Design principles

If you click on a banknote in the overall view, detailed information on this note and the portrayed personality are displayed.

The front of each banknote is dominated by the portrait of the personality to whom the note is dedicated.

All the illustrations on the back of the banknotes are closely related to the work of the person portrayed.


The Work situation

The portrait is accompanied by a photograph in the top left-hand corner showing the personality in a typical work situation.


The portrait

Unlike the intaglio print originals on traditional banknotes, each portrait in this series is based on a contemporary photograph which has been meticulously prepared - by means of complex image processing techniques - as a banknote portrait.


«Lotar II» (1964)

This bronze bust shows Giacometti's fascination with surfaces. They underwent a stark transformation under his fingers and modelling knife, giving many of his figures the appearance of bare rock. The unevenness of the texture creates an intensive play of light and shade.


«Homme qui marche I» (1960)

The walking man - shown here from four different perspectives - is one of Giacometti's best known figures. In it, the artist has captured a physical movement. For Giacometti, the natural equilibrium of the stride symbolizes man's own life force.


Time-space relationship

This sketch stems from Giacometti's 1946 memoir: «Le RĂªve, le Sphinx et la mort de T.» Because the linear narrative style was inadequate to express his experience, Giacometti tried a sculptural solution: time is represented as a horizontal disc, the individual segments stand for various events. The panels at the edge tell the relevant stories.

Imprimer

Les caractéristiques générales du dessin

En cliquant sur les billets ci-dessus, vous accédez à des informations détaillées concernant les billets eux-mêmes et les personnalités représentées.

Au recto de chaque billet, le portrait est l'élément dominant.

Toutes les illustrations de verso ont un rapport étroit avec l'œuvre de la personnalité choisie.

 
A

L'artiste au travail

Dans la partie supérieure gauche, en complément du portrait, une photographie montre l'artiste au travail, dans une pose caractéristique.

B

Le portrait

Les portraits de la nouvelle série ont été réalisés non pas à l'aide de la technique de la gravure sur cuivre traditionnellement utilisée dans la fabrication des billets de banque, mais à partir de photographies d'époque longuement et patiemment travaillées sur ordinateur.

A

«Lotar II» (1964)

Ce buste en bronze montre la fascination de Giacometti pour les surfaces. Fortement pétries à la main et travaillées au couteau à modeler, les silhouettes de Giacometti prennent l'aspect du rocher. La surface inégale produit des jeux d'ombre et de lumière intenses.

B

«Homme qui marche I» (1960)

L'Homme qui marche, ici représenté quatre fois sous différents angles, est l'une des sculptures les plus célèbres de Giacometti. L'artiste réussit à lui imprimer un mouvement corporel. L'équilibre naturel de la marche symbolise pour Giacometti la force vitale de l'individu.

C

La relation temps-espace

Cette esquisse provient du texte autobiographique de Giacometti «Le Rêve, le Sphinx et la mort de T.» (1946). Comme le style narratif linéaire ne respectait pas son vécu, Giacometti a cherché une solution sous forme de modèle: il représente le temps comme un disque horizontal, dont les segments renvoient à différents événements. Sur les panneaux figurent les histoires qui s'y rapportent.