Print

International Monetary Fund

Membership

The IMF (www.imf.org) has 189 member countries, practically all of the world's sovereign states. Switzerland joined the IMF in 1992 and, together with Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Poland, Serbia, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan, forms a constituency with a seat in the Executive Board. The combined voting power of this constituency is 2.745% of total voting power, with the Swiss share at 1.173%.

Governance

Switzerland's IMF membership is exercised jointly between the SNB and the Federal Department of Finance. Various representatives participate in IMF bodies. The Head of the Federal Department of Finance is one of the 24 members of the International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC), the main advisory body of the IMF, which meets twice a year. The Chairman of the Governing Board of the SNB is Switzerland's representative on the IMF Board of Governors. The Board, which meets once a year, delegates all the decision-making on almost all issues to the Executive Board, a standing body located in Washington D.C. The Executive Board is composed  of 24 directors which represent the Fund’s member countries. Most countries belong to constituencies. A Swiss Executive Director represents the constituency led by Switzerland in the Executive Board.

Mandate

The IMF primarily promotes macroeconomic and financial stability. To exercise its mandate, it focuses on three areas: surveillance, lending and technical assistance.

Surveillance

The IMF assesses economic developments on a national, regional and global level. It consults with its members on a regular basis and advises them on economic and monetary policy issues. On a bilateral level, surveillance is reflected in Article IV consultations and in Financial Sector Stability Assessments (FSSA), with the aim of sensitising authorities and capital markets for problems and strengthening market discipline. The main focus of the IMF’s efforts is crisis prevention.

Lending

The IMF provides financial assistance to countries with temporary balance of payment needs. The Fund’s lending criteria are based on economic considerations and tailored to country-specific circumstances. The lending decisions also take into consideration the financial solidity of the Fund. The IMF has taken part in and coordinated comprehensive financial support programmes to combat serveral financial crisis.

Technical assistance

The IMF helps member countries build and reform the institutions necessary to implement sound macroeconomic policies and to establish and maintain financial stability. Technical assistance is provided primarily to low-income countries. Its perspective is medium-term.

The IMF and Switzerland

The IMF monitors and assesses the economic performance of each of its members on a regular basis (usually once a year). The most recent assessment of the Swiss economy (Switzerland: 2015 Article IV Consultation-Staff Report; Press Release; and Statement by the Executive Director for Switzerland) is available at: http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/cat/longres.aspx?sk=42954.

At less frequent intervals, the IMF assesses the stability of member countries’ financial systems. The most recent assessment of the Swiss financial sector (Financial System Stability Assessment Update) is available at: http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/cat/longres.aspx?sk=41590.0.

Switzerland's financial relations with the IMF (end-October 2016)

The financial obligations arising from the membership in the IMF are met by the Swiss National Bank.

 
Maximum amount
Of which drawn
Of which not yet drawn
Quota
SDR 5,771.1 m
(CHF 7,848.7 m)
SDR 13.0 m
(CHF 17.6 m)
SDR 5,758.1 m
(CHF 7,831.1 m)
GAB and NAB
SDR 5,540.7 m
(CHF 7,535.3 m)
SDR 968.2 m
(CHF 1,316.8 m)
SDR 4,572.4 m
(CHF 6,218.5 m)
PRGT
SDR 581.8 m
(CHF 791.2 m)
SDR 95.7 m
(CHF 130.2 m)
SDR 486.1 m
(CHF 661.1 m)
SDR Voluntary Trading Arrangement
SDR 1,644.0 m
(CHF 2,235.8 m)
SDR -39.9 m
(CHF -54.3 m)
SDR 1,683.9 m
(CHF 2,290.1 m)

Special Drawing Right (SDR)

The SDR is an International Monetary Fund (IMF) unit of account calculated from the weighted exchange rates of the US dollar, euro, yen, pound sterling and, since 1 October 2016, the Chinese renminbi.

Quota

Quota are the primary source of IMF funds. They are calculated on the basis of each country’s economic capacity (GDP, current account receipts and payments and their variability, currency reserves). Switzerland’s quota amounts to SDR 5,771.1 million, which is 1.21% of the IMF’s quota total of SDR 477 billion. The portion of the Swiss quota used by the IMF is a liquid item which the SNB can draw on request. The used portion of the Swiss quota as well as the funds used under the General Arrangements to Borrow (GAB) and the New Arrangements to Borrow (NAB) form part of the reserve assets.

General Arrangements to Borrow and New Arrangements to Borrow

The GAB and the NAB allow the IMF to borrow funds, in exceptional circumstances and in the event of a shortage of funds, up to a total maximum amount of SDR 182.4 billion. However, the GAB can only be activated if agreement has not been reached under the NAB. The maximum amount of the GAB is SDR 17 billion. The funds used under the GAB and the NAB also form part of the reserve assets.

Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust

The Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust (PRGT) grants loans to low-income member countries at preferential terms. The PRGT is financed through bilateral contributions and through the IMF's own funds. The Swiss National Bank funds the Swiss contribution to the PRGT capital on a loan basis. The Confederation provides the SNB with a guarantee that the loans, including interest, will be repaid on time. It also funds the interest rate subsidies.

SDR Voluntary Trading Arrangement

The Special Drawing Right (SDR) is not only a unit of account but also a means of international payment. As part of the Voluntary Trading Arrangement with the IMF, the SNB has committed itself to purchase (+) or sell (-) SDRs against foreign currencies (USD, EUR) up to an agreed maximum.

Imprimer

Fonds monétaire international

Adhésion

Le FMI (www.imf.org) compte 189 pays membres, dont presque tous les Etats souverains du monde. La Suisse l'a rejoint en 1992. Avec l'Azerbaïdjan, le Kazakhstan, la Pologne, la République kirghize, la Serbie, le Tadjikistan et le Turkménistan, elle constitue un groupe de pays qu'elle représente au Conseil d'administration. Ce groupe dispose de 2,745% des voix, dont 1,173% reviennent à la Suisse.

Organisation

La fonction de membre du FMI est exercée conjointement par la Banque nationale et le Département fédéral des finances. Des représentants de la Suisse sont actifs dans les divers organes du FMI. Le chef du Département fédéral des finances est un des 24 membres du Comité monétaire et financier international (International Monetary and Financial Committee, IMFC), organe consultatif principal du FMI, qui siège deux fois par an. Le président de la Direction générale de la BNS représente la Suisse au Conseil des gouverneurs du FMI, qui est l'organe décisionnel suprême de l'institution et est constitué d'un représentant de chaque pays membre. Le Conseil des gouverneurs se réunit une fois par an. La majorité des décisions est cependant prise par le Conseil d'administration, organe permanent dont le siège est à Washington D.C. Le Conseil d'administration est composé de 24 administrateurs, qui représentent tous les pays membres du FMI. Pour ce faire, la plupart des pays se sont constitués en un groupe. Un administrateur suisse représente au Conseil d'administration le groupe de pays dont la Suisse fait partie.

Mandat

Le FMI œuvre essentiellement en faveur de la stabilité macroéconomique et financière. Pour cela, il se concentre sur trois domaines: la surveillance, l'octroi de crédits et l'aide technique.

Surveillance

Le FMI examine l'évolution économique aux niveaux national, régional et mondial. Il consulte régulièrement ses pays membres et les conseille en matière de politique économique et monétaire. Sur le plan bilatéral, le FMI exerce une surveillance, qui se traduit par des consultations au titre de l'article IV, et par des « Financial Sector Stability Assessments » (FSSA). Il contribue par là à susciter une prise de conscience et une discipline accrue de la part des autorités et des marchés des capitaux. La prévention des crises occupe une place centrale dans les efforts que déploie le FMI.

Octroi de crédits

Le FMI accorde un soutien financier aux pays ayant temporairement des problèmes de balance des paiements. Les critères déterminants pour l'octroi d'un crédit sont basés sur des considérations économiques et prennent en compte les spécificités des différents pays. Les décisions du FMI en la matière prennent aussi en compte sa solidité financière. Le FMI a participé à des programmes d'aide nombreux et vastes visant la résolution de crises financières de différents types et a coordonné le soutien accordé.

Aide technique

Le FMI appuie les pays membres dans l'organisation et la réforme des institutions nécessaires à la mise en œuvre d'une politique macroéconomique solide et à l'établissement et au maintien de la stabilité financière. L'aide technique est destinée principalement aux pays en développement à faible revenu dans une perspective à moyen terme.

Le FMI et la Suisse

Le FMI analyse régulièrement – en règle générale une fois par an – l'évolution économique de tous les pays membres. La dernière analyse de la Suisse (« Switzerland: 2015 Article IV Consultation-Staff Report; Press Release; and Statement by the Executive Director for Switzerland ») est disponible sous: http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/cat/longres.aspx?sk=42954.

A un rythme moins soutenu, le FMI évalue la stabilité du système financier de chaque pays membre. La dernière évaluation du secteur financier suisse (« Switzerland: Financial System Stability Assessment Update ») est disponible sous: http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/cat/longres.aspx?sk=41590.0.

Relations financières entre la Suisse et le FMI (état à fin octobre 2016)

Les prestations financières ci-après, qui dérivent de l’adhésion au FMI, sont fournies par la Banque nationale.

 
Montants maximums
Montants utilisés
Montants encore à disposition
Quotes-parts
5 771,1 mio. DTS
(7 848,7 mio. CHF)
13,0 mio. DTS
(17,6 mio. CHF)
5 758,1 mio. DTS
(7 831,1 mio. CHF)
AGE et NAE
5 540,7 mio. DTS
(7 535,3 mio. CHF)
968,2 mio. DTS
(1 316,8 mio. CHF)
4 572,4 mio. DTS
(6 218,5 mio. CHF)
FFRPC
581,8 mio. DTS
(791,2 mio. CHF)
95,7 mio. DTS
(130,2 mio. CHF)
486,1 mio. DTS
(661,1 mio. CHF)
DTS – Accord d'échange volontaire
1 644,0 mio. DTS
(2 235,8 mio. CHF)
-39,9 mio. DTS
(-54,3 mio. CHF)
1 683,9 mio. DTS
(2 290,1 mio. CHF)

Droit de tirage spécial (DTS)

Le droit de tirage spécial est une unité de compte du FMI dont la valeur est calculée sur la base des cours pondérés du dollar des Etats-Unis, de l'euro, du yen japonais, de la livre sterling et, à partir du 1er octobre 2016, du renminbi chinois.

Quotes-parts

Les quotes-parts constituent la principale source de financement du FMI. Elles sont déterminées en fonction de divers indicateurs des économies nationales (produit intérieur brut, recettes et dépenses de la balance des transactions courantes et leurs variations, réserves monétaires). La quote-part de la Suisse se monte à 5 771,1 millions de DTS, soit 1,21% du total dont dispose le FMI (477 milliards de DTS). La part de la quote-part suisse à laquelle le FMI a recouru représente une position liquide que la BNS peut toucher sur demande. La part utilisée de la quote-part suisse ainsi que la part des AGE et des NAE auxquelles le FMI a recouru font partie des réserves monétaires.

Accords généraux d'emprunt (AGE) et Nouveaux accords d'emprunt (NAE)

Les AGE et les NAE permettent au FMI d'obtenir des crédits totalisant 182.4 milliards de DTS au maximum, dans des cas exceptionnels et lorsque ses propres ressources financières sont insuffisantes. Les AGE ne peuvent toutefois être activés que s'il n'est pas possible de s'entendre sur une activation des NAE. Les lignes de crédit disponibles au titre des AGE se montent à 17 milliards de DTS au maximum. La part des AGE et des NAE à laquelle le FMI a recouru fait également partie des réserves monétaires.

Fonds fiduciaire pour la réduction de la pauvreté et pour la croissance

Le Fonds fiduciaire pour la réduction de la pauvreté et pour la croissance, ou FFRPC (Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust, PRGT), octroie aux pays membres à faible revenu des crédits à des conditions préférentielles. Son financement est assuré par des contributions bilatérales et les propres ressources du FMI. La Banque nationale assure, sous forme de crédits, la participation de la Suisse au capital du FFRPC. La Confédération garantit à la Banque nationale le remboursement dans les délais de ces crédits, y compris les intérêts; elle subventionne en outre les intérêts sur ces crédits.

DTS – Accord d'échange volontaire

Le droit de tirage spécial n'est pas seulement une unité de compte, c'est aussi un moyen de paiement international. Dans le cadre de l’accord d’échange volontaire avec le FMI, la BNS s’est engagée à acheter (+) ou à vendre (-) des DTS contre des devises (dollars des Etats-Unis, euros) à concurrence du plafond convenu.