Print

The euro and Swiss monetary policy

Europa Forum, Lucerne, 02.05.2016

  • Complete text
    (437 KB)

The EU countries, and especially those belonging to the euro area, are by far Switzerland's most important foreign trade partners. Consequently, the monetary policy of the European Central Bank (ECB) is particularly relevant for our country. In recent years, the ECB's expansionary monetary policy has encouraged the economic recovery in the euro area, which in turn has bolstered demand for Swiss products. However, the weakening of the euro has put Swiss producers in a bind versus their European competitors and presented problems for Switzerland's monetary policymakers.

Despite our country's close economic ties to the euro area, introducing the euro was never seriously contemplated in Switzerland. When the monetary system established in Bretton Woods collapsed, Switzerland decided to adopt a system of floating exchange rates - a decision which has, over the long term, proved its worth. At times, however, flexible exchange rates can be subject to considerable fluctuations. Over the last 40 years, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) has therefore twice introduced a temporary exchange rate floor in order to cap substantial Swiss franc appreciation: first in October 1978 against the German mark, and latterly in September 2011 against the euro. A minimum exchange rate is not a long-term instrument. It can, however, give guidance to the markets in a period of extreme uncertainty - when one's own currency is significantly overvalued against all other currencies - and thus contribute to ensuring adequate monetary conditions.

The SNB discontinued the minimum exchange rate against the euro in January 2015. At the same time, it moved interest rates on sight deposits at the SNB deeper into negative territory, and reaffirmed its willingness to intervene in the foreign exchange market as necessary. The SNB's monetary policy thus helps to stabilise price developments and support economic activity. The SNB will continue to make the most of the latitude afforded by monetary sovereignty to respond pragmatically to the challenges ahead. However, monetary policy cannot remedy all economic ills, especially those of a structural nature. It is therefore important for companies to continue operating with a high degree of flexibility and for policymakers to ensure favourable economic conditions.

Drucken

Der Euro und die schweizerische Geldpolitik

Europa Forum, Luzern, 02.05.2016

  • Vollständiger Text
    (423 KB)

Die EU und insbesondere die Länder der Eurozone sind die weitaus wichtigsten Handelspartner der Schweiz. Die Geldpolitik der Europäischen Zentralbank ist deshalb für unser Land von speziellem Interesse. In den letzten Jahren hat ihre expansive Geldpolitik die wirtschaftliche Erholung in der Eurozone und damit die Nachfrage nach Schweizer Produkten gestützt. Die Abschwächung des Euros hat die Schweizer Produzenten im Vergleich zu ihren europäischen Konkurrenten aber auch in eine schwierigere Lage gebracht und der Schweizer Geldpolitik Probleme bereitet.

Trotz der engen wirtschaftlichen Verflechtung war die Einführung des Euros in der Schweiz kaum je ein Thema. Die Schweiz entschied sich nach dem Zusammenbruch des Währungssystems von Bretton Woods grundsätzlich für flexible Wechselkurse - ein Entscheid, der sich langfristig als richtig herausgestellt hat. Flexible Wechselkurse können allerdings mitunter beträchtlich schwanken. Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) hat deshalb zweimal in den letzten vierzig Jahren vorübergehend eine Wechselkursuntergrenze eingeführt, um massive Aufwertungen des Frankens zu stoppen, zuerst im Oktober 1978 gegenüber der Deutschen Mark und zuletzt im September 2011 gegenüber dem Euro. Ein Mindestkurs ist als dauerhaftes Instrument nicht geeignet, doch kann er in einer Phase extremer Verunsicherung, in der die eigene Währung gegenüber allen anderen Währungen klar überbewertet ist, den Märkten eine Leitplanke setzen und dazu beitragen, dass die monetären Bedingungen angemessen bleiben.

Die Nationalbank hat den Mindestkurs zum Euro im Januar 2015 aufgehoben. Gleichzeitig senkte sie den Zins auf Sichtguthaben bei der SNB weiter in den negativen Bereich und bekräftigte ihre Bereitschaft, nötigenfalls am Devisenmarkt aktiv zu werden. Sie hilft damit, die Preisentwicklung zu stabilisieren und die Wirtschaftsaktivität zu unterstützen. Die Nationalbank wird den Spielraum, den ihr die monetäre Souveränität bietet, auch in Zukunft nutzen, um pragmatisch auf Herausforderungen zu reagieren. Geldpolitik kann jedoch nicht alles erreichen, insbesondere keine Strukturprobleme lösen. Es ist deshalb wichtig, dass die Unternehmen weiterhin mit hoher Flexibilität agieren und die allgemeine Wirtschaftspolitik für gute Rahmenbedingungen sorgt.