Print

Questions and answers on coins

In Switzerland, who is allowed to mint and issue coins?

The coin-issuing privilege, i.e. the right to mint coins, is held by the Confederation (art. 99 Federal Constitution). Article 4 of the Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments (CPIA) stipulates that the Confederation shall mint regular issue coins. The SNB is then charged by the Confederation with the task of putting the coins into circulation. The SNB offsets seasonal fluctuations in the demand for coins and replaces coins that are unfit for circulation, e.g. damaged. The coins are minted at Swissmint, the Federal Mint (www.swissmint.ch).

Which coins can I use for payment in Switzerland?

The regular issue coins issued by the Confederation are considered as legal tender (art. 2 CPIA). There are 5, 2, and 1-franc coins as well as 50, 20, 10 and 5-centime coins in circulation. Pictures of the coins are available on the Coins webpage. For numismatic use and investment purposes, Swissmint may also mint commemorative coins and bullion coins, as well as special quality regular issue coins. Payments made with up to 100 regular issue coins must be accepted. The SNB and the public cash offices of the Confederation accept regular issue coins, commemorative and bullion coins at nominal value and without restriction (art. 3 CPIA).

How many coins are in circulation?

In 2015, the average number of coins in circulation was 5.4 billion, with a value of CHF 3 billion.

Who decides which coins should be regular issue?

According to art. 4 CPIA, the Federal Council decides which coins are to be minted, put into circulation or withdrawn from circulation. For example, based on the results of the consultation on the ordinance to withdraw 1 and 5-centime coins from circulation, the Federal Council decided in 2006 to withdraw the 1-centime coin, but to keep the 5-centime coin in circulation.

Can coins which are no longer in circulation be exchanged at the SNB?

Regular issue coins withdrawn from circulation can be exchanged at the SNB for their full nominal value for 20 years after the withdrawal date, e.g. 1-centime coins can be exchanged until 31 December 2026. There is no deadline for exchange for coins that have been withdrawn from circulation but which have the same size and face as the coins still in circulation, e.g. silver-coloured 5-centime coins as well as silver coins of 50-centime to 5-franc coins. Such silver coins are still often accepted as a means of payment as they are difficult to differentiate from the coins with a copper-nickel alloy. Other coins which have been withdrawn from circulation lose their value after the statutory period or, at most, may gain collector's value. Further information is available on the Coins webpage.

Does the SNB deal in coins?

Unlike numismaticians, the SNB does not deal in coins that have been withdrawn from circulation or declared worthless. It also refrains from making any estimates or evaluations for collectors. Commemorative coins and complete coin sets can be ordered from Swissmint or purchased in numismatic shops. A list of coin dealers can be found on the Swissmint website (www.swissmint.ch).

Which metals are used to make the coins?

The regular issue coins are made with a copper-nickel alloy. The 5-centime coin also contains some aluminium. The commemorative coins are made out of silver, gold or copper-nickel. The technical specifications of the coins are available on the Coins webpage.

Why are there 5-franc coins with and without sunk relief type around the edges?

From 1985 to 1993, 5-franc coins were minted with sunk relief type around the edges. As an increasing number of counterfeits with sunk relief type around the edges began to appear, a decision was made in 1994 to mint 5-franc pieces with a raised (slightly embossed) relief type around the edges. The 5-franc pieces with sunk relief type around the edges were withdrawn from circulation on 1 January 2004. The SNB continues to exchange them at full nominal value.

Why are the two sides of some coins minted facing in different directions?

Until 1981, the 50-centime to 5-franc coins were minted 'upside down', i.e. the reverse face of the coin was minted at 180 degrees to the front (obverse) face. Since 1982, all coins have been minted 'the right way up', i.e. obverse and reverse sides are both upright, thus improving the presentation of coins in coin sets.

Where can I obtain 1-centime coins?

The 1-centime coins were withdrawn from circulation on 1 January 2007. The SNB has not released any of these coins since. However, they can still be found in numismatic shops. A list of coin dealers can be found on the Swissmint website (www.swissmint.ch).

What is the oldest coin that I can use to make a payment today?

There are 10-centime coins minted in 1879 still in circulation and which are still legal tender.

Imprimer

Questions et réponses sur les pièces de monnaie

Qui a le droit de frapper et d'émettre des pièces de monnaie en Suisse?

En vertu de l'art. 99 de la Constitution fédérale, le droit de battre monnaie (régale des monnaies) est du seul ressort de la Confédération. Conformément à l'art. 4 de la loi fédérale sur l'unité monétaire et les moyens de paiement (LUMMP), la Confédération frappe les pièces de monnaie courantes. La Banque nationale suisse les met ensuite en circulation à la demande de la Confédération. La Banque nationale tient compte des fluctuations saisonnières de la demande de pièces et remplace les pièces ne pouvant plus rester en circulation, par exemple celles qui sont endommagées. Les pièces sont frappées par Swissmint, qui est la Monnaie fédérale (www.swissmint.ch).

Quelles pièces puis-je utiliser pour payer des achats en Suisse?

Les espèces métalliques émises par la Confédération, qui sont des moyens de paiement légaux (art. 2 LUMMP). Les pièces ont les valeurs suivantes: un, deux et cinq francs, ainsi que cinq, dix, vingt et 50 centimes. Des photographies sont présentées à la page Les monnaies. Swissmint peut également frapper des monnaies commémoratives et des monnaies de thésaurisation, ainsi que des pièces de monnaie courantes de qualité particulière. Les pièces courantes ne doivent être acceptées en paiement qu'à concurrence de 100 pièces. La Banque nationale et les caisses publiques de la Confédération acceptent sans limitation de la somme les pièces de monnaie courantes, les monnaies commémoratives et les monnaies de thésaurisation à leur valeur nominale (art. 3 LUMMP).

Combien de pièces sont en circulation?

En 2015, la circulation s'est établie à 5,4 milliards de pièces en moyenne, pour un montant de 3 milliards de francs.

Qui décide des pièces qui sont en circulation?

En vertu de l'art. 4 LUMMP, le Conseil fédéral décide des pièces de monnaie courantes à frapper, à mettre en circulation et à mettre hors cours. Ainsi, en 2006, il a décidé, sur la base des résultats de l'audition relative à l'ordonnance sur la mise hors cours des pièces d'un et de cinq centimes, de mettre hors cours la pièce d'un centime mais de maintenir la pièce de cinq centimes en circulation.

Puis-je échanger auprès de la Banque nationale des pièces qui ont été mises hors cours?

Les pièces de monnaie mises hors cours peuvent être échangées à la Banque nationale, à leur valeur nominale, pendant un délai de vingt ans (les pièces d'un centime peuvent par exemple encore être échangées jusqu'au 31 décembre 2026). Celles dont la taille et l'effigie correspondent aux pièces ayant cours légal sont reprises sans limite de temps; c'est par exemple le cas des pièces de cinq centimes argentées ainsi que des pièces en argent d'une valeur comprise entre 50 centimes et cinq francs. Celles-ci sont souvent acceptées comme moyen de paiement étant donné qu'il est difficile de les différencier des pièces en alliage cupro-nickel. A l'issue du délai pendant lequel elles peuvent être présentées à l'échange, les autres pièces mises hors cours deviennent sans valeur, mais elles peuvent encore intéresser des collectionneurs. Des informations plus détaillées sont présentées à la page Les monnaies.

La Banque nationale fait-elle le commerce des pièces?

Contrairement aux numismates, la Banque nationale ne fait pas le commerce des pièces mises hors cours ou déclarées sans valeur. De même, elle n'effectue aucune estimation ou évaluation de pièces à l'attention des collectionneurs. Des monnaies commémoratives et des séries de pièces complètes peuvent être commandées auprès de Swissmint ou achetées dans des magasins spécialisés, dont le site de Swissmint présente une liste (www.swissmint.ch).

Quels métaux entrent dans la composition des pièces de monnaie?

Les pièces de monnaie courantes sont fabriquées à partir d'un alliage cupro-nickel. De l'aluminium complète cet alliage pour les pièces de cinq centimes. Les monnaies commémoratives peuvent être fabriquées en argent, en or ou en cupro-nickel. Les données techniques sont présentées à la page Les monnaies.

Pourquoi certaines pièces de cinq francs portent une inscription en creux sur la tranche et d'autres pas?

Entre 1985 et 1993, des pièces de cinq francs ont été frappées avec une inscription en creux sur la tranche. Face à la prolifération de fausses pièces, il a été décidé en 1994 de frapper à nouveau des pièces de cinq francs munies d'une inscription en relief sur la tranche. Les pièces de cinq francs portant une inscription en creux sur la tranche ont été mises hors cours le 1er janvier 2004. La Banque nationale les échange toujours à leur valeur nominale.

Pourquoi les deux faces de certaines pièces sont-elles frappées en sens inverses?

Jusqu'en 1981, les deux faces des pièces d'une valeur comprise entre 50 centimes et cinq francs étaient frappées en sens inverses, ou tête-bêche (frappe monnaie). Depuis 1982, les deux faces de toutes les pièces sont frappées dans le même sens (frappe médaille). Cela permet une plus belle présentation des jeux de monnaies.

Où puis-je me procurer des pièces d'un centime?

Les pièces d'un centime ont été mises hors cours le 1er janvier 2007. Depuis, la Banque nationale ne les émet plus. Il est toutefois possible de s'en procurer auprès des numismates. Une liste des marchands de monnaie est présentée sur le site de Swissmint (www.swissmint.ch).

Quelle est la pièce la plus ancienne que je peux encore utiliser comme moyen de paiement aujourd'hui?

Des pièces de dix centimes frappées en 1879 sont toujours en circulation et ont encore cours légal aujourd'hui.