Print

Financial market infrastructure

Systemically important financial market infrastructures in Switzerland

The Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) payment system

Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) is the central electronic Swiss payment system, in which the participating financial institutions process their large-value payments as well as a part of their retail payments in Swiss francs. It is operated on behalf of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) by SIX Interbank Clearing Ltd. SIC also has a key role to play in the implementation of the SNB’s monetary policy.

www.six-interbank-clearing.com

Report: The Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) payment system
PDF (263 kB)

The SIX SIS central securities depository and the SECOM securities settlement system

As one of the key elements in Switzerland’s financial market infrastructure, the SECOM securities settlement system, which is operated by the SIX SIS Ltd central securities depository, provides for the custody and settlement of tradable financial instruments in Switzerland. Financial market transactions concluded at SIX Swiss Exchange – the Swiss stock exchange – can be settled fully automatically through SECOM, i.e. without any manual intervention. This contributes to the low-cost, low-risk integration of trading, clearing and settlement. The custody and settlement of financial instruments entails various risks, both for the service provider and for their users. The organisation and design of SECOM ensure that custody and settlement risks are minimised or eliminated as far as possible.

www.six-securities-services.com

Report: SECOM, the securities settlement system
PDF (291 kB)

SIX x-clear, the central counterparty

When a trade is concluded on a trading platform, a central counterparty acts as intermediary between the trading partners. In so doing, it takes on the obligations incurred by the trading partners and guarantees the fulfilment of the obligations. In addition, a central counterparty keeps account of, sets values for and offsets the trading positions. On the settlement date, it initiates the settlement of the delivery and payment obligations. SIX x-clear Ltd takes on these tasks for shares, exchange-traded funds (ETFs) and bonds traded on SIX Swiss Exchange (SSX) and on the London Stock Exchange (LSE). It also offers its clearing services on various multilateral trading facilities (MTFs). SIX x-clear is interoperable with central counterparties LCH.Clearnet Ltd and EuroCCP N.V.

www.six-securities-services.com

Report: SIX x-clear, the central counterparty
PDF (317 kB)

Foreign systemically important financial market infrastructures

Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS), the foreign exchange settlement system

Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) is an international payment system through which foreign exchange transactions in 17 currencies can be settled. By using a payment-versus-payment mechanism, CLS eliminates the settlement risk inherent in the settlement of currency transactions via correspondent banks. Given the substantial transaction volumes on the global foreign exchange market, CLS, by virtue of its risk-reducing settlement mechanism, makes a significant contribution to the stability of the global financial system.

www.cls-group.com

Report: The Continuous Linked Settlement foreign exchange settlement system (CLS)
PDF (2131 kB)

LCH.Clearnet Ltd

LCH.Clearnet Ltd is part of LCH.Clearnet Group, which is majority-owned by the London Stock Exchange (LSE). LCH.Clearnet Ltd is one of Europe’s leading central counterparties. Its activities include clearing share trades and ETF transactions for the London Stock Exchange (LSE), SIX Swiss Exchange, BATS Chi-X Europe and Equiduct.

www.lchclearnet.com

Eurex Clearing AG

Eurex Clearing AG is owned by Deutsche Börse Ltd and is one of Europe’s leading central counterparties. For the Swiss financial market, Eurex Clearing’s activity as central counterparty for the Eurex stock exchange is important; this exchange is used for trading, among other things, derivatives based on underlying Swiss assets.

www.eurexclearing.com

Retail payments

Overview

Retail payments include payments for the purchase of goods and services. Such payments are usually for small amounts and not urgent, and account for the lion’s share of all the payments processed in an economy. Another characteristic of retail payments is that a variety of different payment instruments can be used, and that a number of banks and non-banks are involved in the provision of payment instruments and the processing of payments. By contrast, large-value payments between financial market participants tend to be urgent and time-critical, and are usually settled through central banks’ real-time gross settlement systems. Although large-value payments make up a small proportion of the total number of payments in an economy, they vastly exceed retail payments in terms of the amounts involved.

The SNB’s system oversight mandate also covers retail payments, albeit with a different focus compared to its oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures. Participants in retail payments are subject to a duty to provide statistical information and – depending on their importance – an obligation of disclosure to the SNB. In the area of retail payments, the SNB focuses mainly on monitoring for the early identification of relevant developments and possible hazards.

Payment card systems

Payment cards are one of the payment instruments used in retail payments, and allow cashless payments at the point of sale. In broad terms, they can be divided into three categories: pay later (credit cards), pay now (debit cards) and pay before (prepaid cards). In addition to consumers and merchants, there are two other groups that are involved in payment card systems: issuers (the companies that issue the cards) and acquirers (the companies that recruit merchants). The coordination of all the parties involved is multi-layered and complex, not least because payment card systems are two-sided markets, which are governed by laws of economics that differ considerably from those governing conventional goods markets.

Report: An examination of the economics of payment card systems
PDF (1812 kB)

Swiss value chain: integration of systems

The Swiss value chain allows the complete electronic integration of securities trading, clearing and settlement. This ensures efficient and safe settlement of securities transactions according to the delivery-versus-payment principle, thereby eliminating settlement risk. The Swiss value chain consists of four elements: (1) the electronic trading platforms SIX Swiss Exchange (securities and structured products), SIX Repo AG (repo) and Eurex (derivatives); (2) the central counterparties SIX x-clear, London Clearing House (LCH) and Eurex Clearing; (3) the securities settlement system SECOM; and (4) the payment systems Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) and euroSIC. The individual systems of the Swiss value chain are joint enterprises of the Swiss financial marketplace and are owned by Swiss financial intermediaries (except for Eurex, which is owned by Deutsche Börse Ltd; Eurex Clearing is, in turn, a subsidiary of Eurex).

Report: Behind the scenes of financial markets: A look at the Swiss financial market infrastructure
PDF (233 kB)

Imprimer

Infrastructures des marchés financiers

Infrastructures des marchés financiers d’importance systémique en Suisse

Le système de paiement Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC)

Le Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) est le système suisse centralisé de paiement électronique par lequel les établissements financiers qui y participent règlent les paiements portant sur de gros montants ainsi qu’une partie des paiements portant sur de faibles montants (paiements de détail) en francs suisses. Il est exploité, sur mandat de la Banque nationale, par SIX Interbank Clearing SA. Le système SIC est également d’une importance capitale pour la mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire de la Banque nationale.

www.six-interbank-clearing.com

Rapport sur le système SIC
Allemand:
PDF (59 kB)
 
Anglais:
PDF (64 kB)

Le dépositaire central SIX SIS et le système de règlement des opérations sur titres SECOM

Le système de règlement des opérations sur titres SECOM est un élément central de l’infrastructure suisse des marchés financiers. Exploité par le dépositaire central SIX SIS SA, il permet d’assurer la conservation des instruments financiers négociables et le règlement des opérations sur ces instruments en Suisse. Les opérations conclues à la Bourse suisse (SIX Swiss Exchange) peuvent être réglées de façon entièrement informatisée, c’est-à-dire sans intervention manuelle, par le système SECOM, ce qui permet de réduire les coûts et les risques liés au négoce, à la compensation et au règlement. La conservation des instruments financiers et le règlement des opérations sur ces instruments comportent eux aussi des risques, tant pour le fournisseur de prestations que pour le bénéficiaire. Le système SECOM est conçu de telle sorte que ces risques soient éliminés ou réduits au minimum.

www.six-securities-services.com

Rapport sur le système SECOM
Allemand:
PDF (59 kB)
 
Anglais:
PDF (64 kB)

La contrepartie centrale SIX x-clear

Au moment de la conclusion d’une opération entre deux parties sur une plate-forme de négoce, une contrepartie centrale intervient pour prendre en charge les engagements contractés et garantir leur réalisation. De plus, elle enregistre, évalue et compense les positions de négoce et déclenche à l’échéance fixée l’exécution de l’ordre de paiement ou de livraison concerné. SIX x-clear SA se charge de ces tâches pour les actions, les exchange traded funds (ETF) et les obligations négociés auprès de SIX Swiss Exchange (SSX) et du London Stock Exchange (LSE). SIX x-clear propose en outre ses services de clearing à différents systèmes multilatéraux de négociation (multilateral trading facilities, MTF). Elle garantit l’interopérabilité avec les contreparties centrales LCH.Clearnet Ltd et EuroCCP N.V.

www.six-securities-services.com

Rapport sur le système x-clear
Allemand:
PDF (59 kB)
 
Anglais:
PDF (64 kB)

Infrastructures des marchés financiers d’importance systémique à l’étranger

Le système de règlement des opérations de change Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS)

Le Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) est un système mondial de paiement pour le règlement des opérations de change en 17 monnaies. A l’aide d’un mécanisme «paiement contre paiement», le CLS élimine le risque de règlement inhérent aux opérations de change qui sont réglées par des correspondants bancaires. Compte tenu du volume élevé des transactions sur les marchés des changes internationaux, le CLS apporte une contribution importante à la stabilité du système financier mondial grâce à son mécanisme de règlement permettant de réduire les risques.

www.cls-group.com

Rapport sur le Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS)
Allemand:
PDF (59 kB)
 
Anglais:
PDF (64 kB)

LCH.Clearnet Ltd

La chambre de compensation LCH.Clearnet Ltd fait partie du LCH.Clearnet Group, qui appartient majoritairement à la London Stock Exchange (LSE). Elle est l’une des principales contreparties centrales d’Europe. Elle compense notamment des opérations sur actions et sur ETF de la LSE, de la SIX Swiss Exchange, de BATS Chi-X Europe et d’Equiduct.

www.lchclearnet.com

Eurex Clearing SA

Eurex Clearing SA, qui appartient à la Deutsche Börse AG, est l’une des principales contreparties centrales d’Europe. Le rôle de contrepartie centrale assumé par Eurex Clearing SA pour la Bourse Eurex est particulièrement important pour les marchés financiers suisses, car des produits dérivés ayant pour sous-jacents des actifs suisses sont aussi négociés à la Bourse Eurex. 

www.eurexclearing.com

Paiements de détail

Aperçu

Les paiements afférents à l’achat de biens et de services comptent au nombre des paiements de détail. Il s’agit habituellement de paiements non urgents portant sur de petits montants. Ils représentent la grande majorité de tous les paiements exécutés dans une économie. Les paiements de détail se caractérisent en outre par le grand nombre d’instruments de paiement pouvant être utilisés et par la diversité des établissements bancaires et non bancaires impliqués dans la mise à disposition de tels instruments et dans le traitement des paiements. A l’opposé, les paiements portant sur de gros montants effectués entre les acteurs des marchés financiers sont généralement urgents et soumis à une contrainte de temps. Aussi sont-ils habituellement réglés dans les systèmes de paiement à règlement brut en temps réel des banques centrales. S’ils représentent une part marginale du nombre de paiements exécutés dans une économie, ils dépassent nettement les paiements de détail en termes de montant.

Le mandat de la BNS en matière de surveillance des systèmes porte également sur les paiements de détail, mais la perspective est différente que pour les infrastructures des marchés financiers d’importance systémique. Les acteurs impliqués dans les paiements de détail sont soumis à l’obligation de fournir des données statistiques et – en fonction de leur importance – à l’obligation d’informer vis-à-vis de la BNS. Dans le domaine des paiements de détail, la BNS concentre ses activités sur le monitoring en vue d’identifier suffisamment tôt les développements importants et les dangers potentiels.

Systèmes de cartes de paiement

Les cartes de paiement, qui font partie des instruments utilisés pour les paiements de détail, permettent de régler sans liquidités des biens et des services dans les points de vente. On distingue trois grandes catégories: les cartes de crédit (paiement ultérieur), les cartes de débit (paiement immédiat) et les cartes prépayées (paiement anticipé). Les systèmes de cartes de paiement comptent plusieurs participants: les consommateurs, les commerçants, les émetteurs de cartes et les acquéreurs (entreprises recrutant les commerçants). La coordination de ces participants est variée et complexe, du fait notamment que ces systèmes constituent des marchés bilatéraux dont les règles économiques diffèrent sensiblement de celles qui prévalent sur les marchés classiques de biens et services.

Rapport sur l’économie des systèmes de cartes de paiement
Allemand:
PDF (59 kB)
 
Anglais:
PDF (64 kB)

Swiss Value Chain: intégration des systèmes

La Swiss Value Chain permet une intégration entièrement électronique des opérations sur titres – négoce, compensation et règlement. Le règlement des opérations sur titres se déroule selon le principe livraison contre paiement, ce qui élimine le risque de règlement et garantit l'efficacité et la sécurité. La Swiss Value Chain est constituée de quatre éléments: (1) les plates-formes de négoce électronique SIX Swiss Exchange (papiers valeurs et produits structurés), SIX Repo AG (Repos) et Eurex (dérivés); (2) les contreparties centrales SIX x-clear, London Clearing House (LCH) et Eurex Clearing; (3) le système de règlement des opérations sur titres SECOM; (4) les systèmes de paiement Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) et euroSIC. Ces différents éléments sont une œuvre collective de la place financière suisse; les intermédiaires financiers suisses en sont les propriétaires (à l’exception d’Eurex, qui appartient à la Deutsche Börse AG; Eurex Clearing, quant à elle, est une filiale d’Eurex).

Rapport sur l’économie des systèmes de cartes de paiement
Allemand:
PDF (59 kB)
 
Anglais:
PDF (64 kB)