Print

Financial market infrastructures: Walking the line between stability and innovation

Sibos 2016, Geneva, 26.09.2016

  • Complete text
    (113 KB)

Financial market infrastructures are vital for various Swiss National Bank (SNB) activities, including the implementation of monetary policy. This part of the financial sector also stands to be affected by the rapid changes currently taking place in financial technology. Technological innovations are thus highly relevant for the SNB. The SNB's task is to strike the right balance between maintaining stable conditions and promoting useful innovation.

Although the financial industry's core functions - funding new investments, offering investment and asset protection strategies, and executing payments - will remain largely unchanged, the technologies and channels by which it delivers these services are changing. The challenge for regulators and central banks is to make sure they fully understand the effects - and side-effects - of these new mechanisms at an early stage. Central banks and regulators have a duty to protect the safety of financial market infrastructures, but they also have a duty to ensure that they operate efficiently.

Until recently, financial market infrastructures had been moving towards centralisation. However, technological progress could reverse this trend, making decentralisation the new paradigm. The keywords here are 'distributed ledger' and 'blockchain'. There will nevertheless continue to be a role for centralised infrastructures, which already operate at low cost and meet high safety standards. It is, however, possible that we will see conventional and new technologies co-existing or even blending in the future. Such new technology is particularly relevant for central banks in the context of the ongoing debate about central bank money potentially being issued via a distributed ledger. This issue raises a host of central bank-specific questions that will need to be examined in more detail. The SNB is following and analysing developments in this arena closely and is actively involved in discussions with market participants, regulators and other central banks.

Certain other developments are already having a tangible effect on financial market infrastructures - for instance on cashless payment systems - and, this, in turn, has ramifications for the SNB. According to its mandate, the SNB is obliged to facilitate and secure the operation of such systems. In April of this year, the latest generation of the Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) system, which operates under the strategic guidance of the SNB, was launched. Support for emerging messaging standards and plans to extend SIC's operating hours next year will set the stage for cashless payment innovations which will ultimately benefit companies as well as private customers.

For financial market infrastructure innovations to be successful, market participants, regulators and central banks must all be convinced they are both safe and efficient. It is therefore essential that these parties maintain an active dialogue.

Drucken

Die Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen im Spannungsfeld zwischen Stabilität und Innovation

Sibos 2016, Genf, 26.09.2016

  • Vollständiger Text
    (120 KB)

Die Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen sind für verschiedene Aufgaben der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB), unter anderem die Umsetzung der Geldpolitik, essenziell. Der gegenwärtige rasante Fortschritt in der Finanztechnologie wird auch diesen Bereich der Finanzbranche betreffen. Technologische Innovationen sind damit auch für die SNB von grosser Bedeutung. Es gilt, stabile Rahmenbedingungen zu bewahren und gleichzeitig nützliche Innovationen zu fördern.

Während die Grundfunktionen der Finanzindustrie - Finanzierung von Investitionen, Wertanlage und -aufbewahrung sowie Zahlungsausführung - weitgehend unverändert bleiben, wandeln sich die Technologien und die Kanäle, welche die Finanzbranche benutzt, um diese Funktionen zu erbringen. Für die Regulatoren und Zentralbanken besteht die Herausforderung darin, die Auswirkungen und Nebenwirkungen von neuen Technologien frühzeitig richtig zu verstehen. Die staatlichen Akteure stehen dabei zum einen in der Pflicht, die Sicherheit von Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen zu wahren. Zum anderen müssen sie ihre Effizienz fördern.

Bis vor kurzem waren die Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen von einem Trend zur Zentralisierung geprägt. Nun jedoch könnte der technologische Fortschritt zu einer Dezentralisierung führen. Die vielzitierten Stichworte sind in diesem Zusammenhang: "Distributed Ledger" und "Blockchain". Dennoch werden zentral organisierte Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen, die heute schon zu tiefen Kosten sehr sicher operieren, ihre Berechtigung behalten. Es ist aber denkbar, dass es künftig ein Nebeneinander oder sogar eine Verbindung von konventionellen und neuen Technologien geben wird. In diesem Zusammenhang ist die Distributed-Ledger-Technologie für Zentralbanken mit Blick auf eine mögliche Emission von Zentralbankgeld besonders relevant. Dieses Thema wirft eine Reihe notenbankpolitischer Fragen auf, die vertieft untersucht werden müssen. Die SNB verfolgt und analysiert die Entwicklungen auf diesem Gebiet aufmerksam und steht in regem Dialog mit Marktteilnehmern, Regulatoren und anderen Zentralbanken.

Bereits heute wirken sich allerdings gewisse andere Entwicklungen auf die Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen und damit auch auf die SNB aus, beispielsweise bei bargeldlosen Zahlungssystemen. Gemäss ihrem Mandat, hat die SNB das Funktionieren solcher Systeme zu erleichtern und zu sichern. Im April dieses Jahres wurde die neue Generation des Zahlungssystems "Swiss Interbank Clearing" (SIC), das durch die SNB strategisch gesteuert wird, in Betrieb genommen. Die Unterstützung von aufkommenden Meldungsstandards und die für das nächste Jahr vorgesehene Anpassung der SIC-Betriebszeiten schaffen wichtige Voraussetzungen für Innovationen, die letztlich den Firmen- und Privatkunden zugutekommen.

Innovationen in den Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen sind dann erfolgreich, wenn sie Marktteilnehmer, Regulatoren und Zentralbanken in Bezug auf Sicherheit und Effizienz überzeugen. Deshalb ist der Austausch zwischen diesen Akteuren unerlässlich.