Print

Questions and answers on monetary policy implementation

How does the SNB implement its monetary policy?

The SNB implements its monetary policy by fixing a target range for the reference interest rate, the Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate) for three-month interbank loans in Swiss francs. The target range is the third element of the SNB's monetary policy strategy besides the definition of price stability and the conditional inflation forecast (Questions and answers on monetary policy strategy). The SNB steers the Libor into the defined target range by means of its monetary policy operations. The target range normally has a bandwidth of 100 basis points (one percentage point) and, as a rule, the SNB holds the Libor in the middle of the defined range. An overview of the target range figures since the beginning of 2000 can be found at Monetary statistics. As interest rates increasingly approached zero in the wake of the financial crisis, the Libor target range was narrowed. From 6 September 2011 to 15 January 2015, the main focus of implementation was on the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro, which the SNB enforced during this period. On 18 December 2014, the SNB decided to impose an interest rate of -0.25% on sight deposit account balances. With the announcement of a negative interest rate, the target range for the Libor was taken into negative territory for the first time, and extended to its usual width of 1 percentage point. On 15 January 2015, the SNB lowered the interest rate on sight deposits to -0.75% and moved the target range downwards to between -1.25% and -0.25%. Negative interest has applied since 22 January 2015.

What is the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments?

The three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments, which is published daily in London, corresponds to the trimmed mean of the interest rates reported by leading banks for unsecured Swiss franc interbank loans with a three-month maturity. The three-month Libor is an important benchmark for credit relationships in Switzerland and abroad. Thus it plays a key role in the monetary policy transmission mechanism in Switzerland.

Why does the SNB use a target range instead of a target interest rate?

The SNB is unable to steer the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments directly, since it is ultimately determined by the conditions on the interbank market. By providing the Swiss franc money market with liquidity or withdrawing liquidity from it, the SNB can only approximately steer the level of the three-month Libor. This is why it fixes a target range marking the upper and lower bounds for the three-month Libor.

The interbank market for unsecured loans has become distinctly less relevant since 2008, and the Libor has lost a lot of its credibility due to instances of manipulation. Why does the SNB continue to use the Libor as a reference rate?

Although few unsecured credit transactions are currently being concluded on the interbank market and the credibility of the Libor has suffered as a result of instances of manipulation, the Libor remains an important reference rate for credit relationships in Switzerland and abroad. It therefore continues to play a key role in the monetary policy transmission mechanism. With its monetary policy operations, the SNB can only approximately steer the level of the Libor. It therefore fixes a target range, normally with a bandwidth of 100 basis points, for the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments. The reported distortions of the Libor did not go beyond a single-digit basis point figure. This does not, therefore, pose a threat to the SNB's monetary policy strategy.

What are monetary policy instruments?

Monetary policy instruments are transactions through which the SNB implements its monetary policy. Art. 9 of the National Bank Act (NBA) defines the transactions that the SNB may conduct in the financial market. The SNB distinguishes between open market operations and standing facilities. In the case of open market operations, the SNB takes the initiative in the transaction, while for the standing facilities it merely specifies the conditions at which counterparties can obtain liquidity. Regular open market operations include repo transactions and the issuance of SNB Bills. The interest rate (currently negative) on sight deposits, which was introduced on 18 December 2014, is a monetary policy instrument, too (Questions and answers on repo transactions and other monetary policy instruments). Further instruments, such as foreign exchange swaps (Questions and answers on foreign exchange swaps) and foreign exchange transactions, are available if necessary. Standing facilities include the liquidity-shortage financing facility and the intraday facility. Details can be found in the Guidelines of the Swiss National Bank on Monetary Policy Instruments.

How can the SNB implement its monetary policy by means of monetary policy instruments?

The SNB implements its monetary policy by managing liquidity on the Swiss franc money market and thereby influencing the interest rate level. The three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments serves as its reference interest rate. The SNB steers the three-month Libor indirectly through liquidity-providing and liquidity-absorbing money market transactions. It can influence the three-month Libor by means of the volume and conditions of these operations. The SNB also influences the level of interest rates on the money market by setting the interest rate on sight deposits.The choice of liquidity management regime depends on monetary policy requirements and the liquidity structure in the banking system. If the banking system shows signs of being undersupplied with liquidity, the SNB provides liquidity through short-term money market transactions and thereby increases the banks' sight deposits held at the SNB. Conversely, the SNB absorbs liquidity via short-term money market transactions and thereby reduces the banks' sight deposits at the SNB.

What roles do sight deposits and the money market play?

In order for a bank to maintain its solvency, it must have sufficient liquidity at all times. A bank's most liquid assets are sight deposits held at the SNB, since they can be used immediately to effect payments and are deemed to be legal tender. Domestic banks hold sight deposits to satisfy minimum reserve requirements. Banks also need them for payment transactions and as liquidity reserves. The SNB influences sight deposits through the use of its monetary policy instruments. Liquidity adjustments between the individual financial market participants are effected on the money market. Banks seeking to place funds on a short-term basis provide liquidity in the form of a loan to other banks that require short-term refinancing. These loans can be granted on a secured or unsecured basis. The level of sight deposits influences activity on the money market. A disruption in the money market impairs the liquidity adjustment process between the market participants and can threaten the solvency of the banks.

Why do banks have an interest in carrying out money market transactions with the SNB?

In the past, the banking system was faced by a liquidity deficit, in other words, it needed liquidity. The SNB implemented its monetary policy by providing the banking system with temporary liquidity, which meant that banks had to request further liquidity on an ongoing basis. This is how, through the amount of liquidity provided and the interest rate, the SNB steered the money market and the reference interest rate, the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments. Since 2010, however, the banking system has been characterised by excess liquidity. The exceptionally high level of liquidity is due to the SNB's foreign exchange transactions against Swiss francs.

There has been excess liquidity in the banking system since 2010. How can the SNB steer the three-month Libor in such an environment?

Following the discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro on 15 January 2015, the target range for the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments is set at between -1.25% and -0.25%. Banks continue to hold high levels of surplus liquidity. The three-month Libor is within the range aimed at by the SNB. The SNB is able to react swiftly and effectively to monetary policy requirements. An example of this is the decision of 18 December 2014 to introduce a (negative) interest rate on sight deposits. Between mid-2010 and mid-2011, the market was also characterised by excess liquidity. In that environment too, the SNB was always in a position to steer interest rates by means of liquidity-absorbing open market operations, i.e. the issuance of SNB Bills (for large amounts and terms of up to one year) and repo transactions. From 6 September 2011 to 15 January 2015, the main focus of monetary policy implementation was on the minimum exchange rate. Since then, SNB monetary policy has been based on two key elements: the negative interest rate, and the willingness to intervene in the foreign exchange market.

Is the high level of sight deposits at the SNB a sign that banks are hoarding their money at the SNB instead of putting it into circulation?

The total level of sight deposits (sight deposit account balances of domestic banks and other sight deposits) at the SNB can only be changed through SNB monetary policy operations or through exchange against cash. If a bank reduces its sight deposits at the SNB, the amount is either transferred to another sight deposit account with the SNB or enters the banknote circulation. This is why the monetary base, which by definition is made up of the sight deposit account balances of domestic banks and banknotes in circulation, can only be changed by the SNB. The growth rates of loans and monetary aggregates reflect the extent to which the available liquidity has entered into the economy cycle.

What counterparties are admitted to the SNB's monetary policy operations?

In principle, all banks domiciled in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein with sight deposits at the SNB are admitted as counterparties for SNB monetary policy operations. Other domestic financial market participants such as insurance companies and banks domiciled abroad may be admitted as counterparties in monetary policy operations provided this is in the SNB's monetary policy interest and the said institutions contribute to liquidity on the secured Swiss franc money market.

Why does the SNB also provide liquidity for banks abroad - does it not conduct its monetary policy on behalf of Switzerland?

The Swiss franc money market is not limited by any geographical boundaries. The Swiss franc is one of the most important currencies on the international financial market and is therefore also actively traded abroad. It is thus also in the interests of Switzerland if banks domiciled abroad can participate in the SNB's liquidity-absorbing and liquidity-providing money market operations, too.

How does the SNB conduct its open market operations?

The SNB may conduct its open market operations in the form of auctions or bilateral transactions. Transactions on the money market are usually concluded via an electronic trading platform. Auctions are conducted either by volume tender or by variable rate tender. In the case of volume tenders, the interest rate is fixed and amounts are allocated in relation to demand. If, for example, demand is twice as high as supply, each bank receives 50% of the amount it bid for. In the case of variable rate tenders, banks bid for variable amounts at given interest rates. The most favourable bids are considered until the desired overall amount has been reached. Variable rate tenders are conducted to provide or withdraw liquidity either according to the American method (bids considered are satisfied at the interest rate offered) or the Dutch method (participants making the bids considered pay or receive the interest rate called by the last bidder considered).

What procedures does the SNB apply for its open market operations?

Repo auctions (including US dollar auctions under the liquidity swap agreements) are, as a rule, conducted by volume tender, whereas SNB Bills are auctioned in the form of a variable rate tender with allocation according to the American system. The SNB does not use variable rate tenders according to the Dutch allotment system for its monetary policy related open market operations. It does, however, auction Swiss Confederation bonds and money market debt register claims in this manner on behalf of the Confederation. Further information can be found at Primary market for Swiss Confederation bonds.

Imprimer

Questions et réponses sur la mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire

Comment la Banque nationale met-elle en œuvre sa politique monétaire?

La Banque nationale suisse met en œuvre sa politique monétaire en assignant une marge de fluctuation à son taux de référence, le Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate) pour les prêts interbancaires à trois mois en francs. Cette marge de fluctuation représente le troisième élément de la stratégie de politique monétaire. Les deux premiers sont la définition de la stabilité des prix et la prévision d'inflation conditionnelle (Questions et réponses sur la stratégie de politique monétaire). La Banque nationale influe sur le Libor par l'intermédiaire de ses opérations de politique monétaire pour qu'il reste dans cette marge de fluctuation. Cette dernière est normalement de 100 points de base (1 point de pourcentage); la Banque nationale veille en général à maintenir le Libor dans la zone médiane de cette marge. Un tableau présentant l'évolution de la marge de fluctuation depuis début 2000 figure sous Statistique monétaire. Après la crise financière, les taux d'intérêt se sont progressivement rapprochés de zéro et ont entraîné un rétrécissement de la marge de fluctuation du Libor. Du 6 septembre 2011 au 15 janvier 2015, la mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire était axée sur le cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro. Le 18 décembre 2014, la Banque nationale a décidé de prélever un intérêt de -0,25% sur les avoirs en comptes de virement. Conjointement avec l'annonce du taux d'intérêt négatif, elle a fait passer pour la première fois dans la zone négative la marge de fluctuation du Libor, qui a retrouvé sa largeur habituelle de 1 point. Le 15 janvier 2015, la Banque nationale a abaissé le taux d'intérêt à -0,75% et a adapté vers le bas la marge de fluctuation du Libor à trois mois, qui est depuis lors comprise entre -1,25% et -0,25%. L'intérêt négatif est prélevé depuis le 22 janvier 2015.

Qu'est-ce que le Libor à trois mois pour le franc?

Publié chaque jour à Londres, le Libor à trois mois pour le franc correspond à la moyenne tronquée des taux d'intérêt appliqués par des banques importantes à des prêts interbancaires non gagés en francs d'une durée de trois mois. Le Libor à trois mois est un taux de référence primordial pour les prêts en Suisse et à l'étranger. Il joue donc un rôle décisif dans le mécanisme de transmission de la politique monétaire en Suisse.

Pourquoi la Banque nationale recourt-elle à une marge de fluctuation plutôt qu'à un taux directeur précis?

La Banque nationale n'est pas en mesure de contrôler directement le Libor à trois mois pour le franc, lequel est en effet déterminé par les conditions sur le marché interbancaire. Elle ne peut que gérer de manière approximative le niveau de ce taux de référence en injectant ou résorbant des liquidités sur le marché monétaire en francs. C'est pourquoi elle définit une marge de fluctuation à l'intérieur de laquelle le Libor à trois mois doit évoluer.

Le marché interbancaire pour les prêts non gagés a beaucoup perdu de son importance depuis 2008, et la crédibilité du Libor s'est détériorée à la suite de manipulations. Pourquoi la BNS utilise-t-elle encore le Libor comme taux de référence?

Même si peu de prêts non gagés sont actuellement conclus sur le marché interbancaire et si les manipulations ont sapé la crédibilité du Libor, celui-ci reste un taux de référence important pour les prêts en Suisse et à l'étranger. Il continue donc de jouer un rôle décisif dans le mécanisme de transmission de la politique monétaire. La Banque nationale peut uniquement contrôler le niveau approximatif du Libor au moyen de ses opérations de politique monétaire. Pour ce faire, elle assigne au Libor à trois mois pour le franc une marge de fluctuation, qui est généralement de 100 points de base. Les distorsions du Libor qui ont été révélées sont pour leur part inférieures à dix points de base. La stratégie de politique monétaire de la Banque nationale ne s'en trouve donc pas menacée.

Qu'entend-on par instruments de politique monétaire?

Il s'agit d'opérations par lesquelles la Banque nationale met en œuvre sa politique monétaire. L'art. 9 de la loi sur la Banque nationale (LBN) définit les opérations que la BNS est autorisée à effectuer sur le marché financier. Cette dernière distingue les opérations d'open market des facilités permanentes. Dans une opération d'open market, la Banque nationale a l'initiative de conclure une opération, tandis que dans les facilités permanentes, elle fixe uniquement les conditions auxquelles ses contreparties peuvent obtenir des liquidités. Les opérations habituelles d'open market comprennent les pensions de titres et les émissions de Bons de la BNS. L'application d'un taux d'intérêt (actuellement négatif) sur les comptes de virement, décidée le 18 décembre 2014, constitue aussi un instrument de politique monétaire (Questions et réponses sur les pensions de titres et autres instruments de politique monétaire). La Banque nationale peut au besoin recourir à d'autres instruments tels que les swaps de change (Questions et réponses sur les swaps de change) ou les opérations sur devises. Les facilités permanentes englobent la facilité pour resserrements de liquidités et la facilité intrajournalière. Les Directives générales de la Banque nationale suisse sur ses instruments de politique monétaire règlent les détails de ces opérations.

Comment la Banque nationale peut-elle mettre en œuvre sa politique monétaire avec les instruments dont elle dispose?

La Banque nationale met en œuvre sa politique monétaire en gérant les liquidités sur le marché monétaire en francs et en influençant ainsi le niveau des taux d'intérêt. Elle prend comme référence le Libor à trois mois pour le franc. Elle le gère indirectement au moyen d'opérations sur le marché monétaire destinées à injecter ou à résorber des liquidités. Elle peut influer sur le Libor à trois mois en fixant le volume et les conditions de ces opérations. Le prélèvement d'un intérêt sur les avoirs en compte de virement lui permet aussi d'influencer le niveau des taux sur le marché monétaire en francs. Les exigences de la politique monétaire et la structure des liquidités du système bancaire déterminent le mode de mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire. Si le système bancaire est tendanciellement sous-alimenté, la BNS injecte des liquidités par des opérations à court terme, ce qui accroît les avoirs à vue (avoirs en comptes de virement) que les banques détiennent à la Banque nationale. S'il est suralimenté, elle résorbe des liquidités au moyen d'opérations inverses, ce qui réduit les avoirs à vue que les banques détiennent à la Banque nationale.

Quel est le rôle des avoirs en compte de virement et du marché monétaire?

Afin de maintenir sa capacité de paiement, une banque doit toujours disposer de liquidités en quantité suffisante. Les avoirs en comptes de virement qu'une banque détient à la Banque nationale sont ses actifs les plus liquides, étant donné qu'ils sont immédiatement disponibles pour les versements et qu'ils constituent des moyens de paiement ayant cours légal. Les banques domiciliées en Suisse détiennent des avoirs en comptes de virement pour remplir les exigences en matière de réserves minimales. En outre, les banques en détiennent pour le trafic des paiements et dans le but de disposer d'une réserve de liquidités. La Banque nationale influe sur le niveau de ces avoirs en recourant à ses instruments de politique monétaire. La redistribution des liquidités entre les acteurs des marchés financiers se fait par le marché monétaire: les banques qui ont besoin de placer des fonds à court terme proposent, au moyen de crédits gagés ou en blanc, les liquidités correspondantes à d'autres banques qui présentent quant à elles un besoin de refinancement à court terme. Le niveau des avoirs en comptes de virement influence l'activité sur le marché monétaire. Un dysfonctionnement du marché monétaire compromet la redistribution des liquidités entre les acteurs des marchés financiers et peut menacer la capacité de paiement des banques.

Qu'est-ce qui explique l'intérêt des banques à conclure des opérations sur le marché monétaire avec la Banque nationale?

Dans le passé, le système bancaire présentait un déficit de liquidités. La Banque nationale mettait en œuvre sa politique monétaire en approvisionnant le système bancaire en liquidités à durée limitée; les banques devaient donc continuellement en demander de nouvelles. La BNS gérait le marché monétaire et le taux de référence - le Libor à trois mois pour le franc - en modulant le volume des liquidités injectées et le taux d'intérêt. Mais depuis 2010, le système bancaire présente un excédent de liquidités. Le niveau exceptionnellement élevé des liquidités tient aux opérations de change contre francs passées par la Banque nationale.

Depuis 2010, le système bancaire présente un excédent de liquidités. Comment la Banque nationale est-elle à même de gérer le Libor à trois mois dans un tel contexte?

Depuis la suppression du cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro le 15 janvier 2015, la marge de fluctuation assignée au Libor pour les dépôts à trois mois en francs est comprise entre -1,25% et -0,25%. Les banques détiennent toujours un important excédent de liquidités. Le Libor à trois mois se situe dans la marge visée par la Banque nationale. Sur le plan opérationnel, la BNS est en mesure de répondre rapidement et efficacement aux défis rencontrés par la politique monétaire. Elle l'a montré en décidant l'introduction d'un taux d'intérêt négatif le 18 décembre 2014. Entre mi-2010 et mi-2011, le marché était déjà caractérisé par des liquidités excédentaires. Dans ce contexte également, la Banque nationale a en tout temps été à même de gérer les taux d'intérêt au moyen d'opérations d'open market destinées à résorber des liquidités; en l'occurrence par des émissions de Bons de la BNS (portant sur des montants importants et des durées n'excédant pas un an) et des pensions de titres. Du 6 septembre 2011 au 15 janvier 2015, la mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire était axée sur la défense du cours plancher. Depuis, la politique monétaire repose sur deux piliers: le taux d'intérêt négatif et la disposition de la Banque nationale à intervenir au besoin sur le marché des changes

Le montant élevé des avoirs à vue à la Banque nationale signifie-t-il que les banques stockent leur argent à la BNS au lieu de le mettre en circulation?

Seuls les opérations de politique monétaire de la Banque nationale et l'échange contre des espèces peuvent influer sur le montant total des avoirs à vue (avoirs en comptes de virement des banques en Suisse et autres avoirs à vue) à la Banque nationale. Lorsqu'une banque réduit ses avoirs en comptes de virement à la Banque nationale, le montant correspondant est soit transféré sur un autre compte à vue, soit mis en circulation. C'est la raison pour laquelle seule la Banque nationale peut agir sur la monnaie centrale qui, par définition, est constituée des billets en circulation et des avoirs que les banques en Suisse détiennent en comptes de virement. La croissance des crédits et des agrégats monétaires permet de déterminer le niveau des liquidités disponibles injectées dans le circuit économique.

Quelles contreparties sont autorisées à participer aux opérations de politique monétaire de la Banque nationale?

En principe, toutes les banques domiciliées en Suisse ou dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein qui détiennent un compte de virement à la Banque nationale sont agréées comme contreparties de la Banque nationale dans les opérations de politique monétaire. D'autres acteurs des marchés financiers établis en Suisse (par exemple des compagnies d'assurances), mais aussi des banques ayant leur siège à l'étranger, peuvent également être agréés comme contreparties si leur participation aux opérations présente un intérêt pour la politique monétaire et s'ils contribuent à la liquidité du marché monétaire gagé en francs.

Pourquoi la Banque nationale met-elle aussi des liquidités à la disposition de banques domiciliées à l'étranger? Sa politique monétaire n'est-elle pas limitée à la Suisse?

Le marché monétaire en francs ne connaît pas de frontières géographiques. Le franc est l'une des principales monnaies des échanges financiers internationaux et est donc aussi négocié activement à l'étranger. Par conséquent, la Suisse a elle aussi tout intérêt à ce que des banques domiciliées à l'étranger participent aux opérations menées par la Banque nationale sur le marché monétaire en vue d'injecter ou de résorber des liquidités.

Comment la Banque nationale passe-t-elle ses opérations d'open market?

La Banque nationale peut passer ses opérations d'open market dans le cadre d'appels d'offres ou d'opérations bilatérales. En règle générale, les opérations sur le marché monétaire sont conclues via une plate-forme de négoce électronique. Les appels d'offres se déroulent soit à taux fixe, soit à taux variable. Lors d'un appel d'offres à taux fixe, l'adjudication se fait en fonction de la demande. Si la demande correspond par exemple au double de l'offre, chaque banque reçoit 50% du montant qu'elle a demandé. Lors d'un appel d'offres à taux variable, les banques communiquent le montant qu'elles demandent et le taux d'intérêt correspondant. Les soumissions les moins fortes sont prises en compte jusqu'à ce que le montant total souhaité soit atteint. Dans le cas d'un appel d'offres à taux variable, l'adjudication se fait soit à l'américaine (les soumissions retenues sont satisfaites au taux d'intérêt offert), soit à la hollandaise (toutes les soumissions retenues paient ou reçoivent le taux proposé par le dernier soumissionnaire pris en considération).

Quelle procédure la Banque nationale applique-t-elle pour ses opérations d'open market?

En règle générale, les appels d'offres pour pensions de titres (y compris les appels d'offres en dollars des Etats-Unis dans le cadre des accords de swap de liquidités) se déroulent à taux fixe, tandis que les Bons de la BNS sont émis à taux variable selon la procédure d'adjudication à l'américaine. La Banque nationale ne recourt pas aux appels d'offres à taux variable à la hollandaise dans le cadre de ses opérations d'open market. Elle procède toutefois à des appels d'offres selon cette procédure sur mandat de la Confédération pour les emprunts de la Confédération et les créances comptables à court terme. De plus amples informations à ce sujet sont disponibles sous Marché des émissions de la Confédération suisse.