Print

Questions and answers on banknotes

In Switzerland, who is allowed to issue banknotes?

According to art. 99 of the Federal Constitution, the Confederation has the exclusive right to issue banknotes. The Confederation has transferred its exclusive right to issue banknotes (note-issuing privilege) to the Swiss National Bank (art. 4 National Bank Act). The SNB issues banknotes commensurate with demand for payment transactions and takes back any banknotes which are worn, damaged or surplus to requirements due to seasonal fluctuations. The banknotes are printed by Orell Füssli Security Printing Ltd on behalf of the SNB.

Which banknotes can I use for payment in Switzerland?

The banknotes issued by the SNB are considered as legal tender (art. 2 Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments, CPIA). There are 1000, 200, 100, 50, 20 and 10-franc notes in circulation. The eighth banknote series will gradually be replaced by the ninth series in a process scheduled to take place between April 2016 and 2019. Notes from the eighth series will remain valid until further notice. All information on the new banknote series can be found under New banknote series. Many businesses in Switzerland also accept euro banknotes as a means of payment. If no other payment instrument is contractually agreed, banknotes denominated in Swiss francs must be accepted as payment without restriction (art. 3 CPIA).

How many banknotes are in circulation?

In 2015, the average number of banknotes in circulation was 406.5 million, with a value of CHF 67.4 billion. An overview of banknote circulation for each denomination is available under Banknote circulation.

How many banknotes does the SNB issue each year and how many does it withdraw from circulation?

In 2015, 421 million banknotes were issued and 409 million were withdrawn. The SNB put 107.7 million freshly printed banknotes into circulation. Further information is available under Issuing and redeeming banknotes.

Is demand for cash on the decline as a result of cashless payments with debit, credit and cash cards, etc.?

Cash (which includes both coins and banknotes) primarily fulfils two functions: it is used as a payment instrument and as a store of value, and is thus in competition with other means of payment and stores of value. Cash is legal tender which is simple to use and available to everyone. It is therefore an important element of a functional economy. As well as using cash, payments can also be made via cashless payment methods, something which has recorded strong growth in recent decades. Currency in circulation has also continued to grow over this period, although to a lesser extent. However, since the advent of the financial crisis and in the current low interest rate environment, the demand for cash has again strengthened.

How much does it cost to produce a banknote?

The cost of producing one of the new banknotes (development, paper, printing) averages around 40 centimes.

How long will the eighth-series notes currently in circulation remain valid?

Notes from the eighth series will remain legal tender until further notice and may continue to be used without restriction. Once the last denomination of the ninth series has been issued, the SNB will announce a recall of the notes from the current series.

What does 'the SNB is recalling banknotes from circulation' actually mean?

Banknotes that are recalled from circulation are no longer legal tender. However, they can be exchanged at the SNB at full nominal value for twenty years after the date of recall. The sixth banknote series (the predecessor to the eighth series) was issued in the 1970s and withdrawn from circulation effective 1 May 2000. These banknotes can still be exchanged until 30 April 2020. After this date, the banknotes lose their value or, at most, may gain collector's value. The SNB transfers the countervalue of banknotes that remain unexchanged to the Swiss Fund for Aid in cases of Uninsurable Damage by Natural Forces (art. 9 CPIA). The SNB will only recall the notes from the eighth series once the last denomination of the ninth series has been issued.

How and where can I exchange banknotes from older banknote series?

Banknotes that have been recalled but not yet declared invalid can be exchanged at the SNB's offices and agencies. Further information is available under Instruction sheet on exchanging recalled banknotes.

Does the SNB deal in banknotes that have been declared worthless?

Banknotes that have been declared worthless can no longer be used as legal tender, although they may have collector's value. The price is set according to supply and demand, and the condition of the banknote (the SNB does not conduct evaluations). Unlike numismaticians, antique shops or banks with a numismatic section, the SNB does not deal in withdrawn and invalid banknotes.

Can I exchange damaged banknotes at the SNB?

The SNB replaces damaged banknotes if the serial number can still be recognised. In addition, the bearer of the banknote must either present a portion of the banknote which is larger than 50%, or provide proof that the missing part of the banknote has been destroyed. Further information is available under Instruction sheet on exchanging damaged banknotes.

Can I exchange foreign currency at the SNB?

No, foreign currency cannot be bought or sold at the SNB.

How long is a banknote used for before it is destroyed?

In general, banknotes with greater values are in use for longer than those with smaller values. This can be put down to the way in which they are used: banknotes of a larger denomination are more often used for storing value, while notes of small denominations are primarily used as legal tender and therefore change hands much more frequently. The 200-franc and 100-franc notes are in circulation for four years on average, whereas the 50-franc, 20-franc and 10-franc notes already have to be replaced after two to three years. The 'life expectancy' of a 1000-franc note is more than ten years. In 2015, approximately 16.9% of the notes checked for authenticity and quality were destroyed, amounting to 70.8 million damaged or recalled banknotes. Further information is available under Sorting and destruction.

How can I avoid receiving counterfeit money?

The best way to avoid this is to make yourself familiar with the design principles and security features of the notes. Each banknote has several security features that can be checked without the aid of special devices. For more information on the eighth series, see Security features; more information on the ninth series may be found under Security concept.

To what extent are our banknotes protected against counterfeiting?

Between 3,000 and 4,000 counterfeit banknotes are confiscated in Switzerland annually. This corresponds to 10 to 15 counterfeits for every million Swiss banknotes each year - a very modest number by international standards. Further information on counterfeit currency is available on the Federal Office of Police website (www.fedpol.admin.ch).

What should I do if I receive counterfeit money?

Any coins or banknotes that are suspected counterfeits should be handed in to the nearest police station for examination. Any person who puts counterfeit money into circulation is liable to prosecution.

Can I reproduce banknotes for advertising purposes?

Banknotes are protected by provisions in the Swiss Criminal Code (www.admin.ch). It is forbidden to counterfeit money to pass it off as genuine or to alter it to pass it off at a value higher than its true value. It is also forbidden to import, acquire or store counterfeit money, or to put it into circulation. Reproduction of banknotes for advertising purposes is also restricted. Reproduction and imitation must avoid any risk of confusion with genuine banknotes. Examples of reproductions which avoid the risk of confusion with genuine banknotes are listed in the Instruction sheet concerning the reproduction of banknotes. For advertising and training purposes, the SNB will supply, on loan, digital images of banknotes with a resolution of 150 dpi with the word 'SPECIMEN' written on them. Applications, together with details of the intended use, should be sent to the following address:

Swiss National Bank
Cash Division
Bundesplatz 1
CH-3003 Berne
bargeld@snb.ch

Why do banknote series have to be replaced?

The SNB wishes to ensure a high level of security for its banknotes. As technology develops quickly, the SNB must constantly work to stay ahead so that counterfeits have little or no chance. Furthermore, security features typical on previous banknotes are now used for security documents, medicines and branded goods, which is why new elements must be developed for banknote security.

When will the other denominations of the new series be released?

Following the issuance of the 50-franc note in April 2016, the 20-franc is due to be released in spring 2017. The remaining banknotes in the series will be issued subsequently at half-yearly or yearly intervals. The 10-franc note will be followed by the 200-franc, then the 1000-franc note and, lastly, the 100-franc note. Issuance of the entire series is scheduled to be completed by 2019.

Imprimer

Questions et réponses sur les billets de banque

Qui a le droit d'émettre des billets de banque en Suisse?

En vertu de l'art. 99 de la Constitution fédérale, la Confédération détient exclusivement le droit d'émettre des billets de banque en Suisse. En vertu de l'art. 4 de la loi sur la Banque nationale (LBN), elle a transféré ce droit exclusif (monopole d'émission des billets de banque) à la Banque nationale suisse. Celle-ci émet des billets de banque selon les nécessités du trafic des paiements et retire de la circulation les billets usés ou détériorés et les billets qui sont excédentaires du fait des fluctuations saisonnières. Les billets de banque sont imprimés sur mandat de la Banque nationale par Orell Füssli Sicherheitsdruck AG.

Quels billets puis-je utiliser comme moyens de paiement en Suisse?

Conformément à l'art. 2 de la loi sur l'unité monétaire et les moyens de paiement (LUMMP), les billets de banque émis par la Banque nationale suisse sont des moyens de paiement ayant cours légal. Ils doivent être acceptés en paiement, en Suisse, sans limitation de la somme (art. 3 LUMMP), sauf accord contractuel fixant un moyen de paiement différent. Des coupures de 1000, de 200, de 100, de 50, de 20 et de 10 francs sont en circulation. La huitième série de billets de banque sera remplacée par la neuvième; le passage à la nouvelle série aura lieu par étapes entre avril 2016 et 2019. Les billets de la huitième série conservent leur validité jusqu'à nouvel avis. Toutes les informations concernant la neuvième série de billets sont disponibles à la rubrique La nouvelle série de billets de banque. En Suisse, de nombreux commerçants acceptent également des billets de banque en euros comme moyen de paiement.

Quel est le nombre de billets en circulation?

En 2015, le nombre de billets en circulation s'est inscrit à 406,5 millions en moyenne, ce qui correspond à une valeur totale de 67,4 milliards de francs. Vous trouverez un aperçu des différentes coupures en circulation sous Circulation des billets de banque.

Combien de billets la Banque nationale émet-elle chaque année, et combien en retire-t-elle de la circulation?

En 2015, 421 millions de billets de banque ont été émis par la BNS, et 409 millions de billets ont été retirés de la circulation. Le nombre de billets neufs ayant été mis en circulation s'est élevé à 107,7 millions. De plus amples informations sont disponibles sous La mise en circulation et la reprise.

La tendance croissante aux paiements sans numéraire (au moyen de cartes de débit ou de crédit, de la carte Cash, etc.) entraîne-t-elle une diminution des besoins en numéraire?

Le numéraire, c'est-à-dire les billets de banque et les pièces de monnaie, remplit essentiellement deux fonctions: il sert de moyen de paiement et de moyen de thésaurisation. Il est ainsi en concurrence avec d'autres instruments destinés aux mêmes fins. Moyen de paiement ayant cours légal, facile à utiliser et accessible à tout un chacun, le numéraire représente un élément essentiel d'une économie efficace. Il existe, en plus des billets et des pièces, des moyens de paiement sans numéraire. Ceux-ci ont connu des taux de croissance élevés ces dernières décennies. Le numéraire en circulation a lui aussi progressé, mais dans une moindre mesure. Depuis le début de la crise financière, la demande de numéraire a toutefois enregistré une augmentation plus marquée, favorisée par le bas niveau des taux d'intérêt et l'accroissement de la détention de numéraire.

Que coûte la fabrication d'un billet de banque?

Les coûts de fabrication d'un billet de banque de la neuvième série (conception, papier et impression) s'élèvent en moyenne à environ 40 centimes.

Combien de temps la huitième série restera-t-elle valable?

Les billets de la huitième série conservent jusqu'à nouvel avis leur statut de moyens de paiement ayant cours légal et peuvent continuer à être utilisés sans restriction. Après l'émission de la dernière coupure de la neuvième série, la Banque nationale rappellera les billets de la huitième série.

Qu'implique l'expression "rappel de billets de banque"?

Les billets rappelés ne constituent plus des moyens de paiement ayant cours légal. Ils peuvent cependant être échangés à la Banque nationale, à leur valeur nominale, pendant une période de vingt ans à compter de la date de leur rappel. La sixième série de billets de banque (celle ayant précédé la huitième série dans la mise en circulation) qui avait été émise à la fin des années 1970 a été rappelée au 1er mai 2000; les billets concernés peuvent donc encore être échangés jusqu'au 30 avril 2020. Passé cette date, ces billets n'auront plus de valeur, si ce n'est éventuellement pour les collectionneurs. La Banque nationale verse au Fonds suisse de secours pour dommages non assurables causés par des forces naturelles la contre-valeur des billets qui n'ont pas été présentés pour être échangés (art. 9 LUMMP). La Banque nationale rappellera les billets de la huitième série seulement après la mise en circulation de la dernière coupure de la neuvième série.

Où et comment puis-je échanger des billets provenant de séries anciennes?

Les billets qui ont été rappelés mais n'ont pas encore été déclarés sans valeur peuvent être échangés auprès des services de caisse ou des agences de la Banque nationale. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez vous reporter à la Note sur l'échange de billets de banque rappelés.

La Banque nationale fait-elle le commerce des billets de banque déclarés sans valeur?

Les billets de banque déclarés sans valeur ne représentent plus des moyens de paiement ayant cours légal, mais peuvent encore intéresser les collectionneurs. Le prix est fonction de l'offre et de la demande ainsi que de l'état des billets (la Banque nationale elle-même ne procède à aucune estimation). Contrairement aux numismates, aux antiquaires ou aux banques possédant un service de numismatique, la Banque nationale ne fait pas le commerce des billets devenus sans valeur.

Où puis-je échanger des billets détériorés?

La Banque nationale remplace les billets détériorés pour autant que le numéro de série soit identifiable. De plus, le porteur doit présenter un fragment plus grand que la moitié du billet ou prouver que la partie manquante a été détruite. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez vous reporter à la Note sur l'échange de billets de banque détériorés.

Puis-je changer des monnaies étrangères à la Banque nationale?

Non. La Banque nationale ne propose pas de service de change.

Pendant combien de temps un billet de banque est-il utilisé avant d'être détruit?

Les grosses coupures ont généralement une espérance de vie plus longue que les petites. En effet, elles sont souvent utilisées à des fins de réserve de valeur, tandis que les petites coupures servent principalement de moyens de paiement, de sorte qu'elles s'usent plus rapidement. Les billets de 200 et de 100 francs ont une durée de vie moyenne de quatre ans; ceux de 50, de 20 et de 10 francs doivent être remplacés après deux ou trois ans. Le billet de 1000 francs affiche une espérance de vie supérieure à dix ans. En 2015, environ 16,9% des billets dont l'authenticité et la qualité ont été vérifiées ont été détruits; cette proportion représente 70,8 millions de billets détériorés ou rappelés. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations à ce sujet sous Le tri et la destruction.

Comment éviter de se faire remettre de faux billets?

La meilleure façon de se protéger consiste à se familiariser avec le graphisme et les éléments de sécurité. Chaque billet possède divers éléments de sécurité qui peuvent être vérifiés sans moyens auxiliaires. Vous trouverez des informations à ce sujet à la rubrique Le système de sécurité des billets de la huitième série et à la rubrique Les éléments de sécurité de ceux de la neuvième série.

Les billets de banque sont-ils bien protégés contre les falsifications?

En Suisse, environ 3 000 à 4 000 faux billets sont saisis chaque année, soit 10 à 15 contrefaçons pour un million de billets. Cette proportion est modeste en comparaison internationale. De plus amples informations sur la fausse monnaie sont disponibles sur le site de l'Office fédéral de la police (www.fedpol.admin.ch).

Que faire si je me retrouve en possession de fausse monnaie?

En cas de soupçons, il convient de faire vérifier les billets et les pièces auprès du poste de police le plus proche. Toute personne qui met de la fausse monnaie en circulation est punissable.

Puis-je reproduire des billets de banque à des fins publicitaires?

Les billets de banque sont protégés par les dispositions du code pénal suisse (www.admin.ch). Il est interdit de contrefaire ou de falsifier de la monnaie dans le dessein de la mettre en circulation comme authentique ou pour une valeur supérieure. De même, il est interdit d'importer, d'acquérir, de prendre en dépôt et de mettre en circulation de la fausse monnaie. Quant à la reproduction de billets de banque à des fins publicitaires, elle est soumise à des restrictions. La reproduction et l'imitation de billets ne doivent créer aucun risque de confusion avec les billets véritables. La Note concernant la reproduction de billets de banque cite des exemples de reproductions ne présentant aucun risque de confusion avec les billets véritables. La Banque nationale prête, à des fins de publicité ou de formation, des reproductions numériques de billets de banque (résolution: 150 dpi) portant la mention "SPECIMEN". Ces reproductions numériques ne sont fournies que sur demande écrite (par courrier ou par e-mail, voir adresse ci-après), avec indication de l'utilisation visée.

Banque nationale suisse
Division Billets et monnaies
Bundesplatz 1
CH-3003 Berne
bargeld@snb.ch

Pourquoi faut-il remplacer périodiquement les séries de billets de banque?

La Banque nationale entend garantir un niveau de sécurité élevé de ses billets de banque. Face à la rapidité de l'évolution technologique, elle doit toujours avoir une longueur d'avance dans ce domaine afin d'empêcher autant que possible l'apparition de contrefaçons. De plus, les éléments de sécurité qui constituaient jusqu'ici une caractéristique exclusive des billets de banque sont désormais également utilisés pour protéger des documents, des médicaments et des articles de marque. Il est donc nécessaire de développer de nouveaux éléments pour la sécurité des billets de banque.

Quand les billets de la nouvelle série seront-ils mis en circulation?

Le billet de 50 francs, mis en circulation en avril 2016, sera suivi du billet de 20 francs, qui devrait être introduit au printemps 2017, selon le calendrier prévu. Les autres coupures de la nouvelle série seront ensuite émises à des intervalles de six mois ou d'un an. Après le billet de 10 francs, viendra le billet de 200 francs, puis celui de 1000 francs. Le billet de 100 francs sera le dernier de la série. Toutes les coupures devraient être mises en circulation d'ici à fin 2019.