Print

Oversight of financial market infrastructures

The Swiss National Bank’s oversight mandate

The National Bank Act requires the SNB to oversee financial market infrastructures in Switzerland and also, in certain circumstances, abroad. In addition, the SNB lays down special requirements for the operation of financial market infrastructures which pose risks for the stability of the financial system. The implementing provisions on oversight are set out in the National Bank Ordinance. Since 1 January 2016, some of the provisions on oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures are contained in the Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA).

By overseeing financial market infrastructures operated by the private sector, the SNB promotes their security and efficiency. In so doing, it gives priority to reducing systemic risk. First, it is important to ensure that neither technical system failure nor financial difficulties on the part of financial market infrastructure operators give rise to major credit or liquidity problems for financial intermediaries or that these result in severe disruption on financial markets. Second, the contractual framework, and, in particular, the rules and procedures for the different systems should be formulated such that payment or delivery difficulties of individual system participants do not spill over to other financial intermediaries, linked financial market infrastructures or the financial markets. The sole objective of system oversight by the SNB is to ensure financial stability, which in turn is a precondition for the effectiveness of monetary policy. Individual creditor protection, consumer protection or the protection of financial market infrastructures from criminal abuse, however, are not objectives of SNB oversight.

Report:Oversight of payment and securities settlement systems by the Swiss National Bank
PDF (155 kB)

A glimpse behind the scenes of the Swiss financial markets

Roughly speaking, the financial system can be subdivided into three main components: financial markets, financial intermediaries and the financial market infrastructure.

The primary task of the financial markets is to gather information and process it in the form of prices, which allow financial market participants to allocate resources and risks efficiently.
Financial intermediaries are market participants themselves. At the same time, they also play an important role in bringing the other market participants together – in other words, they match supply and demand in the various market segments. In order to fulfil these tasks efficiently, financial markets and intermediaries depend on an appropriate financial market infrastructure. Particularly important are stock exchanges and trading platforms, as well as post-trading systems for clearing and settling payments, securities and other financial instruments, such as payment and securities settlement systems, central counterparties and central depositories. These systems are summarised under the term financial market infrastructures. The task of financial market infrastructures is to correctly transfer and record the financial assets (e.g. book money, securities and other financial instruments) traded between the parties and to do so at the time agreed.

Report: Behind the scenes of financial markets: A look at the Swiss financial market infrastructure
PDF (233 kB)

Imprimer

Surveillance des infrastructures des marchés financiers

Le mandat de surveillance de la Banque nationale suisse

En vertu de la loi sur la Banque nationale, la BNS a pour tâche de surveiller les infrastructures des marchés financiers en Suisse et, à certaines conditions, à l’étranger. La Banque nationale définit par ailleurs les exigences spéciales relatives à l’exploitation d’infrastructures des marchés financiers si celles-ci engendrent des risques pour la stabilité du système financier. Les dispositions d’exécution relatives à la surveillance sont définies dans l’ordonnance de la Banque nationale. Depuis le 1er janvier 2016, une partie des dispositions sur la surveillance des infrastructures des marchés financiers reconnues d’importance systémique figure dans la loi sur l’infrastructure des marchés financiers (LIMF).

Les infrastructures des marchés financiers sont exploitées par des entreprises privées. Par sa surveillance, la BNS renforce leur sécurité et leur efficacité en mettant l’accent sur la réduction des risques systémiques. Il s’agit d’une part d’empêcher qu’une panne technique ou des difficultés financières subies par les exploitants de ces infrastructures ne causent de graves problèmes de crédit ou de liquidité aux intermédiaires financiers ou n’entraînent de graves dysfonctionnements sur les marchés financiers. D’autre part, les bases contractuelles, et en particulier les règles et les processus relatifs aux systèmes, doivent être définis de telle sorte que les difficultés de paiement ou de livraison d’un participant ne se transmettent pas de façon incontrôlée à des intermédiaires financiers, à des infrastructures connexes des marchés financiers ou aux marchés financiers eux-mêmes. Par son activité de surveillance des systèmes, la BNS vise uniquement à préserver la stabilité financière, et poursuit donc en définitive un objectif de politique monétaire. Par contre, cette surveillance n’a pas pour fin la protection individuelle des créanciers ou des consommateurs, ni la protection des infrastructures des marchés financiers contre les abus d’ordre criminel.

Rapport sur le mandat de surveillance de la BNS
Allemand:
PDF (59 kB)
 
Anglais:
PDF (64 kB)

Dans les coulisses des marchés financiers suisses

Le système financier se subdivise schématiquement en trois composantes: les marchés financiers, les intermédiaires financiers et les infrastructures des marchés financiers.

Les marchés financiers ont pour principale fonction de rassembler des informations et d’émettre par le biais des prix les signaux correspondants afin de permettre aux acteurs des marchés financiers d’allouer les ressources et de répartir les risques de façon efficace.
Les intermédiaires financiers sont eux-mêmes des acteurs des marchés financiers, mais jouent un rôle important dans la médiation entre les autres acteurs en reliant l’offre à la demande dans les différents segments du marché. Pour remplir ces fonctions efficacement, les marchés financiers et les intermédiaires doivent pouvoir s’appuyer sur des infrastructures des marchés financiers appropriées. Il s’agit en particulier des bourses et des plates-formes de négoce, mais aussi des systèmes qui assurent, en aval, la compensation et le règlement des paiements, des opérations sur titres et d’autres instruments financiers: systèmes de paiement, systèmes de règlement des opérations sur titres, contreparties centrales et dépositaires centraux. Ces systèmes sont regroupés sous la dénomination «infrastructures des marchés financiers». Ils ont pour fonction de garantir que les actifs financiers (monnaies scripturales, titres ou autres instruments financiers) sont transférés correctement et à la date convenue d’un partenaire commercial à l’autre et qu’ils sont comptabilisés en conséquence.

Rapport sur les infrastructures des marchés financiers
Allemand:
PDF (59 kB)
 
Anglais:
PDF (64 kB)