Print

Banknotes and coins

The transition to a new banknote series

The eighth banknote series will gradually be replaced by the ninth in a process scheduled to take place between 2016 and 2019. The first denomination in the new series – the 50-franc note – has been in circulation since 12 April 2016. The 20-franc note is planned for the following year. The remaining banknotes will subsequently be issued at half-yearly or yearly intervals. The SNB will announce each new date well in advance. Issuance of the entire new series is expected to be completed by 2019. Notes from the eighth banknote series remain valid until further notice.

Mandate

The Swiss National Bank has the exclusive right to issue banknotes in Switzerland. It supplies the economy with banknotes that meet high standards with respect to quality and security. It is also charged by the Confederation with the task of coin distribution.

Requirements

Swiss banknotes are traditionally required to meet high standards of security, functionality and design. The Swiss National Bank wants to ensure that the new series also meets these requirements.

Security features

It is simple to check if banknotes are genuine thanks to easy-to-find security features on all denominations. This applies both to the current and the new banknote series.

Useful information

Find out which banknotes have been recalled, but can still be exchanged, under which conditions the Swiss National Bank replaces damaged banknotes or coins and what has to be observed regarding the reproduction of banknotes. A list of all related instruction sheets can be found here.

Imprimer

Billets et monnaies

Passage à une nouvelle série de billets de banque

Le passage de la huitième à la neuvième série de billets aura lieu par étapes entre 2016 et 2019. Depuis le 12 avril 2016, le billet de 50 francs est la première coupure mise en circulation. Il est prévu que celle de 20 francs lui succède l’année suivante. Les autres coupures de la nouvelle série seront ensuite mises en circulation à des intervalles de six mois ou d’un an. La Banque nationale communiquera en temps opportun les dates exactes. Toutes les coupures devraient être mises en circulation d’ici fin 2019. Les billets de la huitième série conservent leur validité jusqu’à nouvel avis.

Mandat

La Banque nationale a le droit exclusif d’émettre des billets de banque en Suisse. Elle approvisionne l’économie en billets répondant à des exigences élevées sur le plan de la qualité comme sur celui de la sécurité. A la demande de la Confédération, elle met également les pièces de monnaie en circulation.

Exigences

Les billets de banque suisses doivent répondre à des exigences traditionnellement élevées sur le plan de la sécurité et de la fonctionnalité, mais aussi au niveau de la conception et du graphisme. La Banque nationale suisse met tout en œuvre pour que la nouvelle série de billets satisfasse elle aussi à de telles exigences.

Éléments de sécurité

Les éléments de sécurité permettent de vérifier aisément l’authenticité des billets. C’est le cas pour la huitième série comme pour la neuvième.

Bon à savoir…

Renseignez-vous sur les billets de banque rappelés, mais toujours échangeables, sur les conditions à remplir pour pouvoir échanger des billets de banque ou des pièces de monnaie détériorés ou sur les restrictions à prendre en considération lors de la reproduction de billets de banque. Un récapitulatif de toutes les Notes en rapport avec les billets et les pièces est disponible ici.