d'actualité concernant la politique monétaire de la Banque nationale. Il porte en particulier sur l'orientation et la mise en œuvre concrète de la politique monétaire suisse, mais aussi sur les répercussions possibles de l'introduction de la monnaie unique européenne sur la politique de la Banque nationale.

L'orientation fondamentale de la politique monétaire sur le maintien de la stabilité des prix constitue la meilleure contribution que la Banque nationale puisse apporter à l'évolution économique à long terme en Suisse. Avec son autonomie ancrée dans la constitution et liée à un mandat clair, la Banque nationale a d'importants atouts en mains afin de garantir la stabilité des prix à long terme.

La politique souple de gestion d'un agrégat monétaire que mène la Banque nationale a de nombreux points communs avec une stratégie reposant sur un objectif d'inflation. Cette souplesse présente l'avantage de fixer le cadre opérationnel de la politique monétaire et, partant, d'en accroître la crédibilité. De plus, elle permet à la Banque nationale de réagir à court terme, de manière appropriée, aux perturbations.

On peut s'attendre, lors du passage à l'Union monétaire, à un euro stable. Aussi la Banque nationale a-t-elle l'intention de poursuivre sa politique monétaire autonome, axée en priorité sur la stabilité des prix.