Print

Investment and risk control process

The National Bank Act (NBA) defines the SNB’s responsibilities and describes in detail its mandate with regard to asset management.

Bank Council and Risk Committee

The Bank Council is charged with the integral oversight of the investment and risk control process. It assesses the principles of the process and monitors compliance with them.  The Risk Committee – which is composed of three members of the Bank Council – supports the Bank Council in this task. It monitors risk management, in particular, and evaluates the governance of the investment process. Internal risk management reporting is addressed to the Governing Board and the Risk Committee.

Governing Board

The Governing Board defines the principles of the investment policy. In particular, it sets out the requirements with regard to the security, liquidity and return of the investments, as well as the eligible currencies, investment categories, instruments and borrower categories. The Governing Board decides on the composition of the currency reserves and other assets, and defines the foreign currency investment strategy. The investment strategy covers the allocation of foreign currency investments to different investment categories and currencies, and determines the scope for active management at operational level.

Operational level

An internal Investment Committee determines the tactical allocation on an operational level. Within the strategically prescribed range, it adjusts the currency allocation, the duration or the amount allocated to different investment categories. In this way, it adapts allocation to suit changing market conditions. The management of the individual portfolios is the responsibility of Portfolio Management. Portfolios from the Asia-Pacific region are managed by internal SNB portfolio managers in the Singapore branch office, which was opened on 1 July 2013. Its activities, especially trade and portfolio management, are fully integrated into the investment and risk control process in Switzerland. The majority of investments are managed by internal portfolio managers. External asset managers are used to obtain efficient access to specific investment categories and for conducting performance comparisons with internal portfolio management.

Risk management

The investment strategy is based on central bank-specific requirements and comprehensive risk/return analyses. The SNB’s comparatively long-term investment horizon is taken into account in all of these risk analyses. Risk management and limitation is carried out by means of a system of reference portfolios, guidelines and limits. All relevant financial risks on investments are identified, assessed and monitored continuously. Risk measurement is based on standard risk indicators and procedures. In addition to these procedures, sensitivity analyses and stress tests are carried out on a regular basis. To manage and assess credit risk, information from major rating agencies, market indicators and in-house analyses are used. Credit limits are set based on this information and adjusted whenever the assessment of counterparty risk changes. Concentration and reputation are also factored in when determining risk limits. Risk indicators are aggregated across all investments. Compliance with the guidelines and limits is monitored daily. Quarterly risk reports for the attention of the Governing Board and the Bank Council’s Risk Committee document the results of risk management activities. In addition, the annual risk management report is submitted to the Bank Council.

Imprimer

Processus de placement et de contrôle des risques

La loi sur la Banque nationale définit les compétences et précise la tâche de la BNS en matière de gestion des actifs.

Conseil de banque et Comité des risques

Il appartient au Conseil de banque de surveiller l’ensemble des processus de placement et de contrôle des risques. Cet organe évalue les principes sur lesquels reposent ces processus et contrôle leur application. Un Comité des risques, constitué de trois membres du Conseil de banque, l’assiste dans ces tâches. Il surveille en particulier la gestion des risques et évalue la gouvernance du processus de placement. Les rapports internes établis par l’unité d’organisation Gestion des risques sont adressés à la Direction générale et au Comité des risques.

Direction générale

La Direction générale définit les principes de la politique de placement. Elle fixe notamment les exigences auxquelles les placements doivent satisfaire en termes de sécurité, de liquidité et de rendement, mais aussi les monnaies, les instruments de placement ainsi que les catégories de placements et de débiteurs entrant en ligne de compte. En outre, elle détermine la composition des réserves monétaires et des autres actifs; elle arrête également la stratégie dans le domaine des placements de devises. Cette stratégie porte sur la répartition des placements entre les différentes catégories de placements et entre les diverses monnaies; elle définit par ailleurs la marge de manœuvre à disposition sur le plan opérationnel.

Niveau opérationnel

Au niveau opérationnel, un Comité de placement interne arrête l’allocation tactique. En tenant compte des limites imposées par la stratégie, il détermine des paramètres tels que les durées des placements ou les parts des monnaies et des catégories de placements en fonction de l’évolution des conditions du marché. Enfin, l’unité d’organisation Gestion des actifs assure la gestion des portefeuilles. Des gestionnaires internes gèrent les placements de la région Asie-Pacifique depuis la succursale de Singapour, qui a ouvert ses portes le 1er juillet 2013. Les activités de la succursale, en particulier le négoce et la gestion de portefeuille, sont entièrement intégrées dans les processus de placement et de contrôle des risques en Suisse. La grande majorité des placements est gérée en interne. La Banque nationale fait appel à des gestionnaires de fortune externes pour accéder efficacement à de nouvelles catégories de placements et afin de permettre une comparaison avec la gestion de portefeuille interne.

Gestion des risques

La stratégie de placement repose sur des exigences relevant de la politique de l’institut d’émission et sur des analyses approfondies des risques et des rendements. Toutes les analyses des risques tiennent compte de l’horizon de placement de la Banque nationale, qui est généralement à long terme. Les risques sont gérés et restreints à l’aide d’un système de portefeuilles de référence, de directives et de limites. Tous les risques financiers déterminants pour les placements sont saisis, analysés et surveillés en permanence. Les risques sont mesurés à l’aide de méthodes et de critères usuels dans ce domaine. De plus, des analyses de sensibilité et des tests de résistance (stress tests) sont effectués régulièrement. Afin d’évaluer et de gérer les risques de crédit, on recourt aux notations des principales agences -spécialisées, à des indicateurs de marché et à des analyses internes. Les limites de crédit sont fixées sur la base de ces informations et adaptées en cas de modifications dans l’évaluation des risques de contrepartie. Les risques de concentration et de réputation sont également pris en considération pour établir les limites relatives aux risques. Les données sur les risques tiennent compte de tous les placements. Le respect des directives et des limites est contrôlé quotidiennement. Les résultats de ces contrôles sont consignés dans les rapports trimestriels adressés à la Direction générale et au Comité des risques du Conseil de banque. L’unité d’organisation Gestion des risques établit en outre un rapport annuel sur ses activités à l’intention du Conseil de banque.