Print

Constitution and laws (as at October 2016)

Constitution

The constitutional basis of the Swiss currency and the activity of the Swiss National Bank are contained in article 99 of the Federal Constitution. The monetary article embodies the National Bank's independence in the Constitution, as also the obligation to set aside adequate currency reserves from its earnings, part of them in gold. This is serves to help maintain public confidence in monetary stability. The central bank mandate consists in the obligation of the National Bank to pursue a monetary policy serving the interests of the country as a whole. In addition, art. 99 para. 4 of the Federal Constitution determines that the National Bank must distribute at least two-thirds of its net profits to the cantons.

National Bank Act (NBA)

The National Bank Act (NBA) of 3 October 2003 (in force since 1 May 2004) serves as the statutory basis for the National Bank and its activity. The National Bank Act sets out in detail the SNB's constitutional mandate and its independence. The corollary to this independence is the SNB's accountability and information obligation towards the Federal Council, Parliament and the public (arts. 5-7 NBA). Furthermore, the NBA implements the SNB's constitutional mandate of setting aside sufficient monetary reserves from its earnings. Explicit rules concerning the calculation of profits allow the SNB to set aside provisions in line with the development of the Swiss economy (art. 30 NBA).

Moreover, the NBA sets out the instruments and monetary policy powers that the SNB has at its disposal to implement its monetary policy. The instruments based on market transactions are only broadly outlined in the provisions regarding the SNB's scope of business (arts. 9-13 NBA); further details are contained in the Guidelines on Monetary Policy Instruments and the Investment Policy Guidelines. The monetary policy powers include the compilation of financial market statistics (arts. 14-16 NBA), the obligation of the banks to hold minimum reserves (arts. 17-18 NBA) and the oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures (arts. 19-21 NBA). With effect from 1 January 2016, some of the provisions on the oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures are set out in arts. 22 et seq. and art. 83 of the Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA). Individual provisions on the monetary policy powers are contained in the National Bank Ordinance.

The National Bank Act also governs the SNB's organisational structure (arts. 3, 33-48 NBA). The corporate bodies of the SNB are the eleven-member Bank Council, the Governing Board, the Audit Board and the General Meeting of Shareholders.

Federal Act on the Swiss National Bank (National Bank Act)
Message concerning the revision of the National Bank Act
German:
French:
PDF (1237 kB)
PDF (1418 kB)
Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA)

National Bank Ordinance (NBO)

Implementing regulations on the monetary policy powers of the National Bank (compilation of statistics, minimum reserve regulations, and oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures) are laid down in an ordinance adopted by the SNB Governing Board on 18 March 2004. The legal basis for this ordinance is art. 15 para. 3, art. 18 para. 5 and art. 20 para 5 NBA.

In the chapter "Statistical surveys", the NBO spells out the principles on data collection as well as the rights and obligations of the financial market participants required to provide information. The collection of statistical data must adhere to the principle of reasonableness. The coverage and frequency of statistical surveys as well as the parties required to report statistical data are described in the Annex to the NBO.

The chapter on "Minimum reserves" is relatively brief, since the most important elements of the minimum reserve regulations are already laid down in the wording of the law itself.

Finally, the chapter "Oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures" contains the provisions on determining systemically important central counterparties, central securities depositories and payment systems and their business processes, as well as the special requirements with which they must comply. These requirements are based on international standards. In order for the SNB to identify the central counterparties, central securities depositories and payment systems that pose a risk to system stability, they must provide the SNB with necessary information and documentation.

National Bank Ordinance
Notes on the National Bank Ordinance of 18 March 2004 (available in German only)
PDF (319 kB)
Notes on the revision of the National Bank Ordinance of 10 June 2013 (available in German only)
PDF (320 kB)
Notes on the revision of the National Bank Ordinance of 26 November 2015 (available in German and French only)
German:
French:
PDF (133 kB) 
PDF (131 kB) 
Technical Directive governing the submission of statistical data
PDF (56 kB)

Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments

The Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments, which entered into force on 1 May 2000, lays down the currency unit and contains regulations on all the characteristic features of currency and money (legal tender). In addition to coins and banknotes, Swiss franc denominated sight deposits at the Swiss National Bank are also deemed to be legal tender. The institutions that process payment transactions (commercial banks and several of their jointly operated organisations, Swiss Post and large security transport companies) are entitled to open a sight deposit account with the National Bank.

Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments
Coinage Ordinance
German:
French:
Italian:

Imprimer

Constitution et lois (état: octobre 2016)

Constitution

Les dispositions juridiques régissant la monnaie suisse et l'activité de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) figurent à l'art. 99 de la Constitution. Cet article inscrit en outre dans le droit constitutionnel l'indépendance de la BNS et fait obligation à celle-ci de constituer, à partir de ses revenus, des réserves monétaires suffisantes, dont une partie en or. Cette mesure vise à asseoir la confiance du public dans la stabilité de la valeur de la monnaie. La mission de la banque centrale est formulée comme suit: la BNS mène une politique monétaire servant les intérêts généraux du pays. L'art. 99, al. 4, de la Constitution précise également que la BNS doit verser au moins deux tiers de son bénéfice net aux cantons.

Loi sur la Banque nationale (LBN)

Au niveau légal, la loi sur la Banque nationale (LBN) du 3 octobre 2003, en vigueur depuis le 1er mai 2004, forme le cadre dans lequel la BNS exerce son activité. Le mandat de la BNS et l'indépendance de celle-ci sont concrétisés dans cette loi. L'indépendance est contrebalancée par l'obligation de rendre compte au Conseil fédéral, au Parlement et au public (art. 5 à 7 LBN). Conformément à la Constitution, la BNS est tenue de constituer, à partir de ses revenus, des réserves monétaires suffisantes. Aussi une règle explicite sur la détermination du bénéfice figure-t-elle dans la LBN et permet-elle à la BNS de renforcer ses provisions en fonction de l'évolution de l'économie suisse (art. 30 LBN).

La loi décrit également les instruments dont dispose la BNS pour mettre en œuvre sa politique monétaire et ses attributions en la matière. Les opérations que la BNS peut conclure ne sont définies que sommairement dans les art. 9 à 13 LBN; pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter les Directives générales de la BNS sur ses instruments de politique monétaire ainsi que celles sur la politique de placement. Font partie des attributions de la Banque nationale en matière de politique monétaire l’établissement de statistiques sur les marchés financiers (art. 14 à 16 LBN), l’obligation faite aux banques de détenir des réserves minimales (art. 17 et 18 LBN) et la surveillance des infrastructures des marchés financiers reconnues d’importance systémique (art. 19 à 21 LBN; depuis le 1er janvier 2016, une partie des dispositions sur la surveillance des infrastructures des marchés financiers reconnues d’importance systémique figure dans la loi sur l’infrastructure des marchés financiers aux art. 22 ss et 83 LIMF). Les règles régissant les attributions en matière de politique monétaire sont détaillées dans l’ordonnance de la Banque nationale.

La loi sur la Banque nationale fixe également la structure organisationnelle de la BNS (art. 3 et 33 à 48 LBN). Les organes de celle-ci sont le Conseil de banque (11 membres), la Direction générale, l'organe de révision et l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires.

Loi fédérale sur la Banque nationale suisse (LBN)
Message concernant la révision de la loi sur la Banque nationale
PDF (1418 kB)
Loi sur l’infrastructure des marchés financiers (LIMF)

Ordonnance de la Banque nationale (OBN)

Les dispositions d'exécution concernant les attributions de la Banque nationale en matière de politique monétaire (établissement de statistiques, obligation faite aux banques de détenir des réserves minimales et surveillance des infrastructures des marchés financiers d'importance systémique) figurent dans une ordonnance approuvée par la Direction générale de la BNS le 18 mars 2004. Cette ordonnance est basée sur les points suivants de la LBN: art. 15, al. 3, art. 18, al. 5 et art. 20, al. 5.

Dans le chapitre afférent aux statistiques, l'OBN fixe les principes de la collecte des données ainsi que les droits et obligations des personnes physiques et morales tenues de fournir des données. Les enquêtes doivent notamment satisfaire au principe de la proportionnalité. Leurs objets, leur fréquence et le cercle des personnes concernées sont précisés dans des annexes à l'OBN.

Le chapitre concernant les réserves minimales des banques est relativement bref, étant donné que les éléments les plus importants de la réglementation figurent déjà dans la loi.

Enfin, le chapitre sur la surveillance des infrastructures des marchés financiers d’importance systémique rassemble les dispositions régissant la détermination des systèmes de paiement, des dépositaires centraux, des contreparties centrales et de leurs processus organisationnels qui sont reconnus d’importance systémique et définit les exigences spéciales applicables à ces infrastructures. Ces exigences s’inspirent de normes internationales. Les exploitants des systèmes de paiement, les dépositaires centraux et les contreparties centrales sont tenus de fournir à la Banque nationale les renseignements et documents dont elle a besoin pour identifier, parmi ces infrastructures, celles qui peuvent constituer un danger pour la stabilité du système financier.

Ordonnance de la Banque nationale
Commentaire afférent à l'ordonnance de la Banque nationale (en allemand uniquement) du 18 mars 2004
PDF (1237 kB)
Rapport explicatif sur la révision partielle de l’OBN (en allemand uniquement) du 10 juin 2013
PDF (320 kB)
Rapport explicatif sur la révision partielle de l’OBN du 26 novembre 2015
PDF (131 kB) 
Directive technique relative au mode de transmission des données statistiques
PDF (93 kB)

Loi fédérale sur l'unité monétaire et les moyens de paiement (LUMMP)

La loi sur l'unité monétaire et les moyens de paiement (LUMMP), en vigueur depuis le 1er mai 2000, définit l'unité monétaire de la Suisse et régit toutes les questions d'intérêt public afférentes à l'unité monétaire et aux moyens de paiement émis par l'Etat ou la banque centrale. Ceux-ci sont formés non seulement des espèces métalliques et des billets de banque, mais aussi des avoirs à vue en francs suisses à la BNS. Les agents du trafic des paiements (les banques commerciales et certaines de leurs entreprises communes, la Poste et de grandes entreprises assurant le transport de fonds) ont le droit de demander l’ouverture d’un compte à vue à la Banque nationale.

Loi fédérale sur l'unité monétaire et les moyens de paiement (LUMMP)
Ordonnance sur la monnaie