Print

Financial markets and monetary policy implementation - an evolving relationship

Money Market Event, Geneva, 17.11.2016

  • Complete text
    (514 KB)

Since the global financial crisis in 2008, the relationship between monetary policy and the financial markets has shifted in some respects. From a central bank perspective, this shift mainly affects the transmission of monetary policy - that is, how monetary policy stimuli are passed on to the economy and prices via the financial markets. Prior to the financial crisis, central banks used a single instrument to implement their monetary policy. As a rule, this was a short-term interest rate steered more or less directly by the central bank. Thus, monetary policy transmission started with the money market and, from there, was transmitted to the economy via a number of different channels - including interest rates, credit, exchange rates and asset prices.

During the financial crisis, central banks reduced their reference rates to levels of or close to zero. The conventional interest rate instrument had thus reached its limits, according to the prevailing view at the time. In order to ensure the continuing transmission of monetary policy, central banks turned to unconventional measures, some of which no longer use the money market but instead target the capital and foreign exchange markets directly. This has increased the sphere of action of monetary policy, and the influence of central banks on the financial markets has expanded as a result.

The use of unconventional measures poses some challenges for the implementation of monetary policy. For the Swiss National Bank, whose monetary policy is based on a negative interest rate and foreign currency purchases, it was necessary to deepen its understanding of the market, refine its analytical tools and strengthen its market contacts.

If central banks exert a greater influence on financial market prices than previously, this could result in these prices becoming disconnected from the real economic environment, and only reacting to monetary policy. In fact, we observe that some traditional relationships and correlation patterns on the financial markets have changed in recent years. However, in addition to unconventional monetary policy measures, this is also due to the globalisation of financial markets and parallel economic and price developments. Moreover, the phenomenon of interpreting bad news from the economy as good news for the markets already existed before the financial crisis, especially on the equity markets. The question of just how much the greater activity of central banks on the financial markets has changed the traditional price relationships and correlation patterns is difficult to answer definitively. Ultimately, financial market prices continue to reflect investor expectations for the future development of the economy and inflation.

Drucken

Finanzmärkte und Umsetzung der Geldpolitik - eine Beziehung im Wandel

Geldmarkt-Apéro, Genf, 17.11.2016

  • Vollständiger Text
    (499 KB)

Seit der globalen Finanzkrise 2008 haben sich die Beziehungen zwischen der Geldpolitik und den Finanzmärkten in mancher Hinsicht gewandelt. Aus Sicht der Notenbanken betrifft dieser Wandel vor allem die Transmission der Geldpolitik - also die Übertragung geldpolitischer Impulse über die Finanzmärkte auf die Konjunktur und die Güterpreise. Vor der Finanzkrise setzten die Notenbanken ihre Geldpolitik mittels eines einzigen Instruments um. In aller Regel war dies ein kurzfristiger Zinssatz, der mehr oder weniger direkt gesteuert wurde. Die geldpolitische Transmission setzte demnach am Geldmarkt an und übertrug sich von dort über verschiedene Kanäle - darunter der Zins-, Kredit-, Wechselkurs- und Vermögenspreiskanal - auf die Wirtschaft.

Im Zuge der Finanzkrise senkten die Notenbanken ihre Leitzinsen auf null oder nahe null Prozent. Das herkömmliche Zinsinstrument war damit aus damaliger Sicht erschöpft. Um die geldpolitische Transmission dennoch gewährleisten zu können, griffen die Notenbanken zu unkonventionellen Massnahmen, von denen einige nicht mehr am Geldmarkt ansetzen, sondern direkt auf den Kapital- und Devisenmarkt einwirken. Dadurch hat sich der Aktionsradius der Geldpolitik vergrössert, und entsprechend hat auch der Einfluss der Notenbanken an den Finanzmärkten zugenommen.

Der Einsatz von unkonventionellen Massnahmen stellt die Umsetzung der Geldpolitik vor einige Herausforderungen. Für die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB), deren Geldpolitik auf dem Negativzins und Devisenkäufen basiert, war es notwendig, das Marktverständnis zu vertiefen, die Analyseinstrumente zu verfeinern und die Marktkontakte zu intensivieren.

Wenn die Zentralbanken stärker als früher auf die Finanzmarktpreise Einfluss nehmen, könnte das dazu führen, dass sich diese vom realwirtschaftlichen Umfeld lösen und nur noch von der Geldpolitik abhängen. Tatsächlich ist zu beobachten, dass sich einige traditionelle Beziehungen und Korrelationsmuster an den Finanzmärkten in den vergangenen Jahren verändert haben. Dafür dürften allerdings neben den unkonventionellen geldpolitischen Massnahmen auch die Globalisierung der Finanzmärkte und der Gleichlauf der Konjunktur- und Preisentwicklung verantwortlich sein. Ausserdem trat das Phänomen, dass schlechte Nachrichten aus der Wirtschaft als gute Nachricht für die Märkte interpretiert werden, bereits vor der Zeit der Finanzkrise auf, insbesondere an der Aktienbörse. Die Frage, inwieweit sich durch die intensivere Aktivität der Notenbanken an den Finanzmärkten traditionelle Preisbeziehungen und Korrelationsmuster verändert haben, lässt sich daher nicht mit Bestimmtheit beantworten. Nach wie vor reflektieren die Finanzmarktpreise letztlich aber die Erwartungen der Anleger zur künftigen Entwicklung der Wirtschaft und der Inflation.