Print

On the pulse of the financial markets

Money Market Event, Geneva, 17.11.2016

  • Complete text in German: "Am Puls der Finanzm√§rkte"
    PDF (500 KB)
  • Complete text in French: "Au rythme des march√©s financiers"
    PDF (517 KB)

Since the financial crisis, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) has been directing its attention to markets which had been of less interest previously. Its penetration of market processes and structures is more systematic than ten years ago. Thus, although the exchange rate has always played a key role for a small open economy like Switzerland, and remains a central factor for monetary policy decisions, in terms of implementing monetary policy, the foreign exchange market was for a long time overshadowed by the money market. This has changed fundamentally in recent years. Today, the SNB is one of the major players on the foreign exchange market, since this is necessary in order to carry out its monetary policy mandate.

For years now, turnover from spot transactions on the interbank market has been in decline. This also affects currency pairs which are crucial for Switzerland. However, until now it has not, on average, been accompanied by higher transactions costs for EUR/CHF, USD/CHF and EUR/USD. Having said that, jumps in the exchange rate have repeatedly occurred in the course of trading. The Brexit vote provided an example of how rapidly heartbeats can rise on the foreign exchange market.

The SNB continually analyses market activities, since its monetary policy requires it to be ready to intervene at any time, if necessary. In the run-up to events with the potential for decisive change, like the Brexit vote and the US elections, it also takes extensive additional preparatory measures so as to be equipped for all eventualities. The SNB applies state-of-the-art technology to keep pace with the rapid developments on the foreign exchange market. As part of the implementation of its monetary policy, it makes its contribution to market developments. Ultimately, however, price determination is left to the forces of supply and demand.

In the money market, the SNB makes substantial contributions in two areas. On the one hand, it supports efforts to reform reference interest rates at the international and national levels. In Switzerland, the parties involved are members of a national working group for reference interest rates, whose most important objective is the replacement of TOIS fixing by SARON at the end of 2017. On the other hand, the SNB is working to achieve a modern and efficient market infrastructure. Through SIX, it is engaged in optimising the Swiss Money Market Value Chain. The medium-term plan is to introduce a triparty agent, which should considerably facilitate collateral management for market participants.

Drucken

Am Puls der Finanzmärkte

Geldmarkt-Apéro, Genf, 17.11.2016

  • Vollständiger Text
    (500 KB)

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) befasst sich seit der Finanzkrise intensiv mit Märkten, die früher weniger von Interesse waren. Sie durchdringt auch Marktprozesse und -strukturen systematischer als noch vor zehn Jahren. So spielt zwar der Wechselkurs für eine kleine offene Volkswirtschaft wie die Schweiz seit jeher eine Schlüsselrolle, und entsprechend wichtig war und ist diese Grösse für geldpolitische Entscheide. Bei der Umsetzung der Geldpolitik stand der Devisenmarkt allerdings lange im Schatten des Geldmarkts. Das hat sich in den letzten Jahren gründlich verändert. Die SNB zählt heute zu den gewichtigen Akteuren am Devisenmarkt, weil dies notwendig ist, um die für die Erfüllung ihres Auftrags erforderliche Geldpolitik umzusetzen.

Seit Jahren sind im Kassageschäft des Interbankenmarkts die Umsätze rückläufig. Der Rückgang betrifft auch die für die Schweiz zentralen Währungspaare. Er ging jedoch bisher im Euro-Franken, Dollar-Franken und Euro-Dollar im Durchschnitt nicht mit erhöhten Transaktionskosten einher. Gleichwohl treten im Handelsverlauf aber immer wieder Kurssprünge auf. Der Brexit-Entscheid liefert ein Beispiel dafür, wie rasch sich der Puls am Devisenmarkt erhöhen kann.

Die SNB analysiert das Marktgeschehen laufend, muss sie doch gemäss den Vorgaben der Geldpolitik jederzeit in der Lage sein, bei Bedarf einzugreifen. Im Vorfeld von Weichenstellungen, wie dem Brexit oder der US-Wahlentscheidung, trifft sie zusätzlich umfangreiche Vorkehrungen, um für den Fall der Fälle gewappnet zu sein. Die SNB setzt modernste technologische Hilfsmittel ein, damit sie mit den rasanten Entwicklungen am Devisenmarkt Schritt zu halten vermag. Im Rahmen der Umsetzung ihrer Geldpolitik trägt sie "ihren Teil" zur Marktentwicklung bei. Letztlich bleibt die Preisfindung aber den Kräften von Angebot und Nachfrage überlassen.

Im Geldmarkt leistet die SNB in zwei Bereichen einen grossen Beitrag. Sie unterstützt zum einen die Bestrebungen für eine Reform der Referenzzinssätze auf internationaler sowie nationaler Ebene. In der Schweiz nehmen die Akteure ihre Verantwortung in der nationalen Arbeitsgruppe für Referenzsätze wahr. Das wichtigste Vorhaben ist die Ablösung des TOIS-Fixing durch den SARON per Ende 2017. Zum anderen engagiert sich die SNB für eine moderne und leistungsfähige Marktinfrastruktur. Sie setzt sich mit der SIX für eine effiziente Swiss Money Market Value Chain ein. Mittelfristig geplant ist die Einführung eines sogenannten Triparty Agent, was den Marktteilnehmern das Collateral Management erheblich erleichtern sollte.