Print

Comments on Swiss monetary policy

108th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 29.04.2016

  • Complete text
    (50 KB)

The Swiss National Bank's (SNB) monetary policy is aimed at easing pressure on the Swiss franc. Since the discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate in January 2015, it has been based on two key elements: the negative interest rate of -0.75% charged on sight deposits held at the SNB and the willingness to intervene in the foreign exchange market as necessary. In this way, the SNB supports the Swiss economy, which grew by 0.9% in 2015 - a positive development in view of the continued weakness of the global economy.

The inflation rate remains negative, attributable to the appreciation of the Swiss franc and the drop in oil prices. A small open economy like Switzerland is continuously exposed to powerful outside influences, which cannot always be entirely offset by monetary policy. The inflation rate is expected to re-enter positive territory in 2017 and thus return to the range compatible with price stability.

The expansion of the SNB's balance sheet since 2008 inspired the idea to set up a sovereign wealth fund to manage its foreign exchange reserves. This proposal should be rejected for a number of reasons. First, the foreign currency was bought by the SNB bringing more Swiss francs into circulation. Such an expansion of the money supply, however, does not create any real value. The SNB cannot make an unrequited transfer of foreign currency. The sovereign wealth fund would therefore have to buy the foreign currency from the SNB. Second, a sovereign wealth fund would not make monetary policy easier but more difficult, should it become necessary in the future to reduce the money supply. Third, a sovereign wealth fund could only generate higher income by taking greater risks, and yield would fluctuate even more as a result.

The SNB shares the concerns of the Federal Council in relation to the sovereign money initiative. This initiative calls for a radical overhaul of the financial system aimed, in particular, at improving bank stability. It would be an experiment for which there is no comparable model in any other country. Improved bank capitalisation, as advocated by the SNB, contributes considerably more to increasing the stability of the financial system. Furthermore, if the initiative were to be accepted, the SNB would become a political football since it would have to freely distribute new money directly to the state or to private households.

Drucken

Erläuterungen zur Schweizer Geldpolitik

108. ordentliche Generalversammlung der Aktionäre der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Bern, 29.04.2016

  • Vollständiger Text
    (52 KB)

Die Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) ist darauf ausgerichtet, den Druck auf den Franken zu verringern. Seit der Aufhebung des Mindestkurses im Januar 2015 beruht sie auf zwei Pfeilern: dem Negativzins von minus 0,75% auf Sichtguthaben bei der SNB und der Bereitschaft, bei Bedarf am Devisenmarkt zu intervenieren. Die SNB unterstützt damit die Schweizer Wirtschaft. Diese ist 2015 um 0,9% gewachsen, was angesichts der weiterhin schwachen internationalen Konjunktur positiv zu werten ist.

Die Inflationsrate ist nach wie vor negativ. Das ist auf die Aufwertung des Frankens und die Reduktion der Rohstoffpreise zurückzuführen. Eine kleine offene Volkswirtschaft wie die Schweiz ist immer wieder starken Einflüssen von aussen ausgesetzt, welche die Geldpolitik nicht jederzeit vollumfänglich wettmachen kann. 2017 dürfte die Inflationsrate wieder positiv werden und damit in den Bereich der Preisstabilität zurückkehren.

Das starke Bilanzwachstum der SNB seit 2008 hat die Idee beflügelt, einen Staatsfonds zu schaffen, der die Devisenreserven der SNB bewirtschaftet. Diese Idee ist aus mehreren Gründen abzulehnen. Erstens wurden die Devisenreserven durch die SNB gekauft, indem mehr Franken in Umlauf gebracht wurden. Eine solche Ausdehnung der Geldmenge schafft aber keine realen Werte. Die SNB kann die Devisen nicht ohne Gegenleistung übertragen. Daher müsste der Staatsfonds der SNB die Devisenreserven abkaufen. Zweitens würde ein Staatsfonds die Führung der Geldpolitik nicht erleichtern, sondern erschweren, wenn in der Zukunft die Geldmenge wieder abgebaut werden müsste. Drittens könnte ein Staatsfonds höhere Erträge nur unter Inkaufnahme grösserer Risiken erzielen, und die Renditeschwankungen würden dadurch noch grösser werden.

Die SNB teilt die Bedenken des Bundesrates in Bezug auf die Vollgeldinitiative. Diese fordert eine radikale Umgestaltung des Finanzsystems und verspricht sich davon insbesondere stabilere Banken. Dies wäre ein Experiment ohne Vergleichswerte aus anderen Ländern. Eine bessere Kapitalisierung der Banken, wie sie die SNB unterstützt hat, trägt wesentlich mehr zu einem stabileren Finanzsystem bei. Bei einer Annahme der Initiative würde die SNB ausserdem zum Spielball politischer Interessen, weil sie neues Geld direkt an den Staat oder die Haushalte gratis verteilen müsste.