Print

Wohin gehen wir?

Chamber of Commerce of St Gallen-Appenzell, St Gallen, September 9, 1998, 09.09.1998

  • Complete text in German: "Wohin gehen wir?"
    PDF (20 KB)

The period of economic stagnation in Switzerland has laid bare a number of structural problems. The difficulties in the economic environment and the continuing globalisation of the world economy pose considerable challenges for our country, and these also have political and social implications.

On the political front, more open external strategies are being pursued and new life has been injected into the domestic economic framework. Enterprises have been streamlined in order to stand the test in the worldwide competition for business locations.

Our proverbial pragmatism has so far preserved us from obstructing the interplay between the economy and society. The state will only succeed in creating the preconditions for prosperity and social security if the political and economic sectors cooperate in a responsible manner. The economy and competition are not ends in themselves but serve the interests of generally accepted objectives on which agreement must be reached. One of these objectives is protection from the economically and socially damaging erosion of money. This is where monetary policy makes a major contribution.

Imprimer

Wohin gehen wir?

Chambre de commerce de Saint-Gall/Appenzell, St-Gall, le 9 septembre 1998, 09.09.1998

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Wohin gehen wir?"
    PDF (20 KB)

La phase de stagnation qui a caractérisé l'économie suisse pendant sept ans a mis au jour des problèmes structurels. Les difficultés économiques et la mondialisation croissante des économies ont placé notre pays face à d'importants défis, avec des implications politiques et sociales également.

En réponse à ces défis, nos pouvoirs politiques ont mis en place des stratégies d'ouverture vers l'étranger, mais aussi une revitalisation des conditions-cadres de notre économie. Les entreprises se sont soumises à de véritables cures d'amaigrissement, afin de préserver leur compétitivité sur la scène internationale.

Grâce à notre pragmatisme légendaire, nous avons pu jusqu'ici éviter la rupture de l'équilibre entre l'économique et le social. L'Etat ne pourra créer les bases propices au bien-être et à la prospérité sans la participation active et concertée des milieux économiques et politiques. L'économie et la libre concurrence ne sont pas des fins en soi. Elles doivent concourir à des buts reconnus et susceptibles de faire l'objet d'un consensus. L'un d'entre eux consiste à prévenir l'érosion du pouvoir d'achat de la monnaie qui est économiquement et socialement préjudiciable. La politique monétaire joue ici un rôle décisif.